We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River Esplanade Motel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Certificate of Excellence
Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
378 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We needed a one night stay for a workshop. This was well priced and well located. Quiet spot such a short walk form the main beach. Clean and it looks like the tiling in the bathroom was new. What more do you need for a stay like this? The manager at reception was friendly and there is a car park for each unit. No TV guide (only a list of the foxtel channels) but that isn't o important. They provide towles but no shampoo, bodywash etc.

Room Tip: I would aks for one of the middle apartments. Not sure if the end ones would be as quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbarista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    28
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
8
40
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

It is a nice location, about 5 mins walk to the beach / surf club. It has 2 entrances, 1 off Brisbane rd, the other off River Esp. The Brisbane Rd entrance takes you to a service station about 100m where I bought ice. Maccas & other shops aren't far across the rd. Rooms a nice, bathroom small but it's all been refurbed and was clean. Aircon worked well. It's quiet except for the morning when everyone is leaving as the carparking is right outside the door. Staff are friendly & helpful. There is a shared kitchen where you can get utensils, wine glasses etc. One of the fridges was smelly so I wouldn't recommend using it. And the bar fridge in the room wasn't that cold, so you may want to take an esky with ice for drinks etc. Nice spot overall and a good value. Staff can be a bit hard to get on the phone so I would recommend you ring their mobile phone.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 8 which was great! but you might prefer a room closer to the River Esp end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed there over Easter weekend, and for the price, we weren't expecting anything flash, or good, but we were pleasantly surprised. Whilst basic, the rooms were very modern, very clean, and well maintained. The location was superb for Mooloolaba, and the staff were very friendly as well which was a nice touch. The only thing I can criticise about the place is the pillows were like bricks, but if you have your own pillows, this isn't an issue. Overall was very impressed considering the price was nice and cheap. Would highly recommend it if you are travelling on a budget.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam-From-Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

just got home late yesterday after spending 4 nights in this motel .We usually stay in high rise apartments , but are sick of the constant banging of doors and the lifts .this motel was lovely and quiet and no traffic noises we stayed in room 10 which was in the middleMotel is in a .great location one minute walk to the bowls club for great meals at fantastic prices 2 min walk to macca ,subway etc ,coles petrol station cpl doors down for cheap milk etc ,2min walk to river, did a spot of fishing , 5 min walk to ocean and board walk and shops... river cruise and underwater aquarium 4 mins walk. and bus stop at door of motel.Rooms spotless .The couple that run the place were friendly and most helpfull in all aspects of our stay ..highly recommend this place .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carole b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Booked budget motel last minute for 1 night but stayed 2. Great value for comfortable queen bed with mini frig and good shower. So peaceful and quiet and walking distance to Surf Club and other restaurants. Air conditioned and would definitely stay again. Also has a pool. Note: Bring soap with you as no toiletries and unless you like International Roast coffee bring coffee sachets with you and milk. Manager very nice and helpful.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank wombat05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed over for a couple of nights while my boyfriend was working nights. Was a very comfortable room, nice comfy bed, good TV, clean bathroom with lovely shower and mini fridge. You can park outside your room and it was nice and quiet in the evenings and mornings. I felt save staying there all night on my own which isn't the case at some Motels.

The location is great, just a very short walk from the beach and shops and the underwater world. Staff seemed friendly although I didn't really speak to them much.

Would defo stay there again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Luisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Rooms were clean spacious and comfortable. This motel has a great location is near the beach, and restaurants along the esplanade. Free parking right next to the room was very appreciated. Owners were nice and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank allie848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.5 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#8 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
#15 of 15 in Mooloolaba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#3 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Pines Motel
Twin Pines Motel
#10 of 15 in Mooloolaba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mooloolaba Motel
Mooloolaba Motel
#14 of 15 in Mooloolaba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Esplanade Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Esplanade Motel

Property: River Esplanade Motel
Address: 98 River Esp, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — River Esplanade Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Esplanade Motel is a family-owned motel run by the Thompson family for almost 20 years. We specialize in quality accommodation at an affordable price. We are located in beautiful Mooloolaba which is only 1 hour north of Brisbane and are only 400m to the world famous Mooloolaba Beach making us a perfect destination for families, tourists and business travellers. We have 20 motel rooms and a 3 Bedroom Apartment, Outdoor swimming pool, shared kitchen facilities all set in amongst beautiful gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Esplanade Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing