We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marlin Cove Holiday Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trinity Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Great service from Stephanie.
The apartments were clean and modern and had more than enough supplies of kitchen, laundry, bedroom and bathroom needs. Love the lagoon pool and close vicinity to the beach, cafés, restaurants.
A short 20minute drive to Cairns airport and Kuranda market village in the hills.
Looking forward to going back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hi Greg,

Thank-you so much for your lovely review of Marlin Cove Resort, and taking the time to share your views with the TripAdvisor community. I will ensure your positive comments are passed on to the rest of the team here.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    42
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
82
34
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at the Marlin Cove Holiday Resort for four nights. Our accommodation was a modern, well-furnished apartment overlooking the swimming pool. The apartment was comfortable with a modern kitchen, full fridge and electric stove. There was a small laundry in a cupboard. The bed was king-sized and very comfortable.
One niggle was the difficulty of connecting to their Wi-fi network. They quickly helped in setting in up but it rarely worked over the few days. Another was the fact that some of their facilities were out of action. I was looking forward to their lap pool but it was being repaired and the sauna was also not working.
Trinity Beach is small but has many lovely restaurants and the beach is beautiful. We enjoyed eating at the hotel and overlooking the beach from their balcony. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our first floor apartment with its views of the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank di j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Public Relations Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Good Morning,

On behalf of the team here at Marlin Cove Resort, we wish to thank you for your positive review and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

We apologise the lap pool was out of commission during your stay due to upgrades, however we have had no reported faults on the sauna or Wi-Fi connection. If you could please contact us directly regarding these two issues, I'll ensure the maintenance team looks into it.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tassie
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Very clean & nicely furnished. Had a 1 bedroomed unit by the pool. This was a great location in the resort. Also the resort is really well located. Close to beach, restaurants and shops. Staff were helpful and pool area was lovely. Only negative is that pool towels weren't supplied and were requested not to use supplied towels and asked to go and hire one - only $2 but annoying. Very quiet location.

Room Tip: Get one near the lagoon pool - nice outlook. There is a patio/balcony with an outdoor setting, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCHarvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerrylyn, General Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Good Morning,

Thank-you for your lovely review of Marlin Cove Resort, we're glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. Just to quickly clear up any confusion - you are more than welcome to use your room towels by the pool and beach. We simply offer separate pool towels if required so guests may leave their room towels in the apartment, ensuring they have dry and 'non-sandy' towels to come back to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Awesome pool, great for kids and adults!
Well maintained resort, great clean apartment, friendly and helpful staff at reception. Good location, short stroll to restaurants and beach.
Loved our stay there, very enjoyable!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DZerndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Good Morning,

Thank-you for taking the time to share your positive comments with the TripAdvisor community, and we look forward to seeing you back at Marlin Cove Resort in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

My wife and self have just returned from 2 weeks at Marlin Cove resort.16th to 30th June We had a great holiday there.We are both retired early sixties and like peace and quite.but like to be active as well.The weather was pristine perfect most days 26 degrees never faltered The accommodation was great.We were given a 2 bedroom apartment even though we only paid for a one bed.For the price we paid through Groupon i would not complain about anything as i think we would be a bit cheeky if we did.We have previously stayed at Accommodation similar a few years back in Palm Cove which was not up to Marlin Coves standard even though it was twice the price.I firmly beleive in looking at things with an open mind and did my research on this property.I did not expect it to be on the beach (it was too cool and breezy on beachfront properties at night) and i did not expect new accommodation.The rooms were spacious had everything you could want for self catering.There were a couple of minor housekeeping issues (but so what).We booked hoping to avoid all school holidays but forgot about the queensland ones our last week there.There were a few kids but they were just kids and well behaved.Nothing was more than 10 minutes walk; the beach and restaurants plus in the other direction convenience store and a few other eateries.In all there would have been about a dozen eateries on the beach & in the small shopping centre area.We ate at 4 only.The Pizzaplace in the shopping centre was great and cheap but at the other end of the scale the Blue Moon Grill was fantastic and worth every cent for service and food quality.We hired a car for a few odd days and it is a great location for touring.We liked the quite location of Trinity Beach and we particularly liked the staff as well.Stephanie at reception and her mum Kerry?.Always pleasant and nothing too much trouble>Forgot to mention the great lagoon pool with the sand
Norm & Jenny K South Australia

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are our preference for a bit more privacy but with kids this may not be practical
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank norman k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Good Morning,

On behalf of all the team here at Marlin Cove Resort, we wish to thank you for your positive review, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We got a great deal and on the whole enjoyed our stay. A little disappointed we couldn't even see the beach from our apartment let alone walk to it easily. The resort amenities and gardens are well looked after ( two pools, tennis club etc ) and the gardens are beautiful. Stephanie, the receptionist, was very helpful and knowledgeable about tours and was able to book our cruise to Green Island for us - she is an asset to the place - she acted very quickly when we said that the apartment wasn't clean, that bedside lights were flickering, wine glasses were dirty or cracked and that one smoke alarm was missing parts - but these things should be checked before new guests check-in. We understand that it is in the tropics and so exteriors get a bit mouldy, but the steps to the apartment were very dirty with dead flowers, leaves that made them a bit slippery, and there were dead insects near the front door that had obviously been there some time and should have been swept before we arrived. One of the reasons we picked this place was that it offered WIFI at a reasonable rate but once we had paid our A$12 for 12 hours - spread over 4 days - we found only one of us could log in at a time. Steph fixed this by giving us two passwords - which worked fine - keep this in mind if you are a family with several tablets/smartphones/laptops between you. The resort is quite a way out of Cairns but we knew that when we booked it and found it an easy drive and made getting to Port Douglas and Mossman Gorge and the Skytrain very easy. The washing machine worked well and as there was a large clothes airer we didn't need to use the drier. Sliding doors ( with locking insect screens) positioned to allow a through draft combined with ceiling fans meant we didn't need the air conditioners. But we would have been grateful for them in summer. Except for one night when there was a bit of a party, it was lovely and quiet. Parking was allocated near the apartment - just a carport and we were glad we didn't have a big four wheel drive vehicle - as the space was a bit tight. Small flat screen TV worked fine with Foxtel as well as free to air stations. We drove to Trinity Beach - about a five minute drive - and had an Italian meal one night, otherwise we cooked ourselves or bought take away from a shopping centre about ten minutes away which we heated in the microwave.

Room Tip: We booked a one bed apartment but were allocated a two bedroomed one upstairs. It was just one level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Memsahib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Public Relations Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Good Morning,

It is disappointing to note you did not enjoy your stay at Marlin Cove Resort. I have passed your comments on to the rest of the team here to address in the future, where possible.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed in May 2013. Me, hubby and two kids (age 12). We all loved this place, clean, comfy. Kids loved the games room and both pools. Rooms were spacious and kitchen was well equipped. Reception girls were great and booked a couple of tours for us. They were super friendly and really helpful with local info. Absolutely loved it here.

Room Tip: We got a 2 bedroom deluxe which had been refurbished. Really nice, balcony overlooking pool. Loved i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Public Relations Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Good Morning,

Thank-you so much for your positive comments of the Resort. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinity Beach
3.0 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
1.1 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#6 of 22 in Trinity Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beachfront Apartments on Trinity Beach
0.3 mi away
Bellevue at Trinity Beach
Bellevue at Trinity Beach
#1 of 22 in Trinity Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort
#5 of 22 in Trinity Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlin Cove Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Cove Holiday Resort

Property: Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Address: 2 Keem St, Trinity Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Trinity Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trinity Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlin Cove Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlin Cove Resort at Trinity Beach is nestled on the far north coast of Queensland. This unique Trinity Beach resort is located on the Northern Beaches of Cairns and only a few minutes' walk to the beautiful Trinity Beach, restaurants and shops. The resort offers a huge saltwater lagoon pool with sandy beach, lap pool, spa, sauna, four bbqs, full size tennis court, games room and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Marlin Cove Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Cove Holiday Hotel Trinity Beach
Marlin Cove Quest Hotel
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort Trinity Beach, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing