We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trendy, well maintained Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mantra Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra Zanzibar
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Certificate of Excellence
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Trendy, well maintained Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom unit on the 3rd floor. The apartment was clean, well maintained and overlooked the Mooloolaba beach with sea views. It was spacious enough for 4 people and had a good supply of cookware and utensils. The location was ideal (even though the weather was not at the time of our visit), with clubs and restaurants within an easy walk. The worst part of the stay was the noisy Lorikeets which nested in the pine trees directory in front of our balcony. The started screeching at approx. 4pm and continued well after dark. Not a good thing when you want to sit outside and enjoy a nice quiet drink before dinner on the balcony. Other than that, I would recommend this property but bring ear plugs.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views and spa baths
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorryPomona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear LorryPomona,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Mantra Zanzibar and thank you for the Trendy, Well Maintained title.

It’s great to see, even though the weather was undesirable, you were still able to enjoy the nearby restaurants.

The Lorikeets are quite a feature in Mooloolaba however understand at certain times of the year can be a little bit louder than normal. Next time you stay with us, we could assist with a different position in the building.

Kind Regards,
Simon Kirch
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    152
    57
    32
    13
See reviews for
236
78
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Last minute booking, and was a great weekend away. Clean 3 bedroom apartment. Great balcony overlooking the beach. Close to everything. Would stay here again. Clean. Pool and spa were also ok. Quiet property.



  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennalee5090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Jennalee5090,

We appreciate your 5 star review on Mantra Zanzibar – three in a row now.

It’s great to see you have a memorable weekend away and enjoyed the facilities and location we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the resort soon.

Kind Regards,
Simon Kirch
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We highly rated the Zanzibar, we did get a renovated room as requested and the rate was very reasonable. Its in a good position and the mooloolaba beach is great for kids. The lorrikeets can be very noisy at night time though. They hang out in the trees in front of the building. We really enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Laurie K,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on Mantra Zanzibar.

We appreciate your high rating of our resort, and it’s great to see your requests have been met.

We hope to see you again soon at Mantra Zanzibar.

Kind Regards,
Simon Kirch
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggenden, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

A last minute decision to stay overnight , thinking rooms would be over priced & scarce with the triathlon events starting the following day (Friday) The ladies on reception were welcoming & accommodated us in a requested high floor (805). The room was very clean & obviously refurbished. We've stayed in the past but usually penthouse 1001 although a number of years ago.
Views are wonderful, surprisingly very little traffic noise & central to so many wonderful eateries.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesnjusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear julesnjusty,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Mantra Zanzibar.

It was great to be able to accommodate your request over the Tri and the staff appreciates your
kind feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again soon at the resort.

Kind Regards,
Simon Kirch
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

whilst the location is excellent, quality was substandard. Top sheet on our double bed was very badly stained with a big handprint of blood plus various spots and the bedside lamp in the main bedroom was broken allowing broken electrical wires to protrude plus the fitting on the lamp in the lounge was also broken exposing the metal and if you were not careful one could easily put a finger into a hole in the fitting and who knows.
We had a 3 bedroom apartment for 4 people and an infant.
There was only 1 small frypan to cook breakfast, only 1 teatowel, hinges on some cupboard doors were faulty thus doors would not close properly, chairs on patio needed rubber feet so they would sit properly and not wobble, no pepper or salt in unit and some of the walls near the bench were splattered with what appeared to be grease.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Ken B,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at Mantra Zanzibar.

Regarding the sheets, this has been identified from the supplier as rust stains and I regret we did not have to opportunity to change these over during your stay

While maintenance issues do arise from time to time, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience and please be assured this has been addressed and rectified accordingly.

Thank you again and if I can be of assistance in any way in the future please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,
Simon Kirch
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We are a family with 2 kids under 5 and chose to stay at Zanzibar for a 3 day break. We were in room 205, a courtyard spa room. We had some reservations after reading some reviews on trip advisor. We arrived to a fairly modern room that was clean and well maintained. We had great views of the beach and the spa in the courtyard was great. The spa was not operating correctly so we went to reception and were informed maintenance would be along soon. the man turned up and fixed the problem in good time. The courtyard was big enough for the kids to run around and had a good quality BBQ on it. We found the room to be faultlessly clean, it had all that you could need and everything functioned as it should. We found it very comfortable and really enjoyed our stay, we would stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: the rooms are privately owned and not of a set standard. Our room was excellent but a quick viewing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brunsmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear brunsmatt,

Thank you for your detailed comments and 4 star rating.

We pride ourselves on providing outstanding service and are happy to receive your comments that you really enjoyed your stay.

In the meantime, thank you again for your positive comments and we look forward to you returning when next on the Sunshine Coast.

Kind Regards,
Simon Kirch
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Had a great couple of nights at Zanzibar Hotel Mooloolaba. Had a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom with rooftop & spa. The room was furnished well with a new kitchen and recently painted. The location is perfect however only thing I could fault was that the pool is in the shade a lot. Overall, had a great weekend. Would return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twistybne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Twistybne,

Thank you for the great review and excellent comments regarding the room and location.
It is a great time of the year to travel and I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to you returning.

Kind Regards,
Simon Kirch
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.2 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#2 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#8 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
#7 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cilento
Cilento
#12 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mantra Sirocco
Mantra Sirocco
#3 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Zanzibar

Property: Mantra Zanzibar
Address: 47-51 The Esplanade, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mooloolaba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mooloolaba
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mooloolaba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Zanzibar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Mooloolaba Bay, Mantra Zanzibar offers beachside accommodation with a strong East African influence in the heart of cosmopolitan Mooloolaba. Offering style on the beach, the property is close to everything your heart desires including shopping, restaurants and sidewalk cafes. Indulge in the latest fashions and giftware from around the world in the surrounding boutiques. Accommodation choices include 2 and 3 bedroom apartments all with quality furnishings and African inspired decor, air-conditioning, private balcony with panoramic ocean views and an indulgent spa bath. Other standard features include a fully equipped kitchen, laundry, cable TV, DVD player, internet access and hairdryer. If you're after more space, upgrade to our courtyard apartments which feature all of the above plus a private courtyard area with barbeque and outdoor spa or for the ultimate in luxury book our two or three bedroom penthouse. You will enjoy all the resort facilities and services you need with an outdoor heated pool and spa, fully equipped gym, complimentary undercover parking, in-room internet access, tour desk, child minding and laundry service. Mooloolaba is home to many of Queensland's best attractions including UnderWater World, the Eumundi Markets and just 20 minutes drive away is the famous Australia Zoo. Located on The Esplanade we are just minutes walk from trendy sidewalk cafes, bars, restaurants and boutique stores making for a truly memorable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Zanzibar Hotel Mooloolaba
Zanzibar Hotel Mooloolaba
Zanzibar Apartments
Zanzibar Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing