We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too expensive for what it offers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Brisbane
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what it offers”
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Pros:
- Got upgraded to ocean view room without ocean view price tag just by asking.
- Friendly staff
- Good location. Everything in walking distance.
- Nice ocean views
- Secure underground parking

Cons:
- Rooms where not clean. Sticky floors. Hairs in bathtub etc.
- Cockroaches in bathroom.
- Smell of raw sewage in bathroom
- *Worst* *Mattress* *Ever*. Back pain guaranteed.
- Very noisy from 6:00 AM on. You could hear every door slammed on your floor. Sleep impossible.
- Too expensive with all these drawbacks.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    955
    972
    280
    77
    56
See reviews for
522
1,222
113
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hamilton, N Z
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

We have just returned from our week at the Mantra. We were originally booked into the Sirocco and the owner of our penthouse apartment withdrew his unit from the letting pool. We were notified 2 weeks before departure(not Mantras fault but our travel agent took time in letting us know). So everything was already booked at that stage as it was also school holidays. We were offered either a penthouse at the Zanzibar-2 bedroom or a 3 bedroom unit at Zanzibar or else a 3 bed penthouse at Mantra. we took the 3 bed penthouse at the Mantra which we were told had a new sofa and a new paint job. Our unit was 1605, which is on the side of the building but as we were so high we still got a great view of the southern side of the beach and a great town view which was better at night than looking at a black beach. On the rooftop we got a better view as we could see more toward Noosa. The apartment was disappointing for several reasons. the lounge was quite small for a 3 bedroom which slept 6 people. the apartment had only 5 lounge seats, 4 which faced the T.v. and the 5th you pulled around and squashed in. There were however 6 of us. It also had only 5 dining room chairs 2 of which were near the end of their life and we sat on them carefully. The kitchen was poorly stocked There were 5 forks and 6 knives and 7 small drinking glasses. Most things were just the bare minimum and you needed to turn on the dishwasher after every meal in order to have enough plates for the next meal. Now I have stayed in apartments like this before but not when they are advertised as their top of the line accommodation and charging nearly $600 a night Australian which is nearly $750 new zealand dollars. I expect a far better standard of apartment for this amount of money. In fact I think that it is criminal that they can charge so much for an ordinary apartment. The main attraction was the view but most apartments at the Mantra have a great view. Anyway enough said about the unit as I said it was at best average and I could go on with lots of details of minor things in it that needed attention. Cleanliness was average. I found hairs on the bathroom floor on check in and some parts of the kitchen floor and steps to rooftop were sticky. We were also there after the dust storms and that had not been cleaned properly.The lounge chair had 2 bottle caps under it. We only moved it a little and found them so they must give it a real quick vacuum without moving anything. these apartments are not serviced for the week so the cleaning staff need to do a really thorough job on check out not a quick flick. The bottom of the dishwasher was also full of food scraps and I took the filter apart and gave it all a good clean. On the positives the beds were really comfortable and we found the staff at the Mantra to be really polite and helpful. We meet lots of people in the lifts who came to the resort repeatedly and my husband thought the heated pool first thing in the morning was bliss. We all loved Mooloolaba. It has a lovely relaxed style and makes you feel comfortable. Having Coles supermarket just behind us was great. All of the main properties along the Esplanade are in a great location. and the beach and outdoor cafes are wonderful. We would all return to Mooloolaba gladly. I did however feel a bit ripped off the price we paid for the standard of apartment we got. JBRHAM

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBRHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donvale
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

I booked this hotel via an internet 'secret hotel'deal. Had a fantastic apartment with cooking facilities. The shower/spa with view out into kitchen/living area was interesting. Because I got it at a cheap rate, I couldn't complain that it was on the 1st floor without a view of the ocean BUT it did have direct access at the same level out a gate off our patio onto the pool deck which comprised a pool and a heated salt spa. It was fantastic at night - except for having to vacate it at 9pm. Generally we were the only ones in it as others had to travel from other floors to get there. What a bonus. It is located on teh beach esplanade with only a short walk to the swimming beach. Lots of restaurants nearby. Supermarket is located behind the hotel with special access for hotel guests. Whilst it is a busy location it is quiet in the rooms. Roadworks are being done to slow down hoon drivers. Mooloolaba beach is one of the best swimming beaches in Australia. Surf beaches are also available within a few kilometers.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaygeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

We stayed at Mantra Mooloolaba for 9 nights in August 2009, we booked direct with the resort 4 months in advance and paid up front, apart from the view and location being great the 1 bedroom apartment( oceanview) was outdated and shabby, the bed was small and uncomfortable, the sofa bed and chair were filthy, the TV was a portable, kitchen facilities minimal, walls were dirty and knocked around. When i questioned reception staff about the state of the room we were offered no help at all! We requested a different room and were told nothing was available! Never again, certainly not up to scratch.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jess493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Great location if you want to be where it all happens in Mooloolaba. The Mantra is located across the road from the beach with great views if you are high enough. Central location means restaurants, supermarket, etc is right on your doorstep
We stayed for a week, and got a newly renovated room, fresh coat of paint and new furniture. Although we did hear a couple complain about their room, which was one of the ones not renovated, so maybe its the luck of the draw.
The service was at times lacking, but all in all not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctaylorwellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We enjoyed everything about out stay - the location on the esplanade, opposite the beach, and amongst the cafes and shops; the shopping mall underneath the hotel; Coles next door; a 5-min walk to bus stop to visit Sunshine Plaza in Maroochydore; spacious, clean apartment with minor view of water (will book a sea view room next time), and all staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. It also helped that the weather was warm and sunny throughout. We went to the Surf Club a few times for their good value buffet roast dinners. We purposely didn't hire a car or book any tours as we both needed a relaxing break, and this was the perfect location for doing nothing.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel87Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

We stayed for a week between Christmas and New Year and paid top $. It was supposed to be a special treat for New Years - we'd stayed at the hotel six years ago and it had been good back then. This time hotel was noisy, wasn't properly cleaned, furnishing were outdated and stained. On top of that the staff were stressed out and it showed in the poor service. Final straw was being locked out of our room at 7am on the day of checkout and this happened to heaps of guests who were also trying to check out!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gagingi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.1 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#3 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#8 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Landmark Resort
Landmark Resort
#6 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra Sirocco
Mantra Sirocco
#2 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
#9 of 15 in Mooloolaba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seamark On First
Seamark On First
#5 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort

Property: Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Address: cnr Mooloolaba Esplanade & Venning St, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mooloolaba
#1 Spa Hotel in Mooloolaba
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mooloolaba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mooloolaba
#4 Family Hotel in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found right on the waterfront Mantra Mooloolaba Beach is a must in Sunshine Coast accommodation. Located on the Esplanade and offering self contained accommodation with over 30 restaurants, cafes and shops all on your doorstep. The hotel features fully furnished one, two and three bedroom suites each with a private balcony and sweeping ocean or garden views. Our suites provide the perfect accommodation for business travellers, just 12km for the airport as well as families with one, two and three bedroom options, most with full ocean views and spa baths. Onsite at Mantra Mooloolaba Beach you will find a variety of dining options as well as many leisure facilities including two swimming pools, a spa, sauna, recreation deck and fully equipped gym. For those that want to explore the Sunshine Coast, take a walk along the beautiful Mooloolaba beachfront, voted the best in the region, or visit one of the many tourist attractions found close by including Australia Zoo, UnderWater World or the Eumundi Markets. Mantra Mooloolaba Beach offers the ideal base for Sunshine Coast accommodation. ** Please Note, Unless otherwise stated all rates are weekly service. Daily service available upon request at an additional cost. WiFi available at a nominal charge. Maintenance Notice Mantra Mooloolaba Beach will be undergoing maintenance works on the resort outdoor pool from 22 May until 11 June 2017. During this period the outdoor pool and conference rooms will be closed, however the indoor pool will still be available to our guests. The remedial work will be occurring during the hours of 8:30am and 5pm, Monday to Friday. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Hotel Mooloolaba
Mooloolaba Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing