We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers
foreign
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Gross”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I had a private room and bathroom and there were long hairs and a dirty shower curtain with unscrubbed walls (could see patches were they tried), no bathmat and when I asked for an extra towel I was told I already had one. Poor bedding for winter and no heating. No hand soap, bedside table or anything and very very noisy. Pool filthy. Staff were unfriendly and not interested in helping with tourist spots... apart from awesome dude who took me to airport both ways! I felt it was overpriced and disappointing overall. Mooloolaba good though.

Room Tip: If your 20 and want to party - do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukgemima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    37
    30
    14
    34
See reviews for
Families
0
30
52
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed here on 12 and 13 July 2013. The room was reasonably clean, not much you can do about sand in a bedside holiday place. However, the external surrounds (gardens, stairs, bbq area, and common room) were very dirty. Lots of cigarette butts, bottle caps, empty bottle, and old clothing lying about the place. Then at 3am on the Saturday night the fire alarm sounded because apparently a girl had been smoking in a toilet causing the alarm - no fault of the management, but annoying.
The management were great on keeping down the noise after 10pm and the security gate was closed on time.
Overall, the place needs some more active management to clean up the surrounds, and make sure guests do their part too.

Room Tip: Fartherest from the pool area (gets very noisy gthere) and fartherest from floor access door - the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Stayed here for 6 months and did all my farm work here. Staff were very friendly and approachable, there was free breakfast every morning, brilliant atmosphere and everyone was very friendly. Over all i really enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to anyone else traveling to the sunshine coast.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I stayed in the backpackers for near 6 months as I was doing regional work and found it so comfortable to be here. I really enjoyed staying here and met some of the best people I could have ever met. The hostel has a really friendly vibe about it and it's very clean. My room was cleaned twice a week and staff were very helpful and respectful. The cleaning team are superb Mary the cleaning lady is one of the nicest people I've ever met! The rooms are a perfect size for four people and the on suite bathrooms are perfect and the showers are amazing compared to other places I've stayed! Overall it made my stay in mooloolaba so enjoyable calling this place my home! They even actively find you work which is awesome!
Ill be back one day!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larkhill12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Excellent stay in this hostel in Mooloolaba. The receptionists and staff were always helpful and friendly. The hostel itself is clean, well equiped and has a great atmosphere. It's the perfect base for farmwork and Mooloolaba itself is a great place to stay.

I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone thinking of staying here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MP_305_Worldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed here in Spring 2012 for work opportunities. Was promised 2 months work, 85c per kilo picked and accommodation for $168 a week.

It ended up being 2 weeks work, 65c per kilo picked and closer to $200 a week to stay there.

The staff were rude and condescending to anyone who wasn't part of the long term clique. I got moved 3 times during my stay there because the long timers kept changing their minds about which rooms they wanted to be in

Because you couldn't stay up outside after 10pm it just meant that everyone picked a room or two in the hostel and piled in there (not great when the rooms are crammed as it is), not ideal when you are up at 5 to pick fruit the next morning on minimal sleep

The kitchen was under stocked and always packed

Mooloolaba itself is really nice, just a shame this is the only hostel to service it. Was very glad when I left, don't think I would have stayed there 2 months anyway. Once you had your wages for picking fruit there was only roughly $100 to survive off once the over priced hostel had been paid.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mooloolaba hotels

The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

I've states the last months in lots of hostels around Australia, and this one is the worst for sure.
It really looks like a prison, the bathrooms are horrible (not clean and not even a good place to put your stuff, because you only have a curtain what starts at your knees, so also everything you put outside will get wet)
The kitchen is disgusting, cockroaches all over the place.
For the price what you pay for it, i expected a lot more!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JansHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mooloolaba
0.3 mi away
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
#8 of 16 in Mooloolaba
175 reviews
20.2 mi away
Noosa Backpackers Resort
Noosa Backpackers Resort
#33 of 41 in Noosaville
172 reviews
20.1 mi away
Nomads Noosa
Nomads Noosa
#136 of 140 in Noosa
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Flashpackers Noosa
Flashpackers Noosa
#3 of 140 in Noosa
624 reviews
19.3 mi away
Dolphins Beach House
Dolphins Beach House
#111 of 140 in Noosa
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Pines Motel
Twin Pines Motel
#12 of 16 in Mooloolaba
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers

Property: Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers
Address: 75 Brisbane Rd, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers Hotel Mooloolaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing