We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dated”
Review of Raffles Mooloolaba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Raffles Mooloolaba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed on 6th floor. Well kitted out apartment with some nice furniture (great bed), but the underlying structure seems dated and in need of maintenance. Lots of little things needed fixing - shower leaked, front door had gaps under it letting in whistling wind, hair dryer was broken, the stairs to the roof were scary at best. Hotel manager was helpful however.

Unlike everywhere else we went on our trip the wifi was not free. Enjoyed the Councils 3 hours of free wifi however it was marginal at Raffles.

Overall good value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witnessed, Manager at Raffles Mooloolaba, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Hi Aileen

In response to your comments I'm unsure what you are referring to in saying that the underlying structure seems dated and in need of maintenance.

I was unaware that the shower was leaking, or more precisely, water trickling down the shower hose. A new washer and no more leaking.

On checking the hair dryer it works fine. I can only assume that you didn't realise that you had to push the on/off button on the hair dryer base after removing the hand held dryer.

I do apologise for the faulty door draught seal. this has now been repaired.

had the above matters been reported to me during your stay they would have been attended to immediately.

Our WiFi is FREE. Tokens need to be collected from reception.

Regards
Bob James
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Perfect beachside location adjacent to the esplanade (main drag) in Mooloolaba. My first time staying in the area and had everything at my doorstep - Coles, the beach, endless number of cafés, restaurants etc all with great friendly service and high quality. Free parking at the raffles undercover in locked garage. Heated outdoor pool and spa on site also fantastic. Rooms sufficient with air con 2 bdr 2 bath and friendly accommodating staff. Recommended for anyone unsure where to stay in Mooloolaba.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witnessed, Manager at Raffles Mooloolaba, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Hi Dunior

Many thanks for your feedback. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your first stay in Mooloolaba and found all the facilities at Raffles and our great locality to be to your liking.

Thanks for the recommendation.

Regards
Bob James
Resident Maager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here in a two-bedroom sea view apartment on 5th floor...pull-out sofa bed in lounge for third child, two single beds in 2nd bedroom for two other kids. Tidy, fairly compact but fully functional apartment-style accommodation, well located near the beach at one end of the main cafe/restaurant/bar drag. Big bonus for those travelling with a family is supermarket straight across the road, along with a bottle store and a Pub/Bistro that does pretty good food for those nights when the kids are tired and you either haven't made a restaurant booking or don't feel like cooking. Small pool/spa. Would happily rebook here - good family accommodation that is quite reasonable for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witnessed, Manager at Raffles Mooloolaba, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Hi Darren

Firstly my apologies for my delay in responding to your review.

Many thanks for taking the time to post feedback of your stay at Raffles.

I'm pleased that you found your two bedroom ocean view apartment to be functional and suitable for your family of five.

I agree, that being across the street from Coles supermarket, bakery, bottle store, newsagent, chemist and café/restaurant is a real bonus.

We would love to welcome you back again.

Regards
Bob James
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Your stays starts with a lovely greeting from Bob the hotel manager, he is very helpful and makes you feel welcome. The apartment is clean, well equipped, spacious and loved the spa in the ensuite. The location is fabulous, easy walk to the beach, shops, restaurants and there is a supermarket across the road, put the car in the garage and walk everywhere. There is some street noise however if you close the doors you cant hear any of it, besides your on holidays relax and enjoy. The pool is the perfect temperature and the spa is great. Cant wait to come and stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charmaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witnessed, Manager at Raffles Mooloolaba, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Hi Charmaine

Many thanks for taking the time to give Trip Advisor visitors and us a review of your experience at Raffles. I'm so pleased that the apartment was to your liking, enabling you to relax and enjoy your holiday. We are spoilt for locality and our permanently heated pool and outdoor spa are popular to all of our guests. I look forward to your return visit.
Regards
Bob James
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The highlight is the ensuite spa bath and that is about all. Apartments are not too spacious, although clean, and lack adequate furniture. No clothes line pegs nor vacuum cleaner which have to be requested. Located close to food and beach but too noisy at night with traffic and drinkers going on until 2am on weekend. Not a unit for people looking for quiet nights. Also internet only available for very limited time so advertising on website with "free wifi" isn't true. The pool isn't too large and lighting at night isn't good around the pool for late night swim. No fitness room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 67Poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witnessed, Manager at Raffles Mooloolaba, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Hi 67Poppy

I'm sorry that the only highlight of your stay with us was the ensuite spa bath and the apartment's cleanliness and I'm surprised that you found the apartment lacked adequate furniture when every one of our fully self contained two bedroom apartments has a standard dining table and 6 dining chairs, a lounge suite plus 2 lounge chairs, TV and bedside cabinets etc, etc.

I do apologise for our oversight in not noticing the missing pegs which were replenished immediately following your complaint.

Our free Wi-Fi is available 24/7 and our pool hours are 8.00 am to 8.00 pm as per the notice.

Regards
Bob James
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Recently stayed at Raffles for two weeks. The location was great, plenty of restaurants and bars close by and there is a supermarket right across the street. The apartment was clean, tidy and the staff were friendly and efficient! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Raffles. We would love to come back and stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bighair9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witnessed, Manager at Raffles Mooloolaba, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Hi bighair9

Firstly my apologies for the oversight in not replying to your review earlier.

Many thanks for your comments and we hope to see you back again soon.

Regards
Bob James
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The hotel is in a terrific location, close to the beach, shops and restaurants, and our apartment was spacious, clean and tidy. We were located, however on the ground floor right next to the entry of the building and the lift, so we experienced a high amount of noise and door banging. We were not able to sleep until all other occupants in the building had come back to the hotel and retired to their rooms. Our family member who stayed in the second bedroom was also woken very early (approx 6.30am) every morning from sweeping, mopping and banging by staff adjacent to the bedroom. This hotel could be improved by the fitting of doors or door closures that do not bang loudly and by staff members cleaning at a later time.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witnessed, Manager at Raffles Mooloolaba, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Hi Pol T

My apologies for the very late response to your review.

Many thanks for your comments and for bringing to my attention the noise issues that you experienced.

I have since softened the closing of the front entrance door and being the one responsible for the early morning cleaning, I have taken on board your suggestions.

Unfortunately there is not a lot that I can do about the noises from the other guests.

Regards
Bob James
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.0 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#4 of 16 in Mooloolaba
365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#9 of 16 in Mooloolaba
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coco Mooloolaba Apartments
Coco Mooloolaba Apartments
#7 of 16 in Mooloolaba
242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
#8 of 16 in Mooloolaba
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
#6 of 16 in Mooloolaba
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Mooloolaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Mooloolaba

Address: 65-69 First Ave, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Mooloolaba
Price Range: £91 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raffles Mooloolaba 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RAFFLES MOOLOOLABA,a 4 star intimate Mooloolaba resort, is just a short stroll to all that idyllic Mooloolaba has to offer.Raffles Mooloolaba comprises 30 modern and inviting fully self contained spacious and comfortable one or two bedroom Sunshine Coast holiday accommodation apartments. Every holiday apartment offers a double corner spa bath ensuite to the master bedroom for that extra bit of relaxation and rejuvenation after a day of absorbing the attractions of Mooloolaba..Choose from a ground floor apartment with its own private and secure courtyard, a deluxe apartment with either garden or partial ocean views, ocean view apartment or an ocean view rooftop apartment with its own private rooftop with BBQ and outdoor furniture setting.(List features)Relax in private on your own east to north facing balcony or enjoy our resort facilities - heated pool, spa, BBQ entertainment area, lift, free parking and tour desk.Walk across the street to the supermarket, 80m to the closest restaurant, 200m to the local bus stop, 150m to the nearest beach, 500m to the Surf Club and Underwater World, or take a 5 minute drive to the coast's largest shopping and movie complex or a 30 minute drive to Australia Zoo.RAFFLES MOOLOOLABA is the ideal base for your Mooloolaba accommodation and Sunshine Coast adventure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raffles Mooloolaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Mooloolaba Hotel Mooloolaba
Raffles Hotel Mooloolaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing