We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold and ugly room - Terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trinity Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cold and ugly room - Terrible service”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have been tricked by the ratings here.
First of all when we arrive nobody was here to welcome us. We've had to call them for them to let us know they put our key in a letterbox!!! Not even an email or phone call to warn us (we arrived at 4pm).

Then we realized the apartment had only one room instead of the 2 we've ordered. But the personnel wasn't available anymore and we had to sleep in a couch!!!
When we told them the day after, they realized their mistake but did not offer us to refund us. At the end, after negotiating with Expedia, I only got refund the difference between a "Deluxe" room and the thing we've had.

But the best was to come, A COLONY OF GREEN ANTS in one of the kitchen's drawer. Which was, as you can imagine, very well cleaned (sarcasm).

Ow! and don't forget to bring your own salt and pepper, they don't have any.
Ow! and unless you are a single 45 years old male, i really doubt anyone can enjoy the furniture and decoration. So cold...
And also Trinity Beach is extremely overrated.

In a month in Australia, this was my worst experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qlemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Hi qlemarie,

Thank-you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We hesitate to bring up the possibility, but we believe there may have been an error in which hotel the review has been posted to?

I've gone through all correspondence and bookings for the month of April (according to the stay dates you nominated on TripAdvisor), and two weeks either side just to be sure, however we haven't received any correspondence from either yourself or Expedia regarding any such booking errors.

Of course, if we have made the error then we do sincerely apologise, and regret we were not notified and therefore unable to remedy the issue immediately. If guests have booked a two bedroom apartment, and we have mistakenly accommodated them in a one bedroom apartment, we absolutely do not expect them to have to stay in the wrong room type and sleep on a couch. Regardless of whether our Reception Office is open or not, we do have staff available on-site 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, with a direct contact line to them available through the in-room phone system.

Also, I think it is important to note that at Marlin Cove Resort we never leave keys in a letterbox. If there is an after-hours check-in, we have a locked combination safe that is utilised, similar to many hotels and resorts that don't have a staffed 24 hour desk.

Lastly, please note if you have booked through an online booking agency, we do not necessarily have your contact details forwarded to us. If you know you are checking in outside the hotels opening hours, it is always best to contact them directly prior to your stay to confirm any after-hours procedures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    43
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
86
35
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Runaway Bay, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We had a lovely stay at Marlin Cove. Facilities are good. Two pools to choose from. Lagoon pool excellent with deep and shallow areas. Cleaned every morning with sand being racked etc. Two BBQ areas to choose from. Had the whole pool to ourselves on a couple of occasions. Reception very helpful in deciding on which excursions to do. Lots of gardens with wallabies coming to visit us for breakfast. And, yes, you do need a car.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Hi Cindy C,

Thank-you for taking the time to share your positive review of Marlin Cove Resort with the TripAdvisor community. We are very proud of the wildlife that reside within the grounds, and are so pleased you were able to enjoy them during your stay here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We realized in retrospect that we should have rented a car out of Cairns airport as public transport around Trinity Beach is very limited. A trip to Port Douglas was prolonged by numerous detours to pick up and drop people off and a great waste of time. Apart from this nuisance we found the location delightful and quite convenient to several good restaurants and a food/wine outlet! Our apartment was first class and extremely well equipped. Reception staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbuDhabiGeorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Front Office Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Hi AbuDhabiGeorges,

Thank-you for taking the time to share your recommendations with the TripAdvisor community. Depending on your personal circumstances and preferences, as well as your itinerary, we agree it can sometimes be beneficial to hire a car while staying at the Northern Beaches.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed with our 2 kids for christmas and new year and had a great time at marlin cove holiday resort. The pool area is amazing for kids, with your own sandy "beach". The area is cleaned every morning. The 2 bedroom apartment is spacious, two good sized bathrooms and modern and well-equiped kitchen. Overall good service, called reception to get an item for the kitchen and had it delivered within 15 minutes. Two areas for improvement is the cleaning, was not "hotel clean" on arrival, hair in the bathroom and dust in the living room. Also quite a lot of leaves etc from the flowers and trees lying around on the path leading up to the apartments. Overall a great place that i would recommend to families with kids!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AussieSwede79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Public Relations Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Hi Henrik,

Glad to hear you had such a fantastic stay with us at Marlin Cove Resort. I have passed your comments regarding cleaning on to our housekeeping staff to address immediately. Thank-you for bringing them to our attention.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Sitting on the balcony next to a rainforest. Watching a family of wallabies on the lawn below. Waking to the sounds of the forest birds and gekkos. strolling through the tropical gardens to the Bail pool. Just 2 blocks to a magnificent beach. Great restaurentsand a shopping centre all within walking Distance. Recently renovated clean and comfortable units. A touch of peaceful paradise and the perfect place to recharge the batteries

Room Tip: Choose a unit at the back away from the pool if you want it peaceful:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hi Colin H,

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Marlin Cove Resort so much. The wildlife found around the Resort is a particular point of pride for us, and we love our wallabies making daily appearances. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Great service from Stephanie.
The apartments were clean and modern and had more than enough supplies of kitchen, laundry, bedroom and bathroom needs. Love the lagoon pool and close vicinity to the beach, cafés, restaurants.
A short 20minute drive to Cairns airport and Kuranda market village in the hills.
Looking forward to going back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hi Greg,

Thank-you so much for your lovely review of Marlin Cove Resort, and taking the time to share your views with the TripAdvisor community. I will ensure your positive comments are passed on to the rest of the team here.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at the Marlin Cove Holiday Resort for four nights. Our accommodation was a modern, well-furnished apartment overlooking the swimming pool. The apartment was comfortable with a modern kitchen, full fridge and electric stove. There was a small laundry in a cupboard. The bed was king-sized and very comfortable.
One niggle was the difficulty of connecting to their Wi-fi network. They quickly helped in setting in up but it rarely worked over the few days. Another was the fact that some of their facilities were out of action. I was looking forward to their lap pool but it was being repaired and the sauna was also not working.
Trinity Beach is small but has many lovely restaurants and the beach is beautiful. We enjoyed eating at the hotel and overlooking the beach from their balcony. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our first floor apartment with its views of the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank di j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Public Relations Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Good Morning,

On behalf of the team here at Marlin Cove Resort, we wish to thank you for your positive review and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

We apologise the lap pool was out of commission during your stay due to upgrades, however we have had no reported faults on the sauna or Wi-Fi connection. If you could please contact us directly regarding these two issues, I'll ensure the maintenance team looks into it.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinity Beach
1.0 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,110 reviews
3.1 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
9.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#6 of 21 in Trinity Beach
419 reviews
3.4 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
0.3 mi away
Beachfront Apartments on Trinity Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlin Cove Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Cove Holiday Resort

Property: Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Address: 2 Keem St, Trinity Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Trinity Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trinity Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlin Cove Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlin Cove Resort at Trinity Beach is nestled on the far north coast of Queensland. This unique Trinity Beach resort is located on the Northern Beaches of Cairns and only a few minutes' walk to the beautiful Trinity Beach, restaurants and shops. The resort offers a huge saltwater lagoon pool with sandy beach, lap pool, spa, sauna, four bbqs, full size tennis court, games room and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Marlin Cove Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Cove Holiday Hotel Trinity Beach
Marlin Cove Quest Hotel
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort Trinity Beach, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing