We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spent Australia Day Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spent Australia Day Here”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We had free vouchers for a paddle board session up the nearby river so stayed here.

The facilities were very good at the hostel, free bike hire, body board hire and surf board hire. Turns out the paddle board sessions were free too, which removed the need for our 'free' vouchers - these had been provided by another company though, so something to be taken up with them as opposed to the hostel..

The rooms were good. We were in a 4 bed dorm and had two sets of friendly occupants over the three nights we stayed there. Clean bedding was provided. The only problem was that there was no fan in our room and no fly screen over the window, which had to be left open overnight because of the heat, which resulted in multiple mosquito bites over our stay.

The kitchen facilities were ok. Not all of the hobs worked and there was limited cutlery. But there was enough for us to make our meals. The kitchen drying towel was disgusting though, needed changing as it stank.

The bathroom facilities were good. Hot showers and working sinks/toilets with privacy.

We spent Australia Day at the hostel, where we drank in the premises and had everyone from different rooms coming together and having a brilliant day, making use of the free pool and ping pong facilities. Guests are also allowed to plug in their own iPod to a sound system which plays around the reception area, which is also a good feature of the hostel.



Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    37
    30
    14
    34
See reviews for
Families
0
30
52
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Never been to such a bad hostel before! Don't go there! Everything is dirty and broken, The girl at the reception was unfriendly and had no clue how to check us in. There were no pots, knives or any other pottery in the kitchen. The biggest cockroaches i've ever seen live in the kitchen and the couches next to it.
And because there's nothing to do in Mooloolaba than swimming in front of huge hotels, stay away and spent your time in much nicer places like Noosa or Gold coast!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathrin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mooloolaba hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed 6 nights here over new years. One of the worst backpackers I've stayed in.

Nothing worked - during our stay the fan in our room broke, the front gate card scanner stopped working so we had to climb the fence to get back into the property, the washing machine I used to do a load of washing could only do hot washes not cold (they were aware of this but had not put a note on the machine), then the card scanner to our floor broke and we were locked out of our floor. Another guest had to climb over a balcony to get through a sliding door to open the door, a rubbish bin was left in the door so it was left ajar for the next 3 days. It had still not been fixed when we left. I enquired about how we could use one of their kayaks as advertised on the website but they were all being repaired and out if action.

The staff were ok, but it appeared to be a group of mates running the place who were more interested in drinking than looking after the property. It is in a good location, 5 minutes walk to the beach and cafes.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travels19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Mooloolaba seems to be a spot that a lot of people miss en route up/down the coast but it is the best place on the east coast to spend some time.

I booked into this place with the intention of staying a week or so - I left 6 months later!

This was the best hostel I stayed in during my time in Australia. There are two blocks , which are amazingly well kept, the rooms are great, kitchens on each floor, fridges etc . The private doubles were really comfy. Downstairs has a great area to watch T.V, play pool etc or sit round the swimming pool. You can use the surf boards, kayaks etc as and when you want plus there is always some kind of activity happening.

Goon Pong nights and weekly sessions at the local hell hole known as 240V will become nights you will never forget

Above all though the staff made this place. They are a mixture of backpackers earning there keep and locals earning a wage. Mary will look after you like one of her own!

Ignore the bad reviews - this place is great, certainly better than most you will encounter. Its clean, well priced and close to so much. Go and enjoy the best town you will find!

Room Tip: Rooms with Ensuite get less noise than the others if you really need a good nights sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

If you really need to visit Mooloolaba and you're on a budget then this is where to stay, especially as I didn't find any other budget options in town.

Having read some bad reviews, I was a bit sceptical coming here but it really is an acceptable hostel. The staff I met were friendly and helpful and the highlight of my stay was the day at Australia Zoo which can be organised at reception. Sure, you can pick up the coach at Noosa for the zoo, but it's handier from Mooloolaba as it's the last pick-up/first drop-off, so less time required on the bus.

The free breakfast (cereal, toast etc) was a handy extra and I feel that the price is just about right.

However it is very basic and the rooms (as Lonely Planet describe), look "tired". Two big negatives to do with the room:

The bed I was in had almost no support in the middle so was really uncomfortable, though the place is quiet after 10pm so slept OK.

But worse, the shower curtain didn't reach to the floor, so consequently the floor got very wet and grungy even leading into the bedroom. How hard can it be to buy a shower curtain the right length?

So, would I stay here again? No - but not because of the hostel, only because Mooloolaba doesn't have much to offer other than a nice beach, which can be found anywhere. The night life is almost non-existent.

On the upside, the hostel is perfectly situated for the beach and public transport.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I have been staying there on and off for the last 9 months and it has always felt like my home away from home, over this time I have seen a lot of people come and go, staff members change and the place has never really changed, people are always friendly. The staff have always been helpful and friendly. They have plenty of free activities like paddle boarding lessons three times a day plus surfboards are free to use as is the pool table. The pool is great as well as it can get hot there.

To top it off it's positioned only 5 minutes walk from the main beach too which is great. I highly recommend the backpackers as a place to stay when you visit mooloolaba.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sfinglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed from may-August 2013. Staff are really friendly, the hostel is clean and has a very good atmosphere. Also it's a great location near the beech and they let you hire out surf boards for free which is good of ur just learning and awful at surfing like me !! They also give you a free BBQ on a Saturday and every one loves free food!! Highly reccomended !!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomjackson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mooloolaba
8.3 mi away
Caloundra Backpackers
Caloundra Backpackers
#48 of 51 in Caloundra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
20.2 mi away
Noosa Backpackers Resort
Noosa Backpackers Resort
#32 of 42 in Noosaville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
19.6 mi away
Flashpackers Noosa
Flashpackers Noosa
#3 of 140 in Noosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Dolphins Beach House
Dolphins Beach House
#109 of 140 in Noosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Pines Motel
Twin Pines Motel
#10 of 15 in Mooloolaba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Esplanade Motel
River Esplanade Motel
#11 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers

Property: Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers
Address: 75 Brisbane Rd, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers Hotel Mooloolaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing