We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some updating required”
Review of Mantra Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Zanzibar
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Certificate of Excellence
Camberwell, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Some updating required”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We have an acceptable apartment at this resort but it could do with some updating as it's looking very dated with old heavy style 1980's furniture and this detracts from its appearance although we cant complain about the standard of general presentation. Its in a very convenient position in the town.
A modern update would be a great improvement.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Aussiebd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Aussiebd,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with the TripAdvisor community, as we always like hearing from TripAdvisors Top Contributors. The team and I were glad to read that you enjoyed the central loaction and the presentation of the apartment.

When the building opened in 1999 it featured a distinctly African theme, which can still be seen throughout the buildings architecture today. When updating apartments some owners have chosen to refurbish and retain the timber furniture to continue the style of the building.

Thank you again for posting a review, and I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra Zanzibar in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    192
    62
    34
    14
See reviews for
285
95
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Fabulous beyond our expectations! Room newly renovated, friendly staff, glorious views. The perfect location, with everything within walking distance. Can't wait to come back again. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodiennehenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear jodiennehenn,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Mantra Zanzibar, and it's great to hear that your visit exceeded all expectations!

Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts, and we can't wait to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Helpful courteous staff started the experience on the right foot and it only got better from there. Large comfortable rooms with a great view and a superb outdoor spa in the private courtyard. Will be recommending the place and staying there again.

Room Tip: Check for schoolers week before you book, not a major issue but.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Albert M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay here at Mantra Zanzibar, and it was fantastic to read you enjoyed your stay in one of the courtyard apartments.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra Zanzibar in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My family of 6 stayed at your mantra Zanzibar mooloolaba. It was the best holiday we had. We had the 2nd floor with a Hugh apartment that fitted all of us and more. We had our own spa, which the kids loved. Plus over looking the beach, what an amazing view every morning to wake up with.
It is a great place too cause the four days we stayed we didn't get into our car once, everything was in walking distance. Would so go back with you guys. Love love love it.
Thankyou so much for a great holiday apartment.

Regards Belynda Watson

Room Tip: Any room is a good room, but if you have a family the 2nd floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Belynda W,

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay here at Mantra Zanzibar - the team and I were all delighted to read that this was the best holiday you've ever had! I'm glad you enjoyed the courtyard apartment and the private spa, and that the central location meant you didn't need to use the car while you were here.

Thank you again for your review, and we can't wait to have you come back and stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Just the place to stay for a quiet break.
Room excellent.
Ocean views great.
Staff very helpful.
Top location and everything at your door step.
The wife and I were overwhelmed with the unit and views will go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronald h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear ronald h,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay here at Mantra Zanzibar, and it was great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.

The team and I can't wait to have you back again when you are next on the Sunshine Coast.


Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in October and everything seemed to go wrong. At first we thought it was great, beautiful views, good sized unit etc but then it went downhill from there. The unit was infested with cockroaches. I killed 13 in total for the duration of my stay. I complained and the maintenance man sprayed the unit but the fumes nearly killed me. The cockroaches kept coming but were fewer as the days went on. I have stayed in many hotels along the Sunshine Coast and have never seen a cockroach. The pool and spa were cold for the duration of our stay. It got fixed on the last day we were there. I also complained and the staff did their best but I wasn't happy. I filled out a survey card and handed it in at reception when I checked out but I have not heard from the hotel. I was at least expecting an apology but have received nothing yet.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Pauline M,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here at Mantra Zanzibar, and I'm sorry to hear a couple of items marred your stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the pest issue, unfortunately we do sometimes have the odd creature make their way in from the gardens and we've asked our pest control contractor to follow up as well. Unfortunately we did have an issue with the pool heating for a couple of days while we waited for a replacement part, however this is once again all up and running.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your thoughts, and if your travel plans have you returning to Mooloolaba or if I can assist further in any way please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed in a fantastic unit on the 9th floor. We requested a high floor so were very pleased with this. Only 1 hours drive from Brisbane and everything you need is right there. Parked the car in the secure underground car park & didn't drive again until the trip home. Restaurants, shops, beach, bars, it's all at your fingertips. Have stayed at Zanzibar on 3 occasions & have thoroughly enjoyed each holiday. Will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Lea A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your throughts on your recent stay here with us at Mantra Zanzibar. The team and I were delighted to read that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed the views from the 9th floor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Zanzibar again the next time you are coming to the Sunshine Coast.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.2 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#3 of 16 in Mooloolaba
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#9 of 16 in Mooloolaba
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
#8 of 16 in Mooloolaba
175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mantra Sirocco
Mantra Sirocco
#1 of 16 in Mooloolaba
529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
#6 of 16 in Mooloolaba
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Zanzibar

Property: Mantra Zanzibar
Address: 47-51 The Esplanade, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mooloolaba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mooloolaba
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mooloolaba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Zanzibar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Mooloolaba Bay, Mantra Zanzibar offers beachside accommodation with a strong East African influence in the heart of cosmopolitan Mooloolaba. Offering style on the beach, the property is close to everything your heart desires including shopping, restaurants and sidewalk cafes. Indulge in the latest fashions and giftware from around the world in the surrounding boutiques. Accommodation choices include 2 and 3 bedroom apartments all with quality furnishings and African inspired decor, air-conditioning, private balcony with panoramic ocean views and an indulgent spa bath. Other standard features include a fully equipped kitchen, laundry, cable TV, DVD player, internet access and hairdryer. If you're after more space, upgrade to our courtyard apartments which feature all of the above plus a private courtyard area with barbeque and outdoor spa or for the ultimate in luxury book our two or three bedroom penthouse. You will enjoy all the resort facilities and services you need with an outdoor heated pool and spa, fully equipped gym, complimentary undercover parking, in-room internet access, tour desk, child minding and laundry service. Mooloolaba is home to many of Queensland's best attractions including UnderWater World, the Eumundi Markets and just 20 minutes drive away is the famous Australia Zoo. Located on The Esplanade we are just minutes walk from trendy sidewalk cafes, bars, restaurants and boutique stores making for a truly memorable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Zanzibar Hotel Mooloolaba
Zanzibar Hotel Mooloolaba
Zanzibar Apartments
Zanzibar Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing