We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun people, great activities, perfect location :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun people, great activities, perfect location :)”
Reviewed 1 September 2010

I stayed here for three weeks at the start of August. I was initially only suppose to stay for a couple of days but I fell in love with the backpackers and the vibe from the guests and staff. There's never a dull moment in Mooloolaba. I was constantly kept occupied by the many organised activities and water sports available litrally on the door step.

Each day is different. Everyday there is free stand up paddle board lessons which is amazing. You also get to use the kayaks, surf boards, body boards and bicycles from the hostel. Means theres never a time where you can say "there's nothing to do" which I have used in some hostels along the east coast. The beach is only 5mins walk from the hostel, the beach is so gorgeous. Mooloolaba gets great weather most of the year round so happy days for people like me who loves getting a tan.

The discounted meal option is great, different each night of the week which includes all you can eat Pizza for $4 on a wednesday (kept me filled for nearly 2days), Free Aussie BBQ on Saturdays. I got to try Kangaroo and Crocadile which was one item on my list of things I wanted to do in australia. Loads more. No meal on Thursdays, thats goon pong night. Had such great nights on thursdays in the hostel because of this game, I was really bad at it but still did it everytime for the laugh. Miss them sessions.

Staff are really friendly here and rooms are spic and span. Made great friends in Mooloolaba which I know I will make sure to meet again. Miss you guys.x x

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shamroxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    37
    30
    14
    34
See reviews for
Families
0
30
52
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Location:
Mooloolaba is a small town located on the Sunshine Coast, about 100km north of Brisbane. The hostel is located on the main street, just a few minutes walk from the beach.

Buses and trains all stop at nearby Maroochydore, which is also where the Sunshine Coast airport is located (domestic flights only). The hostel operates a free courtesy bus from the bus station.
I had hired a car from Brisbane for the weekend (about an hour's drive). The hostel provides free parking, although space is limited.

************************************************* *********
Rooms:
4-bed or double rooms are available. They are around $30 for a dorm bed or $70 for a double room, although if you plan to stay longer there is a weekly rate available ($168/$420 as of writing). The rooms are fairly decent, pretty much your standard hostel dorms.

************************************************* *********
Facilities:
There are bathrooms on every floor. With this hostel being close to the beach, they can get a bit sandy, but are cleaned regularly so this isn't a major problem. Some rooms have en suites.

Kayaks can be borrowed and taken to the creek, which is only a few minutes walk away. This was a really fun part of stay, although there were three of us and only two people could fit in, so we had to take turns. They also hire surfboards and bikes for free.

There is a fairly decent sized swimming pool. I didn't actually use this, as I was at the beach most of the time. Kitchen, laundry and internet facilities are also available.

They have a tour desk that specialises in Fraser Island tours, although I didn't use this as I was only there for one night. Other possible places to visit in the Sunshine Coast area are Australia Zoo, Eumundi Markets, Underwater World and the Glasshouse Mountains.

************************************************* *********
Overall recommendation:
I really liked the chilled-out vibe of the hostel. I was only in Mooloolaba for one night, as a weekend away from working in Brisbane, and the hostel definitely had a relaxed holiday feel to it. In the evening, we joined a bunch of people on the balcony for some cards and everyone was really friendly. Of course, you could be really unlucky and be surrounded by a load of [insert word for horrible people here], but I think most people come to stay at this hostel to make friends and have fun.
They close the public areas at night (around 10), but the beach is very close so most people tend to head over there.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferien_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas TX
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

My wife and I were running a bit tight on funds after many months of traveling and stumbled upon this place driving into Mooloolaba south from Fraser Island. We arrived at 2AM and the security guard was nice enough to check us into a private double room (we had to get a key the next morning) and advise us where we could park (for free) as the onsite parking lot was full. Tip--if the parking lot is full, just park across the street by the apartments and walk over to the hostel.

The room itself was very spartan, but what can you expect for $50 a night (it might have been cheaper)? The room reminded me of a college dorm room (bare concrete walls, really old television, etc.). The bed was fairly worn and sagging to the floor. The communal kitchen appeared fairly clean...we even cooked breakfast one morning.

The atmosphere of the hostel seemed nice. Many people conversing, drinking, hanging out by the pool, etc. If you are looking for friends/travel partners, there seemed to be many people hanging about here from all over the world. Everyone was very friendly to us even though we did not partake in the communal bbq's or nightly drinking games :)

The staff was very GREAT! They helped us with directions to cheap eats around town, directions to the Steve Irwin Zoo, etc. Very nice staff!

If you can put up with the basic rooms (VERY basic), then this place is a great value! We walked everywhere in town (about 10 minutes from the center). Would reccomend to backpackers/single travelers. Would not reccomend to couples looking for a romantic room with a beach view...haha. Its a budget place...you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fpatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Very clean Hostel with modern facilities, friendly staff and free internet. Staff dont seem to do much but apart from that i cannot say anything negative about this place.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2008

One of the cheapest places we stayed in Aus. But by far the worst. The standard of backpackers in Aus can be far better than you can imagine... this one was verging at the very edge of fair / bad.

The worn carpet tiles hadn't been hoovered for weeks - when you walked barefoot other people's dirt was attached to your feet. The bed simply had no support left in the mattress and left us with a bad back for a week.

Australia's backpackers are definitely the way to do Aus. They're generally of quite a high standard of basic comfort.

If you want as cheap as poss then stay here. But I wouldn't recommend it.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mooloolaba hotels

Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2007

One of the more colourful buildings on Brisbane Rd in Mooloolaba, the Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers is situated conveniently to transport, food outlets, nightlife, shopping, and of course, the beach.
The staff were helpful and friendly, and notice boards were updated almost daily with day excursions and other things to do. There was definitely a communal vibe with groups gathering almost every evening around the main courtyard.
I stayed in a Double dorm, which was basic, but clean and spacious, with ample cupboard space. The dripping tap in the bathroom could have been fixed, and flyscreens on the windows would have been great. (But then again, insects weren't a real problem during this time of year.)
The communal kitchens on every level add a nice touch, and people tended to respect the use of the facilities and fridges. Although I didn't stay in the 4-share dorms, the ones on the upper floors are airy and well-maintained. Try to book one of the dorms overlooking the pool, which have a balcony if you want to avoid that claustrophobic feeling. The dorms on the ground level seemed a bit more squashy, but maybe because they have ensuite bathrooms. Each dorm featured cupboards with latches which could be locked to keep belongings safe. There are also surfboards and bikes to hire for free. Internet use is also quite fast and cheap (at the time of my stay, it was $3 p/hour) although there are just 2 computers.
Overall, a comfortable, relaxed and welcoming stay, with great support from the hospitable staff. P.S. If you are doing any scuba diving with Sunreef, mention it to get a slight discount on your stay.

  • Liked — The easygoing communal vibe
  • Disliked — The dripping tap in the bathroom
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank J7J8J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2005

This backpacker was definately 'get what you pay for'. I had a double room which had its own telly, fridge, fan, double bed and bathroom. The walls were concrete block and the carpet was worn carpet tiles. But at $53 per night I couldn't complain. There are communal kitchens, but over the 3 nights I stayed there, the same dishes were waiting to be washed up during my whole time there. It's location is quite convenient. If you are looking for budget accommodation, this is a good place, but Mooloolaba is such a cool place - I think I would stay somewhere a bit nicer next time.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTravellersNZ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mooloolaba
20.2 mi away
Noosa Backpackers Resort
Noosa Backpackers Resort
#32 of 41 in Noosaville
172 reviews
20.1 mi away
Nomads Noosa
Nomads Noosa
#136 of 140 in Noosa
546 reviews
19.3 mi away
Dolphins Beach House
Dolphins Beach House
#112 of 140 in Noosa
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Flashpackers Noosa
Flashpackers Noosa
#2 of 140 in Noosa
619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mooloolaba Motel
Mooloolaba Motel
#14 of 15 in Mooloolaba
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Pines Motel
Twin Pines Motel
#11 of 15 in Mooloolaba
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers

Property: Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers
Address: 75 Brisbane Rd, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers Hotel Mooloolaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing