We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Nearby Hotels
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa(Kewarra Beach)(Great Value!)
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Palms(Kewarra Beach)(Great Value!)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Half Moon Bay Resort(Yorkeys Knob)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Marine(Yorkeys Knob)(Great Value!)
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore(Palm Cove)(Great Value!)
US$358
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra Amphora(Palm Cove)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sarayi Boutique Hotel(Palm Cove)(Great Value!)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$282
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove(Palm Cove)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
110
49
14
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
49
14
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslagoon poolfive minute walk to the beachsand beachfree form pooltwo bedroom apartmentthe kitchenprevious guestsice makerlate checkclose walka nice place to stayspent nights herewashing machineapartment was greatrental carrelaxing holidayport douglas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have just returned from our holiday and stayed at Marlin Cove. What a fantastic place. Our apartment was large, clean and spacious and perfect for the 4 of us. Our room was near the lagoon pool so perfect for us. We loved it and hope to be back very soon!
Nick and Amy

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littletinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hi Nick and Amy,
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us at Marlin Cove Resort. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Kind Regards,
Stephanie Hughes
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have enjoyed a break for a week at Easter for the last three years at Marlin Cove Resort. This resort has it all with a lagoon pool complete with a sand beach and spa, a lap pool, boardwalks, tennis court, BBQ areas and a rainforest. The grounds and gardens are magnificent, are well maintained, and are being continually upgraded. Marlin Cove Resort is unique in that you can just relax and wind down without having to go anywhere, or as we have also found, it is well located for day trips to Port Douglas, Daintree, Sky Rail, Kuranda, Barrron Falls, Mareeba, The Tablelands, Cairns and the reef, to name but a few. It is only a five minute walk to Cairns' favourite beach, the shops or the various restaurants on the esplanade. The resort is a credit to the management and staff who are very welcoming and friendly, and only too happy to provide advise on the various day trips and tourist attractions, most of which you can book at reception.

Room Tip: We always request unit 208 - a fully refurbished, first floor, two bedroom unit with a balcony overlooking the lagoon pool.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Tamara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hi Tamara G,
Sincere thanks from the entire team here at Marlin Cove Resort for taking the time to post your review, and to share your experiences with the TripAdvisor community. We are so pleased to hear you had such a fantastic stay here with us, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Kind Regards,
Stephanie Hughes
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I travelled to Cairns for Uni. All I needed was a place to stay, close to amenities while I was there, and that is exactly what I got. It was reasonably priced for that purpose. However, the room was a little out dated, and could have used a refresh. The managers were also friendly and helpful. I would recommend it to most other students, but I probably wouldn't stay there if I was on a real holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank corgan00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hi corgan00,
Thank-you for taking the time to share your experiences of Marlin Cove Resort with the TripAdvisor community. If I'm not mistaken, most guests staying with us from the University book our 3.5* Budget apartments. These units have been developed specifically for budget-conscious travellers, who require a home-base with all the facilities and conveniences of home, but without paying 4-star Resort prices. If you are back in the area at any stage, we'd love to welcome you back to one of our 4* Superior Holiday Apartments - I believe these would suit your holiday stay perfectly.
Kind Regards,
Stephanie Hughes
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed for a week at this great resort and couldn't find fault with anything. We were lucky enough to be placed in an apartment overlooking the pool and the view was amazing. The rooms were spotless, comfortable and well layed out. The staff were very friendly and helpful and credit must go to the grounds staff for keeping the pool and beautiful gardens looking so immaculate. We would highly recommend Marlin Cove and will encourage friends and family to stay when in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Hi Jodie G,

Thank-you so much for your review of Marlin Cove Resort. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us, and look forward to welcoming you back any time. I will ensure your positive comments are passed on to our staff.

Kind Regards,
Stephanie Hughes
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have been tricked by the ratings here.
First of all when we arrive nobody was here to welcome us. We've had to call them for them to let us know they put our key in a letterbox!!! Not even an email or phone call to warn us (we arrived at 4pm).

Then we realized the apartment had only one room instead of the 2 we've ordered. But the personnel wasn't available anymore and we had to sleep in a couch!!!
When we told them the day after, they realized their mistake but did not offer us to refund us. At the end, after negotiating with Expedia, I only got refund the difference between a "Deluxe" room and the thing we've had.

But the best was to come, A COLONY OF GREEN ANTS in one of the kitchen's drawer. Which was, as you can imagine, very well cleaned (sarcasm).

Ow! and don't forget to bring your own salt and pepper, they don't have any.
Ow! and unless you are a single 45 years old male, i really doubt anyone can enjoy the furniture and decoration. So cold...
And also Trinity Beach is extremely overrated.

In a month in Australia, this was my worst experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank qlemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hi qlemarie,

Thank-you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We hesitate to bring up the possibility, but we believe there may have been an error in which hotel the review has been posted to?

I've gone through all correspondence and bookings for the month of April (according to the stay dates you nominated on TripAdvisor), and two weeks either side just to be sure, however we haven't received any correspondence from either yourself or Expedia regarding any such booking errors.

Of course, if we have made the error then we do sincerely apologise, and regret we were not notified and therefore unable to remedy the issue immediately. If guests have booked a two bedroom apartment, and we have mistakenly accommodated them in a one bedroom apartment, we absolutely do not expect them to have to stay in the wrong room type and sleep on a couch. Regardless of whether our Reception Office is open or not, we do have staff available on-site 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, with a direct contact line to them available through the in-room phone system.

Also, I think it is important to note that at Marlin Cove Resort we never leave keys in a letterbox. If there is an after-hours check-in, we have a locked combination safe that is utilised, similar to many hotels and resorts that don't have a staffed 24 hour desk.

Lastly, please note if you have booked through an online booking agency, we do not necessarily have your contact details forwarded to us. If you know you are checking in outside the hotels opening hours, it is always best to contact them directly prior to your stay to confirm any after-hours procedures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews