We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT ACCOMODATION AT AFFORDABLE PRICES”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trinity Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the Marlin Cove resort during the first week of August this year. Overall we spent 5 weeks in Australia at 4 different budget holiday accomodations,but voted this our number one! The 2 bedroom (and 2 bathroom!)Deluxe Apartment we stayed in was very clean, comfortable and finished to a high specification for the price. We had all the comforts of home - large fridge with freezer/ice maker, full sized cooker, dishwasher and even a washing machine and tumble dryer. My husband/son were also pleased to find a decent sized plasmaTV with satellite. Add to this the beautiful lagoon swimming pool in its rainforest setting that was just outside our back door, we felt we got very good value for our money.We assume that the MCR charges less for it's accomodation than the seafront places at Trinity Beach because it's a 5/10 minute walk to the front, but for those who are able to make a short stroll it's considerable saving.
We were also impressed by the reception staff who sorted out a tour for us, and were refreshingly honest when poor weather made a trip to the Barrier Reef impossible.
If we ever come to Trinity Beach again, we would have no hesitation in staying at the Marlin Cove, and would recommend it to anyone wanting quality accomodation at an affordable price.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs apartment near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2012

Good Morning,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Marlin Cove Resort. I have passed your comments onto the entire team, who I know will be as pleased as I am we were able to make your stay so enjoyable.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2011

The Marlin Cove facilities were clean, comfortable and well suited for our needs. They were exactly as described. The staff was exceptional and as helpful as we have found 5 star hotel staff to be. Any issues (wifi connection) were dealt with immediately and effectively. The tour descriptions and recommendations were spot on. The personal interest the staff took in ensuring our stay was fantastic, helped to make it just that. When we had unusual requests, the staff was very understanding and helped to resolve situations with other organizations (like the Sky ride).

We thank the Marlin Cove staff for ensuring our holiday was successful and ensuring that our needs were met. (Even ensuring, as requested that both of the bedrooms had double beds).

Room Tip: If you let them know in advance of any needs or wants, I think they will do their best to accomodate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

Hi Carol,

Thank-you so much for your positive review of the Resort, we loved having you guys staying here with us as well.

Congratulations again to your son!

Cheers :-)

Stephanie Angel
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed here for a few days booked on wotif. All self contained 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom and so beautiful - even better then the photo's. It seems as if the photo's may have been taken sometime ago, as the apartment we stayed in was very modern indeed.
Extremely clean on arrival, and Steph in reception is very friendly, even letting us checkin early, and helping us to find nearby attractions in our budget that would suit the kids.
Then when I had trouble with my internet Kerrie came to the rescue. You could not ask for more friendly helpful staff. The beds are the best I have slept in on this trip. Supremely comfortable and a quiet location.
The miss 11 and master 9 loved the pools which are great, and the trip to the patrolled beach is worth the walk. The trinity beach travern is a great if a little pricey option for lunch with a kids games room, and great space, tv's etc We had a car which helped.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leisuretravelonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2012

Good Morning,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of the Resort. We hope you had a fantastic time here with us and look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Marlin Cove resort is a fantastic resort to stay at. Amazing location and facilities that suit all types of travelers. The management staff is second to none as they will do anything they can to make your stay relaxing and peaceful for your time here. I believe the staff deserve a big pat on the back as having stayed and worked for five star resorts before I have no hesitation is saying that five star resorts can learn allot from the beautiful Marlin Cove Resort.

Big thanks to Steph, Kerry and Dereck and all employees fantastic resort and five star service keep it up!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scorpy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Front Office Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2011

Hi there,

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we really appreciate the time taken to leave the Resort a positive review.

Thank-you again
Stephanie Angel
Guest Services Manager
Marlin Cove Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Stayed here for a couple of nights with our two children. We thought this was a reasonable apartment complex for the money. The pool area looked nice but was a little cold for swimming. Our downstairs apartment was large a spacious kitchen and two bathrooms. Furniture was modern and appealing. Cleaning is sub-standard with lots of grit and dust inthe bathrooms, mostly behind the doors and around the edges of the floor. It's not something I usually worry about but it was noticeable and detracted from the general appearance. We didn't appreciate the gardners working outside our room at 7am, we wanted to breakfast alfresco but it was just too loud and intrusive. Surely they can wait a couple of hours before firing up the blower vac znd mulcher. Location is ok, need a car
if you want to travel outside of Trinity Beach. Would we stay here again? Probably not, lots of other options to choose from.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jpfree1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Front Office Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

Hi there,

My apologies that you didn't thoroughly enjoy your stay here with us.
I have passed your comments on to the gardening and housekeeping departments and can ensure this is definitely something we will look at in regards to our resort operations.
Is convenient, would you be able to contact me direct on reservations@marlincove.com.au and let me know which unit you stayed in and your dates of travel so we can track the issues that occurred during your stay?

Cheers :-)

Stephanie Angel
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed at this resort which had in some ways good intentions but where it is really impportant addressing the issue of cockroaches left that in the bag. I met up with our guest roach in the middle of the night. I reported it to front desk. She informed me that we were in a tropical forrest and that was the facts of life there. She then became very flippant and said it was propbably gone by then. After my insistance that something be done then said they would spray around fridge and undersink. No one ever came by. It was apparent that they must have had other issues of pests, bedbugs, because there was a sticker with no date of issue, on door of apartment stating we were to feel at ease because the mattresses were professionally sanitzed by a company. It is a shame because during our stay I noticed garden keepers were constantly visible working and upgrading the resort, The pool was beautiful and you felt safe in area, but would of liked more of a lock then a flimsy door handle lock. No in suite safe was also a minus and we had to lug valubles everywhere with us eg. passports, extra cash. Also except initial 4 rolls of toiet paper for family of 5 staying 8 nights and 2 packets of cleaning supplies we were to purchase suppliments from front desk. The front desk clerk was only too happy to book any reservations needed, and as you do not pay anymore then on flyers no problem,but they recievied fees for each booking I noticed, and had not one suggestion that did not cost money, in fact steered us away from attractions that had no monetary benifit to them. Not once did she mention the fantastic public beach down the road or money saving mall, a little ways on the highway to get food. I notice a lot of much better, cleaner accomodations closer to beach, all had stand by rates. She also wanted to put the Canadian amount of room charge on our card. That is a scam the hotels and bussinesses will do to aquire some extra money. They generally will charge more for on exchange rate then credit cards do. It is not a favor to you just an added tab on you bil for the convience of knowing what you will be charged at that moment. So unfortunately I have to say that the outside was beautiful but felt our room was filthy and service was self serving to the resort only. There were lots of vancancies in area in the high season of July.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acanadiangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerrylyn, Front Office Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Hi there,

We apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and hope it did not affect your view of Trinity Beach or the Cairns area.

To put your mind at ease, maintenance did pop into your unit the day the cockroach was reported and sprayed under the fridge, in the bathroom and cockroach baits were left under the fridge as well. We sincerely hope you did not experience another case of this during your stay.
In regards to the bed bug sticker, that is there to hopefully put your mind at ease that we sanitise each and every bed in the resort yearly in accordance with government regulation.
Due to the resort being a self catered apartment, we do only stock initial supplies of toilet paper, detergent etc. Our apologies that you felt this was insufficient, and I will definitely pass that issue along to management.

We are very proud of our full tour desk that we offer at reception, and I apologise, but we do not charge fees for any booking. The rate that is offered by the tour company is the rate that we charge, and where specials are available, we do offer those as well.

My apologies that you did not feel we mentioned enough free of charge activities, and that may have been an oversight on my part, however when discussing Cairns tours we generally look at the most popular tours of the area e.g. Great Barrier Reef, Kuranda, Daintree and Wildlife Spotting etc. to ensure you get to see the most of the region and enjoy your time here with us as much as possible.

In regards to offering to put the charge through in Canadian dollars, that is simply a service that is offered through our EFTPOS terminal, as many guests feel more comfortable knowing they are paying in their home currency, and that they won't be charged a fee when they get home. This is no way a scam and we acquire no extra money from doing this service for you.

Again, our apologies you did not enjoy your stay with us, and hope this did not affect your view of the area.

Regards,
Stephanie Angel
Guest Services Manager
Marlin Cove Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

If your heading to Cairns to seek out the Great Barrier Reef then go 15 minutes out of Cairns and stay at Marlin Cove Resort just 10 mins from the fabulous Trinity Beach and be in the safe hands of manager Stephanie and just chill and enjoy excellent service and exceptional amenities.

My daughter and I did not have a car but still wanted to be close enough to Cairns to visit for excursions but not to stay as personally Cairns is really for a night only whilst doing the reef.

Marlin Cove is an easy 15 minutes taxi/pick up from the airport but has a great location. The apartments are extremley well kitted out, superbly clean and has everything you want.

The one downside if you don't have a car is shopping for provisions as although there is a small set of shops for immediate needs including pharmacy, butcher, baker and supermarket (with a very small 's') it is sparse and overpriced. However my daughter did an online shop and hey presto it was delivered to us from the bigger multi Aussie Coles supermarket without any problem.

The resort has a large lagoon pool, tennis courts, a gym (although bet small) and all set amongst rain forest and beautifully manicured gardens.

Stephanie can arrange airport transfers although for us this was a disaster but not the fault of Strphanie but Sun Palm transfers whom Stef had organised our service through who have the monopoly at the airport and who are rude and totally unhelpful. Luckily a phone call to Stef sorted us by her arranging a taxi for us at her expense. She did not let us down but beware of Palm transfers!

The resort has wifi although this is a purchase separately for a few dollars per few hours depending on your needs.

Tours and excursions can be booked through Stef and picked up from your door.

Ther is a regular very reliable local bus service into Cairns for an 8 dollar return fare. Takes about an hour but easy and pleasant journey and you get off the main roads to see the local area.

We did a trip to Grren Island which was simply paradise. The weather overall during our stay was not kind but it was still warm and was unusual for the region.

I would no hesitate in recommending Stephanie and her lovely resort and the beautiful Trinity Beach which is huge and delicious and the whole place suited for young and old alike with or without car but if you do get a car then this area to explore is your oyster.

A round of applause for Stephanie and her marlin Cove Resort!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rosietj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Front Office Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

Hi there,

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you back here one day

Cheers :-)

Stephanie Angel
Guest Services Manager
Marlin Cove Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinity Beach
1 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,166 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#6 of 8 in Palm Cove
1,389 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Paradise Palms
Paradise Palms
#2 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
206 reviews
3.4 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
2.9 mi away
Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlin Cove Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Cove Holiday Resort

Address: 2 Keem St, Trinity Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Trinity Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trinity Beach
Price Range: £67 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marlin Cove Holiday Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlin Cove Resort at Trinity Beach is nestled on the far north coast of Queensland. This unique Trinity Beach resort is located on the Northern Beaches of Cairns and only a few minutes' walk to the beautiful Trinity Beach, restaurants and shops. The resort offers a huge saltwater lagoon pool with sandy beach, lap pool, spa, sauna, four bbqs, full size tennis court, games room and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marlin Cove Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Cove Holiday Hotel Trinity Beach
Marlin Cove Quest Hotel
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort Trinity Beach, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing