We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfy and close”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River Esplanade Motel
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Reviewed 27 April 2014

It is a nice location, about 5 mins walk to the beach / surf club. It has 2 entrances, 1 off Brisbane rd, the other off River Esp. The Brisbane Rd entrance takes you to a service station about 100m where I bought ice. Maccas & other shops aren't far across the rd. Rooms a nice, bathroom small but it's all been refurbed and was clean. Aircon worked well. It's quiet except for the morning when everyone is leaving as the carparking is right outside the door. Staff are friendly & helpful. There is a shared kitchen where you can get utensils, wine glasses etc. One of the fridges was smelly so I wouldn't recommend using it. And the bar fridge in the room wasn't that cold, so you may want to take an esky with ice for drinks etc. Nice spot overall and a good value. Staff can be a bit hard to get on the phone so I would recommend you ring their mobile phone.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 8 which was great! but you might prefer a room closer to the River Esp end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed there over Easter weekend, and for the price, we weren't expecting anything flash, or good, but we were pleasantly surprised. Whilst basic, the rooms were very modern, very clean, and well maintained. The location was superb for Mooloolaba, and the staff were very friendly as well which was a nice touch. The only thing I can criticise about the place is the pillows were like bricks, but if you have your own pillows, this isn't an issue. Overall was very impressed considering the price was nice and cheap. Would highly recommend it if you are travelling on a budget.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Adam-From-Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

just got home late yesterday after spending 4 nights in this motel .We usually stay in high rise apartments , but are sick of the constant banging of doors and the lifts .this motel was lovely and quiet and no traffic noises we stayed in room 10 which was in the middleMotel is in a .great location one minute walk to the bowls club for great meals at fantastic prices 2 min walk to macca ,subway etc ,coles petrol station cpl doors down for cheap milk etc ,2min walk to river, did a spot of fishing , 5 min walk to ocean and board walk and shops... river cruise and underwater aquarium 4 mins walk. and bus stop at door of motel.Rooms spotless .The couple that run the place were friendly and most helpfull in all aspects of our stay ..highly recommend this place .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carole b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Booked budget motel last minute for 1 night but stayed 2. Great value for comfortable queen bed with mini frig and good shower. So peaceful and quiet and walking distance to Surf Club and other restaurants. Air conditioned and would definitely stay again. Also has a pool. Note: Bring soap with you as no toiletries and unless you like International Roast coffee bring coffee sachets with you and milk. Manager very nice and helpful.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank wombat05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed over for a couple of nights while my boyfriend was working nights. Was a very comfortable room, nice comfy bed, good TV, clean bathroom with lovely shower and mini fridge. You can park outside your room and it was nice and quiet in the evenings and mornings. I felt save staying there all night on my own which isn't the case at some Motels.

The location is great, just a very short walk from the beach and shops and the underwater world. Staff seemed friendly although I didn't really speak to them much.

Would defo stay there again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Luisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Rooms were clean spacious and comfortable. This motel has a great location is near the beach, and restaurants along the esplanade. Free parking right next to the room was very appreciated. Owners were nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank allie848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We checked-in around 7pm when the reception was already closed, but a short phone call and we got into the room. The room was clean and pretty much had everything you need for one night. The downside of the motel is the backpacker hostel next door. Lots of noise until late at night. Good if you want to party, bad if you want to sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benjamin883581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.5 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#9 of 16 in Mooloolaba
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
#8 of 16 in Mooloolaba
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
#15 of 16 in Mooloolaba
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mooloolaba Motel
Mooloolaba Motel
#12 of 16 in Mooloolaba
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Pines Motel
Twin Pines Motel
#11 of 16 in Mooloolaba
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Esplanade Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Esplanade Motel

Address: 98 River Esp, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Price Range: £51 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Esplanade Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Esplanade Motel is a family-owned motel run by the Thompson family for almost 20 years. We specialize in quality accommodation at an affordable price. We are located in beautiful Mooloolaba which is only 1 hour north of Brisbane and are only 400m to the world famous Mooloolaba Beach making us a perfect destination for families, tourists and business travellers. We have 20 motel rooms and a 3 Bedroom Apartment, Outdoor swimming pool, shared kitchen facilities all set in amongst beautiful gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your River Esplanade Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing