We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“top aparment,top service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marlin Cove Holiday Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trinity Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“top aparment,top service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

After numerous trips to cairns and surronds, we're glad to announce we would stay here again. The staff very friendly and helpfull, even returned to resort from a family gathering late on a sunday when our darling son locked us out. Pool great for whole family, resturant had colouring books pencils for kids at the table on arrival, food was awesome and we were given a generous voucher for the resturant as well, would of happily paid for that meal. Apartment well appointed, modern, cool and dry. Quite enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Youngfamof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Front Office Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Hi there,

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and decided to share your happy experiences with fellow travelers. We pride ourselves on our service here at Marlin Cove and are thrilled to hear your positive review of the resort.

Thank-you again

Stephanie Angel
Guest Services Manager
Marlin Cove Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    42
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
82
34
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

My family and I stayed at this resort over Christmas recently for two weeks and had a fantastic holiday. Our appartment was in a perfect spot within the resort with direct access to the pool and BBQ facilities. The pool was just beautiful, which had lots of shade due to large shadesails which was great for the kids. One end had a "beach" which was also fantastic for the kids both to play in the sand as well as being shallower for them to wade in the water. The appartments themselves were very roomy which was great for the four of us, which had everything you would need, including full kitchen and laundry. The only negative I would say is there was only the one airconditioner (there were fans in each room tho) and so it took a bit of getting used to with the heat. In saying that tho, I believe the appartment we stayed in was one of the few which hadn't yet been renovated, with many of the others having aircon in each of the rooms as well as other more modern fittings. Regardless, I thought the look and comfort of our appartment was great.
Staff were fantastic, and were able to help with anything we needed.
The location of the resort being at Trinity Beach was nice and quiet, only a short walks to the shops, and was close to public transport which could take you into Cairns, the larger shopping centres and Port Douglass.
I would defiantely recommend Marlin Cove Resort, particular for those with young families.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank family_fFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Front Office Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Hi there,

Thank you for your positive review of the resort, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us so much.
We have listened to guests needs regarding air conditioners and have now rolled out our new deluxe apartments - these include air conditioners in both bedrooms as well as the lounge rooms, brand new furniture and fittings, fans throughout, king size bedding and 32" flat screen TV's.
If you are back up this way, we'd love fo ryou to experience the new deluxe resort standard.

Cheers :-)
Stephanie Angel
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

My daughter and myself stayed here for a week beginning of January whilst we looked for permanent place of residence. The staff were always very friendly and helpful. The pool is lovely and location wise whilst not beach front, is still close walk beach and shops. We had a 1brm apartment and for the price it was great.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raef74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Front Office Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Hi there,

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us.
At Marlin Cove Resort, we pride ourselves on our service and are thrilled to hear your positive review of the resort.

Thank-you again

Stephanie Angel
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vic
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2010

For the price this was quite good. We got put into a 3 bed appartment as no 1 bed avail. Carpet was dated, second toilet constantly run, apart from that this was rather nice, not as well equiped as some but comfortable. Saw a baby kangroo pass through the grounds from our balcony so cool. The lap pool is in the shade so rather cold, the lagoon pool was great, just so nice. We were in the back units 419 so no internet reception. Its better to go to IGA for $4.00 better value. Reception closes at 5pm so hard lines if you have been out all day and need some thing. We arrived at 5.30am and paid for the full day, we were not flying out till 11.45pm and requested a late check out, not a problem we were told extra $25.00. However that was only till 2pm it was an extra $50.00 if we wanted later! I pointed out that we had paid for a day and night that we didnt realy get and a compromise should be met. Not a hope she would not bend, we paid the $25.00 and spent the time at the market in Cairns. 7 days no clean towels or room cleaned. No big deal about the towels as there is a washing machine, but every other appartment we have had, had some one come in and sweep or vac the floor etc., Still a good deal for Trinity Beach.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Front Office Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 7 February 2011
Hi there,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review on your stay. You're very lucky to have seen a baby kangaroo during your stay with us, they are adorable!

I apologize about any confusion with the towels / linen. Seeing as the units are fully self-contained and we try and keep them at what we believe to be a very reasonable price, housekeeping only attends to the units for stays of 8 days or longer. Daily housekeeping or mid-stay cleans can be requested prior to arrival, and daily rates are changed accordingly.

In regards to late check-ins and check-outs, we do try to be as accommodating as possible. However, for a check-out of approximately 10:00pm, we would be unable to re-let the room that night, therefore there is a higher charge than a check-out of 2:00pm. For any future stays, if we are notified early enough of a late arrival, we can try to reduce the price of that day accordingly.

Again, thank-you for taking the time to review our resort, I apologize for any miscommunication on our part and we hope to see you back here in the future!

Regards,

Stephanie Angel
Guest Services Manager
Marlin Cove Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

Very hard to fault this resort. It;s not five star - but you are paying 5 star either. It was everything we expected and more. For anyone wanting to be away from the hustle and bustle of Cairns itself and still be within a short drive/taxi fare from the airport it is ideal. Local bus into Cairns travels past resort and is a cheap and effective way of visiting the city for the day. All tours pick up from the resort and car hire is a 5 min walk away. Front desk staff (Steph) went out of her way to assist us with tour bookings and advise - even allowed us to check in early which we didn't expect to be able to do. The rooms are simple yet clean and plenty of room for 4 adults. Gym is very basic, however it is a beautiful location for a morning walk/run (not that we did any). Lagoon pool is in a fantastic setting and cleaned of leaf debris daily, BBQ's are within the pool grounds and we spent many hours in and around the pool. Trinity Beach itself is a wonderful spot with a nice beach and plenty of restaurants within walking distance. The Blue Moon Bar & Grill is a must visit as their meals are exceptional - a bit pricey but it is very high class quality food. The resort restaurant is only open Sat nights but it is well worth the visit as the food was great and the prices were pretty good too - host (Kerry) also went out of her way to make us feel welcome. 2 bedroom unit we had was well presented and had everything we needed, full size fridge, dishwasher, plenty of relaxation room and full kitchen. Local supermarket is a 10 min walk away and if you spend over $30 they will give you and your shopping a free ride home. In summary, it was everything we were hoping for and exceeded our expectations. WE WILL BE BACK.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neilandfiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Good Morning,

Thank you so much for your review of Marlin Cove Resort, we appreciate your comments.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

These are really spacious apartments. We had a 2 bedroom apartment. It was clean and comfortable and roomy with 2 bathrooms. The lagoon pool was superb. Our boys loved it. This is also a place where there appears to be some permanent residents staying also, which for me makes it lose some of its "holiday feel" . Location from Trinity Beach was about a 5 minute walk, where there are some restaurants and a tavern. not a huge selection, but ok for a few nights stay. Probably the only let down was a lack of a compendium and unwillingness by the lady at reception to actually supply one. We find it really helpful being able to read where to go, places to eat, where you put your rubbish, where the doctor is, how to work the tv, where to avoid being eaten by crocodiles etc etc. After asking twice and being told one would be sent over - I'm still waiting! Overall a good comfortable stay, but lacked the personal service we experienced in other places we stayed in the region.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CantabKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Good Morning,

Thank you for your honest review of Marlin Cove Resort, we appreciate the feedback.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

Our family recently stayed at the Marlin Cove Resort for 8 nights as part of our 2.5 week holiday in Cairns & Port Douglas. We had a 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom upstairs unit overlooking the beautiful lagoon swimming pool and couldn't have asked for more. We found the managers to be exceptionally friendly and helpful at all times ensuring our stay here was absolutely perfect.

The property is a short walk back from the beach in a quiet residential area (tip: walk along the path beside the lake for a pleasant shortcut to the Blue Moon Cafe and beach) and has plenty to occupy a family when staying put between days of sightseeing. There is a lovely tennis court, kiddie playground, lap pool & sauna and well as the large lagoon pool complete with white sandy beach and bbq areas.

Our immaculately clean apartment was well equipped with all the mod cons including a dishwasher, large fridge/freezer, full size oven & electric hob, washing machine & dryer. The furnishings in our unit and quite a few others have apparently been updated recently to comfortable leather couches, flat screen tv, dvd, air conditioning in both bedrooms and the living area. We also enjoyed a number of meals on the covered balcony overlooking the pool. A nice option to have in the middle of winter!

During our holiday we stayed at Clifton Beach (Palm Cove), Port Douglas and Trinity Beach and whilst it wasn't at all unpleasant, Trinity Beach was our least favourite destination. There isn't a heck of a lot to do here and the ambiance of this seaside suburb just didn't do it for us. I felt the development of the highrise properties on the Beach Rd is ugly and there must be some sentimental value as to why the scruffy coffee shop/restaurant on the corner hasn't been bowled over years ago. Must be their nice coffee? We did enjoy a fabulous evening at the Tavern which was very family friendly, cheap and had a great outlook over the ocean.

In summary, if you are looking for property which is excellent value for money (especially during the "high" season) and don't HAVE to be on the beachfront, then Marlin Cove Resort is a great option worth considering.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for your comments and feedback on Marlin Cove Resort. I have passed these along to the team here. Also, thank you for uploading so many photos of the Resort for the benefit of future travelers.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinity Beach
3.0 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
1.1 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#6 of 22 in Trinity Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beachfront Apartments on Trinity Beach
0.3 mi away
Bellevue at Trinity Beach
Bellevue at Trinity Beach
#1 of 22 in Trinity Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort
#5 of 22 in Trinity Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlin Cove Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Cove Holiday Resort

Property: Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Address: 2 Keem St, Trinity Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Trinity Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trinity Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlin Cove Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlin Cove Resort at Trinity Beach is nestled on the far north coast of Queensland. This unique Trinity Beach resort is located on the Northern Beaches of Cairns and only a few minutes' walk to the beautiful Trinity Beach, restaurants and shops. The resort offers a huge saltwater lagoon pool with sandy beach, lap pool, spa, sauna, four bbqs, full size tennis court, games room and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Marlin Cove Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Cove Holiday Hotel Trinity Beach
Marlin Cove Quest Hotel
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort Trinity Beach, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing