We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the setting, not the food”

Trinity Beach Tavern
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go for the setting, not the food”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We are locals so come here occasionally, generally for a drink. It's a good spot for this, especially if you get a seat on the balcony overlooking the esplanade. However, food is ordinary. We recently had the lamb shanks and Trinity chicken - both were under-par; shanks were tasteless, chicken sounded great but in reality was a mash of flavours which didn't work together. Vegetables on the side were disappointing - over-cooked and grey. Meals are also expensive - suggest come here for a drink but dine locally elsewhere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    256
    117
    41
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sierra
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Pub”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Nice place to drop in for a beer. The second floor patio overlooking the beach is a nice touch. There is a large restaurant and gaming room adjacent to the pub too. Glad they are separated though!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns Region, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good for kids”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Out of all the restaurants my 9 year old son could choose he picked Trinity Beach Tavern for his birthday dinner.
The kids enjoyed playing on the computer games and being able to interact with other kids.
The meal prices for kids are fantastic - $6 meals with the purchase of an adult meal. It includes a drink & ice cream as well, so the kids certainly don't go home hungry.
I ordered the lamb shoulder, and it was beautiful and tender. It was also good value for money and certainly filling.
It can be a little noisy particularly on the balcony so we chose to eat inside.
They had a soloist playing which added to the atmosphere.
The staff were friendly and also organised for sparklers to come out with my son's dessert so we could sing 'happy birthday'.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LLTDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinity Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great view but......”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The view is great so dine outside if you can. It is advisable to book ahead and ask for an outside table.
Parking is limited, they do offer a free shuttle bus which I would recommend using instead of driving.
Depending on what's on the menu - the majority is (like another review said) unappealing and disappointing.
Kids used to eat free and they would get a free icecream and drink with a paying adult. Kids are no longer able to eat free. Also the free drink that they get with their meal is either a soft drink or water. Our family does not drink soft drinks and water is free anyway. When asked if the kids could have a juice instead we were told that we had to pay extra pffft!!!!!! was our reply.
As for alcoholic drinks well that is hit and miss it all depends on whether they have rostered on staff that know the difference between a Gin with lemonade and a Bloody Mary.
Rather over priced food and drink for what you actually get.
Would I go again yeah probably if someone else paid and if I could find a baby sitter.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 06magoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballan
Level Contributor
171 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Excellent service and value”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The staff here were really friendly and helpful.
Our meals were really nice (sorry no photos this time!) The kids meals are only $3 and include a drink and dessert, when buying an adult meal.
I really enjoyed our meal here and the kids enjoyed the play area which had x box's (I think). They even had a clown making balloon animals which was great for the younger kids.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beckinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trinity Beach Tavern also viewed

Trinity Beach, Cairns Region
 
Trinity Beach, Cairns Region
 
Trinity Beach, Cairns Region
Trinity Beach, Cairns Region
 

Been to Trinity Beach Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing