We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No No No”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers
Noosa, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No No No”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

So we arrived with our friend from New Zealand and first thoughts were "great location" then we saw the rooms, cheap yes but also nasty. Not clean and with a tiny fan in the corner extremely hot. Atmosphere seemed okay however receptionist was far more interested in her skype date she was having then actually checking us in. For a 3 night stay we were trying to remain positive until the last night when 2 of us had gone out and one stayed back to go to bed. Around 11pm she vaugley heard someone knocking on the door but though it must be the wrong room and as she was alone in the room didnt feel safe to open the door. Anyway before she knew it the door flew open with 2 shirtless men standing there. They let themselves in and then realised somebody was in there. They then claimed to be security checking the room as they had been told we had more people there than should be. What were they doing letting themselve into our room when they thought no body was in there. Where the staff intending to steal our valuables?? Is it appropriate at that time of night to be half dressed letting your selves into a young ladies room. I THINK NOT!!!! Outraged we left the next day and promptly cancelled the weeks stay we had booked previously for over Christmas. Stay at your own risk people...dodgy is an understatment.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmsTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    37
    30
    14
    34
See reviews for
Families
0
30
52
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed in the backpackers for 2 weeks during my first days of farm. Good location with busses and greyhound and close to the beach. Good service and always a good feeling in the air,
. A very relaxed place to spend your days at with swimming pool and pool table if you don't want to go to any of the activities. The staff is always on top and always in the game.
All in all a very good temporary home with nice friends and good accommodation.

Cheers max

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I've been to many hostels Oz, but this hostel is sick!!
Free breakfast, pool, clean rooms and the staff is young and very friendly!
You get connected to different farms asap if you wanna do your farm work in oz.
It's fun! ;)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAlex91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The staff are very welcoming, and the place stays clean. I felt very much at home when hanging out in the common area due to the friendly people and staff. Keep up the good work. Love the free breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple of nights with some friends on our way down the coast. First thoughts were location is very handy as the coach stop (for the Greyhound and Premier) is right outside. The receptionist was friendly enough, and they managed to check us in at about 12.30. The outside and public area is ok, had some sofas, a pool (not particularly clean mind you) and a big TV.

The rooms aren't great. Although there are lockers, there weren't enough of all the beds because one was broken. The beds had no ladders and railings around them so they were near impossible to get into and the fan was so loud it sounded like a small aircraft was taking off in the room (and there was no mosquito net on the window so you couldn't open it to let air in). The sheets were ripped, there was no mirror and it didn't look like it had been cleaned in a rather long time.

The bathrooms were its biggest let down. At no point did during my stay did I go in them and not grimis. The floor was always disgusting with wet muddy foot prints, the toilet roll in one of the cubicles was soaking wet for some reason so you couldn't use it and one of the showers didn't work. All in all pretty discusting.

Something I did notice and found rather annoying is their constant threat of charging you for everything you might do wrong. On checking in we had to give our credit card details and were told that if we set the fire alarm off we would be charged $1060. There are also signs everywhere stating different fines, $20 if you put something on a clean bed, or leave a door open, or don't wash your plates, or go down the stairs backwards, which I felt was all a bit unnecessary and just an opertunity to grab money off you.

Ona good note there were lots of freebies, you get free bike hire, free SUP lesson, free surfboard and come hire and a decent free breakfast every morning between 8-9. Plus it was only a short walk to the beach and the river.

All in all, I don't think I'd want to stay there longer than two nights, but for those two nits it was very handy and had some good freebies.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Luisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I am a lone traveller from England, stayed in a lot of other places since my time in Austrailia. And is is the worst by far. 1 To begin with I booked in the night i was ment to arrive as i was driving down from airlie beech. Unfortunatly we broke down and made me pay for the room i wasnt even in. Ive got no money as it is, they just robbed it from me. 2. There are hadly any lone travellers here, so people arent as friendly towards likes of me. 3. Stay dont really care, and not interested - doesnt hurt to crack a smile. 3. Commonly areas, kitchen and bathrooms are disgusting! Had to pay for three nights although only staying one. Skip mooloolaba and go to noosa.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordie-lad13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mooloolaba hotels

mooloolaba
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2013

after reaing the below views i was nervous about staying here but ended up stayin for a month and a bit. it is amazing awersome staff always helpful and friendly... clean and always made me feel safe on your trp to australia you have to go here.. even though alot of people party they have a noise curfee so if you fancy early night never a problem.. even organise events all the time... go to mooloolaba backpackers... has to be the best hostel i have ever stayed in. x

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilly g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mooloolaba
8.3 mi away
Caloundra Backpackers
Caloundra Backpackers
#47 of 51 in Caloundra
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Esplanade Motel
River Esplanade Motel
#11 of 15 in Mooloolaba
81 reviews
20.2 mi away
Noosa Backpackers Resort
Noosa Backpackers Resort
#32 of 41 in Noosaville
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Flashpackers Noosa
Flashpackers Noosa
#3 of 140 in Noosa
611 reviews
19.3 mi away
Dolphins Beach House
Dolphins Beach House
#109 of 140 in Noosa
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Pines Motel
Twin Pines Motel
#10 of 15 in Mooloolaba
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers

Property: Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers
Address: 75 Brisbane Rd, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers Hotel Mooloolaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing