We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no vibes.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“no vibes.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

The location is great, the beach is so lovely and not far. That's the only thing I liked. There was no vibe at all, seemed to be a lot of long stayers so they would have only outdoor area (a small picnic table) and they didn't seem to want to socialise with the newbies... The staff were okay, abit rude sometimes. The kitchen was crappy with plastic plates and real grotty pans. The shower had curtains, which were mouldy and the shower furthest away from the towel hooks was always a bad choice. The wifi price was RIDICULOUS, 6$ for 5 hours never seen it that high. I was going to buy it but every time I went to reception it was really busy and it took about 30 minutes to check in new arrivels because their computer kept crashing and deleting the information. I wouldn't stay here again I don't think.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    36
    28
    14
    33
See reviews for
Families
0
29
49
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Start with the positives. The location is amazing. The beach is gorgeous and just a 5-7 minute walk. Its DIRECTLY across the road from the Greyhound bus stop. Coles is just down the road and the fridges have plenty of room. They provided towels for us and we got discount at the zoo.

However, when we arrived we had a leaflet that entitled us to a free zoo shuttle bus. The lady on reception told me that they weren't honouring that anymore and forced us to pay for the Greyhound return to the zoo. We complained but nothing was done. The shuttle was only $13.50 for a return so not a massive dent in the budget and we'd already got our adult price zoo ticket reduced to a student. The rooms aren't that clean but they're ok. The pool isn't that clean but it's ok.

One of the nights we stayed was a Thursday night, and the lady on reception advised me that was when everyone comes down and socialises. In fact it's when all the staff who live in just come down and drink together and make no effort to welcome in anyone else. So in fact it's quite an awkward state of affairs. The hostel is just a bunch of mates having a laugh, with no management or schemes set up to make travellers feel welcome.

Boards are free to hire but they're awful so I wouldn't recommend. They also offered free kayak hire on the website but they no longer have any kayaks. Stand up paddle boarding, again free, but the sessions were fully booked three days in advance, which was useless to us as we were only staying for 3 nights.

My advice would be to stay at this hostel for the location, but don't expect anything from the hostel. And if you want to have a good time here and make friends you have to become a member of staff.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexCoetzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

The title is based on the inside of the building, dark corridors with internal doors that bang all night. The room was small with a single blind that was damaged making it beyond ineffective so brace yourself for sunrise at 0610 hrs.

I bought food from Coles, went off to see the town and came back to find my food back had been removed from the fridge and lying in a puddle of warm water beside the fridge, ruined.

I felt sorry for the cleaners who were fighting a losing battle as everyone abused the kitchen leaving their dirty dishes all over the place. They clean the kitchen twice a day but need to enforce the self help issue.

For me it was the long term residents that ruined this place, unfriendly to the point of scowling when newbies encroached on 'their' balcony. Noise until 0300 hrs despite the night staff asking for quiet 3 times made for a terrible nights sleep.

Positive points were a free breakfast and surf board or bikes.

If management got a grip of the residents, sorted out the banging doors and the blinds this place would be ok. It's in a great location, close to the town, fast food outlets and a booze shop.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMP999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mooloolaba hotels

London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a 4 person dorm where we got to share a single plug point and apparently the floors only got cleaned once a week. However I would say the rooms were far better than the bathrooms... Where all that separated you and the rest of the bathroom was a flimsy shower curtain. I don't want to walk around naked to have a shower and expect some privacy in and out of the poor shower, but there was no other option. You then had the broken tap I got to enjoy for all my stay... Australia has water restrictions but by this constantly running tap you sure wouldn't know it. Then again the bathrooms were only cleaned in the morning so maybe it takes several strikes to get sorted. Kitchen was too small for the number of people and you need to pay a deposit to get basic cutlery and plates etc. This was the first time I had experienced this.
Positives were the main downstairs communal areas were nice and pool looked clean too. Very close to the beach and key thing for me the greyhound bus stop! Also within walking distance to coles and the main strip.
As one of the most pricey hostels I felt very short changed and think they need to review their facilities asap.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ezza25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yungaburra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

i stayed in this place for one night in january 2014. i booked a single room. the room was dirty,the shower curtain had black stains on it, so did the floor in the bathroom. the sheets on the bed had multiple black stains as well. the room had not been cleaned in a while, i found dust and cut off finger nails laying around. i also found a cockroach on the ceiling. some of the staff was really nice whilst others were plain rude and not helpful at all. its just not worth staying here, you are better of paying just a little bit more and staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Kilda, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We had free vouchers for a paddle board session up the nearby river so stayed here.

The facilities were very good at the hostel, free bike hire, body board hire and surf board hire. Turns out the paddle board sessions were free too, which removed the need for our 'free' vouchers - these had been provided by another company though, so something to be taken up with them as opposed to the hostel..

The rooms were good. We were in a 4 bed dorm and had two sets of friendly occupants over the three nights we stayed there. Clean bedding was provided. The only problem was that there was no fan in our room and no fly screen over the window, which had to be left open overnight because of the heat, which resulted in multiple mosquito bites over our stay.

The kitchen facilities were ok. Not all of the hobs worked and there was limited cutlery. But there was enough for us to make our meals. The kitchen drying towel was disgusting though, needed changing as it stank.

The bathroom facilities were good. Hot showers and working sinks/toilets with privacy.

We spent Australia Day at the hostel, where we drank in the premises and had everyone from different rooms coming together and having a brilliant day, making use of the free pool and ping pong facilities. Guests are also allowed to plug in their own iPod to a sound system which plays around the reception area, which is also a good feature of the hostel.



Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Never been to such a bad hostel before! Don't go there! Everything is dirty and broken, The girl at the reception was unfriendly and had no clue how to check us in. There were no pots, knives or any other pottery in the kitchen. The biggest cockroaches i've ever seen live in the kitchen and the couches next to it.
And because there's nothing to do in Mooloolaba than swimming in front of huge hotels, stay away and spent your time in much nicer places like Noosa or Gold coast!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathrin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mooloolaba
8.3 mi away
Caloundra Backpackers
Caloundra Backpackers
#42 of 51 in Caloundra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
20.2 mi away
Noosa Backpackers Resort
Noosa Backpackers Resort
#34 of 41 in Noosaville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Pines Motel
Twin Pines Motel
#10 of 15 in Mooloolaba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Dolphins Beach House
Dolphins Beach House
#110 of 139 in Noosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
3.4 mi away
Maroochydore Backpackers Hostel
Maroochydore Backpackers Hostel
#41 of 43 in Maroochydore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Esplanade Motel
River Esplanade Motel
#11 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers

Property: Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers
Address: 75 Brisbane Rd, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers Hotel Mooloolaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing