We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect hostel”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Was a bit sceptical about staying here after reading the reviews that are on here but the people who wrote those bad reviews need to remember its a hostel not a 5star hotel. Stayed in mooloolaba for nearly 2 months and loved every minute of it. It is a 5 minute walk to the beach (at the end of the road), Coles is easy walking distance, couple of bars close by and a nice marina around the corner to rent boats, jetskis and kayaks. The vibe in the evenings is quality, always people sitting downstairs having a few beers and socialising so it's easy to make friends. There is a pool table which has recently been re-done, plenty of films to watch on the tv, free breakfast from 8-9am, free surfboard hire, free bike hire, free standup paddle boarding and plenty of other events going on. Rooms were decent, 4bed dorm so it's never too loud in the rooms and they are cleaned regularly. All the staff are very friendly and helpful, especially Elisha the receptionist who is one of the best things about the hostel. Would definitely recommend this hostel for people just passing by or looking for work.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam-Hodge3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    37
    30
    14
    34
See reviews for
Families
0
30
52
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as I had a boating course to do near by. I choose the $70 private room because I wanted the privacy/goodnight of sleep and private ensuite.
The room looked like a prison cell but hey, it's a hostel, so that didn't bother me. The cleanliness however was... Well.. There was none. The floor through the entire room was greasy and worst of all, the shower drain was full of hair! Not what I would expect for $70!

Anyone thinking about stayin here is better off forking out another $5-$10 and staying somewhere decent!

Oh and the staff weren't happy that I wanted to leave at 7:55am when 'key returns' opens at 8:00am

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thompagoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mooloolaba hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We arrived at Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers at night and the very unfriendly, unhelpful and unenthusiastic female staff behind the counter demanded photo id from both of us. I showed her my photo id and said that my partner only has other forms of id. The staff very rudely said we cannot be checked in and that we must leave. I asked her to call her boss to tell them the situation but she refused and said she will call the police if don’t leave. This unprofessional behaviour is something I have never seen anywhere in the world. YHA Australia has on their website “All guests are required to provide photo ID or, if this is not available, sufficient alternative authentication of identity”. Clearly no intelligent human being is going to throw a couple on the street in the middle of the night especially when they both have some form of ID and one of them even has a photo ID.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny_and_Mila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Went to pick fruit for three months, stayed for five. Hands down the best hostel on the east coast. Best five months in Aus. BY FAR the best place to do fruit picking. Great vibe in the hostel, plenty to do. Cant recommend the place highly enough. Definitely a place for backpackers that are partial to a drink or seven....

Room Tip: For partying, stay on the 3rd floor in the dorm building....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukecmsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

So we arrived with our friend from New Zealand and first thoughts were "great location" then we saw the rooms, cheap yes but also nasty. Not clean and with a tiny fan in the corner extremely hot. Atmosphere seemed okay however receptionist was far more interested in her skype date she was having then actually checking us in. For a 3 night stay we were trying to remain positive until the last night when 2 of us had gone out and one stayed back to go to bed. Around 11pm she vaugley heard someone knocking on the door but though it must be the wrong room and as she was alone in the room didnt feel safe to open the door. Anyway before she knew it the door flew open with 2 shirtless men standing there. They let themselves in and then realised somebody was in there. They then claimed to be security checking the room as they had been told we had more people there than should be. What were they doing letting themselve into our room when they thought no body was in there. Where the staff intending to steal our valuables?? Is it appropriate at that time of night to be half dressed letting your selves into a young ladies room. I THINK NOT!!!! Outraged we left the next day and promptly cancelled the weeks stay we had booked previously for over Christmas. Stay at your own risk people...dodgy is an understatment.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmsTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed in the backpackers for 2 weeks during my first days of farm. Good location with busses and greyhound and close to the beach. Good service and always a good feeling in the air,
. A very relaxed place to spend your days at with swimming pool and pool table if you don't want to go to any of the activities. The staff is always on top and always in the game.
All in all a very good temporary home with nice friends and good accommodation.

Cheers max

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I've been to many hostels Oz, but this hostel is sick!!
Free breakfast, pool, clean rooms and the staff is young and very friendly!
You get connected to different farms asap if you wanna do your farm work in oz.
It's fun! ;)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAlex91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mooloolaba
8.3 mi away
Caloundra Backpackers
Caloundra Backpackers
#47 of 51 in Caloundra
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Esplanade Motel
River Esplanade Motel
#11 of 15 in Mooloolaba
81 reviews
20.2 mi away
Noosa Backpackers Resort
Noosa Backpackers Resort
#32 of 41 in Noosaville
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Flashpackers Noosa
Flashpackers Noosa
#3 of 140 in Noosa
611 reviews
19.3 mi away
Dolphins Beach House
Dolphins Beach House
#109 of 140 in Noosa
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Pines Motel
Twin Pines Motel
#10 of 15 in Mooloolaba
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers

Property: Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers
Address: 75 Brisbane Rd, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers Hotel Mooloolaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing