We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and super friendly managers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent location and super friendly managers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We recently stayed in Room 106. It was a super apartment, very roomy and everything you would want in an apartment. Great views over to the beach. Nice to have your rooms serviced daily which doesn't always happen with apartments. The new owners, Charlie and Bridgette are fantastic, super friendly and do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. Great location - right across the road from the Surf Club for great meals etc. Will definitely return - so if you are contemplating a Mooloolaba holiday give Bridgette a call - you will be pleased you did.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gaynor85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    45
    20
    8
    7
See reviews for
22
112
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband & I have just returned from 4 weeks holiday. This was our 1st time at Sandcastles but our 7th winter holiday in Mooloolaba. This was by far the best and most relaxing. Our unit was 305, handpicked by us, a corner unit with large balcony. On the mornings when we weren't walking on the beach early the sun came up and shone into our bedroom - absolutely wonderful! We had winter sun all day until it set around 4.50pm. The bed was extremely comfortable and the housekeeping staff very efficient and friendly. The new managers are a delight and extremely welcoming and helpful. Because we do a lot of our own cooking we were initially concerned that there was no oven. However we found we managed very well with the large electric frypan and the microwave. Would definitely recommend this unit. Great views of the activity on the main street and also the serenity and calm of the beach and ocean. The pool and the spa are in excellent condition and very well maintained. Thank you Bridgette & Charlie, and all your staff, for a very relaxing and refreshing holiday. We'll definitely be back next year!

Room Tip: Choose a corner room for all day winter sun and spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed here for a week of sunshine and beach - pity the weather didn't know this. The accommodation is very handy to the beach, surf club, shops and restaurants so that the rain didn't prevent us from getting out. The room was average size for a two person unit and we made much use of the balcony which looked across the road to the waterfront shopping area and out to sea. Some of the furnishings were rather dated and the mattress needed to be replaced. The new managers asked us to give them written feedback on this so they could take it up with the owners of the unit. (As the units are all individually owned, the standard of furnishing varies widely.) While the units themselves are quiet, there is some street noise, but this did not disturb us too much. We used the pool and the spa and found both very well kept and enjoyable. We would be happy to go back again.

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor where the units have balconies immediately outside, with a circular stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TooKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Terrific location, next to the surf club restaurant / shopping. The unit was comfortable and clean. Living area and facilities very good. I believe the property is on the market so perhaps some changes to come. We would stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Floyderama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Had the best holiday in unit 106!!! It was clean and modern, away from the main road with ocean views. Literally meters from the beach, restaurants and underwater world. The new management staff are brilliant and super friendly. They managed to put a smile on my kids faces every day without fail. Highly reccomend unit 106!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMFernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
261 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Terrific location, across road from surf club and at one end of main shopping, restaurant precinct.
Was slightly hesitant to book, after reading previous reviews about rude receptionist but new managers since February 2014 and they are very friendly and helpful.
Bedrooms although not over large are comfortable and clean. Living room area quite sufficient in size and well equipped. Good size bathroom and laundry. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canddsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Apartments are in a good location and have a good view from the 4th level but have seen better days. I was a little disappointed. The good things: just a 2 minute walk to the patrolled beach, cafes, etc, comfortable bed, nice views from balcony plus roof top terrace up a spiral staircase, pleasant staff. The not so good things: very noisy traffic and early morning daily rubbish collections, mouldy grout in the shower, tiny bedroom with bedside table preventing access to the wardrobe, smoke free apartments but smoke frequently wafting into our apartment from neighbour smoking on their balcony, interior generally looked well worn.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 402. The view is to the north over the shops and esplanade. A better choice migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#8 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#3 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cilento
Cilento
#13 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
#15 of 15 in Mooloolaba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Landmark Resort
Landmark Resort
#6 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastles Mooloolaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastles Mooloolaba

Property: Sandcastles Mooloolaba
Address: Cnr. Parkyn Parade & River Esplanade, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mooloolaba
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mooloolaba
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandcastles Mooloolaba 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From Sandcastles you can walk to every imaginable facility needed for an idyllic stay. Laze on the wide silky sands of Queensland’s Sunshine Coast award winning Mooloolaba Beach right at your front door or simply idle around the pool.Indulge in resort living in our fully self-contained one bedroom Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments, which include master bed room, bathroom, laundry, and kitchen with hotplates, rangehood and microwave/convection oven. Your Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments are serviced daily. Relax and enjoy your holiday on Mooloolaba Beach.Our top level luxury Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments have private roof tops and barbeques, ideal for entertaining or just soaking up the sun and taking in the spectacular views over Mooloolaba Beach to Point Cartwright or off to the North over Mooloolaba Beach, Alexandra Headland, Maroochydore to Noosa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandcastles Mooloolaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Mooloolaba
Mooloolaba Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing