We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Holiday!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Peninsular Beachfront Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2011

What a fabulous 2 weeks we had at the Peninsular in Mooloolaba!! The location is perfect, cafes, beaches, clubs & shopping all at your doorstep. The accomodation has the most amazing views and the staff are exceptional and help with anything you want. The rooms are comfortable and the facilities the best on the strip with the Tennis Court, Pool, Spa & Garden BBQ areas. We have stayed at most Mooloolaba Esplanade apartments and without a doubt this would be the best by far for loacation and facilities.

Room Tip: Higher floors hae unbelievable views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vivienne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2011

My issues are as follows.
I booked a 2 bedroom apartment on the 7th floor with full ocean views to the front. I requested a higher level apartment to take advantage of the view. The views are good and the position of the block is also good.

I asked for each room to be made up with a double bed and this was done. The sheets were nice and clean and I believe that there were no issues with the master bedroom and ensuite which was used by the other couple in our party. The lobby area and pool areas were clean, modern and quite nice. But I wasnt spendng 5 nights in the lobby or pool area so that was the extent of my satisfaction with the place.

The kitchen bench had not been properly cleaned and the rangehood was greasy and quite filthy and didnt seem to work. The kitchen utensils and crockery items were of a poor standard and gave the appearance of having been placed there because they were oddments or not wanted in the owners own home. Noting was matching and and there were no steak knives which was inconvenient.

The ironing board did not have a proper cover on it so if you didnt put a towel on it prior to ironing, the diagonal imprint from the metal base would transfer onto your clothing during the ironing process.

The BBQ's adjacent to the pool area were dirty and not fully roofed so you could not BBQ when it was raining. The balcony furniture was faded, old and cheap.

The main issue was with the second bedroom. There were no bedside tables. There was just one narrow high tallboy so you could not place any of your personal items on it (book, phone, water, earphones, reading glasses and radio or ipod etc) and actually get to them when you were in bed which is inconvenient if you are staying for a week. My husband used two pillows on the floor for his bedside table. The reason this seemed to be set up in this way was that the owner of the apartment had locked one side of the wardrobe in the second bedroom so that they could keep their own personal items there when they were using the apartment. As I was paying for the use of the apartment I expected to be given full use of all its facilities given the high price that we were paying.

The second bedroom is already small so when the two single beds were made up into a double bed, the bedspreads had been rolled up and placed on the floor of the wardrobe. There is nowhere else that they could have put them as there is no other storage cupboard in the entire apartment. Given that only one of the two wardobes were available for us to use in that room, placing the bedspeads out of the way on the floor of the wardrobe meant that we had nowhere to put our shoes or suitcases. Because the owner of the apartment had locked one of the cupboards, we were effectively left with just one eighth of the available wardrobe space in that room which is not enough for two adults for one week. There were not enough hangers in the wardrobe. The likely reason they had to have a tallboy and no bedside tables is that the side of the wardrobe that they had chosen to lock off probably had drawers in it and so they would have still needed to somehow provide the paying guests with drawers thus they put a tallboy in the room which left no room for bedside tables as well. If they unlocked the second wardrobe in the room as they should, then there would be no need for a tallboy and then bedside tables could be placed in the room instead.

The set up of the second bedrrom was a shambles and it is simply not worth booking a two bedroom apartment if you have anything other than 2 small children who have no practical or comfort needs and wouldnt notice or be inconveneinced.

The owners of the apartment should keep their personal items elsewhere, not in the unit that they want to rent out to paying guests. There is no TV in the second bedroom but there was one in the master bedroom.

As all of the apartments are privately owned, there are no set standards for each apartment so you dont really know what you are getting with each apartment at the time that you book.

The windows didnt open in the second bedroom so it was very stuffy and there was no fresh air available in that room. There was a dead moth on the windowsill and some cobwebs hanging from the ceiling of the second bedroom. There is no air con in the bedroooms, only in the loungerrom. There was a film of grey dust around the edges of the second bedroom where it has built up and has not been properly vacuumed.

There were small brown coloured splash marks of an unknown origin on the tiles around the toilet that had not been removed prior to our arrival. The blinds in the second bedroom did not work properly and were an absolute pain to pull up or down, so it was best to leave them in one position all the time. If you pulled them up then you got a face full of dust as they had not been dusted in a very long time.

The worst thing was the glass door on the second bedroom. It did not have a proper door on it. The door looked as though it had been taken from a 1950's home that was being demolished and brought into the apartment to replace a normal door that may have been damaged. Although it was opaque it gave us virtually no privacy when changing and it also let a lot of light and noise in from the loungeroom if the tv was on.

Since the apartment was leased as having 2 bedrooms, it is quite obvious that 2 separate couples might want to rent it. The design of the main bathrom was such that if you were in the main bathroom and your partner opened the door to also come in, then everyone else could see you due to the mirror on the wall reflecting the entire image from the bathroom into the kitchen and living area. It was not a good setup if two couples want to rent the apartment and are trying to live in it for a week.

The Landmark is better complex as we have stayed there before and we are booked in at the Mantra in August so we hope that it will be better than the Peninsular. I would not return to the Peninsular at the current price. I would only consider it at a heavily reduced price and even then it is still not suitable for two couples. It is only suitable for one couple. I feel that the price you pay is directly proportional to what you should expect. At 160 dollars a night it would have been acceptable, but not at 250 dollars per night or more. Its just not worth it. You can do much better. In this economic climate and the fact that the entire area was devoid of tourists at the time we were there, these types of "tired" apartments need to lift their game or lower their prices.

We paid an additional cost for a "rennovated / upgraded apartment". Frankly I'd hate to see the ones that weren't rennovated. Even the price of the "standard" apartments should have at least had the minimal standard that the so called "upgraded" apartments had. The website says that upgraded apartments have had 70,000 dollars worth or rennovations done on them. Don't expect to see 70 000 dollars worht of upgrades. The furniture and decor in our "upgraded" apartment looked very cheap and dated. The lounge was of inferior quality, cheap, sloppy and uncomfotable. We were told that the differences in decor, furniture and fittings was due to the fact that the apartments are all individually owned so the owner decides what to put in them, colours and standards etc which is in my opionin not a very good situation as you can end up with anything and there is no set standard. One set of guests may get lucky and another may not when both sets of guests have both paid the same amount for their apartment. Not a satisfactory arrangement at all. I felt as though our apartment had been stocked with cast offs from the owners own home whenever they decided to replace an item of their own futnirute or crokerty etc. I felt a fair bit ripped off actually. From my understanding, there are no uniform standards in this block from the furniture to the fittings, kitchen items, decor, t.vs, fixtures, basically, the lot. Being assigned an apartment is a lottery if you are not a return guest and you have not requested a particular apartment number.

It was nothing to do with the complex but be aware that street sweepers and trucks enter the side road adjacent to this hotel reguarly at 3am and 4am which did nothing for the "holiday" experience as all of us had our sleep disturbed but my husband told me that this is normal as they need to get into the street when there are no cars parked.

Admittedly we should have said something to the management at the time that we experienced these issues and we should have given them the opportunity to rectify them but we did not mention these problems until the end of the 5 days when we were checking out. I was assured that they would have done something to reccitfy some of the issues but frankly I couldnt really see how most of the issues I had could have been rectified anyway.

We travel extensively as we are retired and we have stayed in mcuh better apartments at other popular beach side destinations in australia and queensland for much less cost.

When these types of apartments get old and tired, the price needs to be adjusted to reflect their current condition so as to avoid disapointment and poor customer reviews.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
10  Thank holidaycommentator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

My colleagues and I stayed here as an add on to a business trip and had a lovely stay.
Fantastic location and in my opinion top class service.
One of my favourite beaches. Im a convert from my usual stays in Noosa

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isobellatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

3rd time staying in this resort, and still can not fault a thing. Have stayed in the 3 bdroom penthouse and the 2 bedroom delux- both are amazing. Best location on the coast. Will continue to stay at this resort

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ka7i3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We stayed at Peninsular for a week at the end of October with my family and my boyfriends family. We initially chose it because of the many reviews stating how spacious it is, and with my Dad in a wheelchair most of the time, space was something we definitely needed! We booked two three bedroom apartments, one executive (for my family, who really needed a holiday) and one standard for my boyfriends family, who brought their toddler with them. Both of the apartments were massive, spotless, and had spectacular ocean views. Both apartments were absolutely beautiful, both had ensuites, full kitchen and laundry facilities, everything we needed!
Best of all was definitely the location, just a few metres to restraunts and shops, and only across the road from Mooloolaba beach. The undercover parking was very easy to negotiate, and we even managed to get a third spot, which we weren't expecting!
The only negative aspect of the holiday was the knowledge of the reception staff, we asked once about where the nearest bus terminal was, and once about markets in the area, and staff had absolutely no idea about either. Not a big deal, but we thought they were pretty basic questions. I'd suggest that if you want to plan activities in the area you organise them before you go, or head to one of the tourist information places.
We all agreed that it was the perfect spot for a family holiday, and we'll definitely return to Peninsular, we wouldn't even bother looking at any of the other accommodation options.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megstar83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

My husband and 1 year old son stayed at the Peninsular Beach Resort and booked a 2 bedroom executive apartment with ocean views. We have stayed in alot of places and were very disappointed with our apartment. The hotel website boasted that the executive apartments had recently been refurbished with $70K worth of renovations. Although the bathrooms were new and there was a new TV and DVD, the rest of the apartment was tired and in need of renovation, i.e. some windows not locking properly, the hot water tank cupboard didn't shut, bathroom door not locking properly, very cheap furniture, cracks on wall and wardrobe, outside air con unit all rusty and falling apart etc. It certainly wasn't what was represented on the hotel's website in their photo gallery and I think given our apartment wasn't ready when we arrived, the staff may have given us a standard apartment.

On arrival to the resort's underground car park, reception welcomed us and buzzed us in. However only once we had parked and taken the lift up to reception were we told that our room wouldn't be ready for another hour as the people in the room before us hadn't checked out yet and the room hadn't been cleaned. Not ideal particularly when you have a small toddler.

The hotel is in an excellent location right on the esplanade so very close to the shops, restaurants and beach. There is noise at night which can be heard on the hotel's lower floors particularly on a weekend, however you expect that when you stay in a hotel overlooking the esplanade. The ocean view from our room balcony was lovely. The pool and spa area was also good and fairly new. On checking out, there was a gentleman in front of us also checking out who obviously was not happy with his apartment either and made it very clear that he would not be staying there again! Neither will we. We would prefer to stay at one of the newer places (i.e. Mantras) a few doors up for the same if not lower price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loucox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We had a very nice apartment, but unfortunately as it was on the 2nd level, we experienced a great deal of noise from the street below. We were woken up around 4.30 every morning by staff in the cafe below who were setting up tables and chairs and on 2 mornings were woken up by someone using machinery on the Esplanade to blow leaves and rubbish away. Needless to say, we did not get a lot of sleep in the week we stayed. Even though the apartment was quite spacious and had obviously been refurbished, and is in an excellent location, I would not stay again unless we could get an apartment much higher.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebbieB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.2 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#4 of 16 in Mooloolaba
376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coco Mooloolaba Apartments
Coco Mooloolaba Apartments
#7 of 16 in Mooloolaba
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#9 of 16 in Mooloolaba
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Sirocco
Mantra Sirocco
#1 of 16 in Mooloolaba
612 reviews
0.4 mi away
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
#5 of 16 in Mooloolaba
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsular Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsular Beachfront Resort

Address: Peninsular Apts 13 Mooloolaba Esp, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Mooloolaba
Price Range: £122 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peninsular Beachfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peninsular Beachfront Resort is an award winning Mooloolaba accommodation with 65 fully self-contained 1, 2, and 3 bedroom apartments and penthouses all overlooking beautiful Mooloolaba Beach and Bay. These Mooloolaba holiday apartments are large and modern and all have stunning views and in room broadband internet access. The resort features include four onsite restaurants, hairdresser, beautician, jeweller and a range of fantastic boutiques. The Peninsular also has a gas-heated pool, spa, sauna, 3 large covered BBQ areas, gymnasium and full-size floodlit tennis court. Peninsular Beachfront Resort is right in the cosmopolitan heart of Mooloolaba within a short walk to all boutiques, al fresco restaurants, bars, tours and attractions. Just as important, the world famous Mooloolaba Beach is barely 25 paces from the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peninsular Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsular Beachfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing