We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sensational”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed in apartment 9 at Coral sands for 10 nights with our two children (3 and 6) and had an absolute ball. The apartment was spacious, modern and decked out with a foodie's dream kitchen - brand new appliances along with every utensil, serving platter and piece of cutlery you could hope for.

The gardens are stunning, the pool was great and there are lots of restaurants along the beachfront. A wonderful spot for a family holiday, we'll definitely be back again!

Room Tip: Apartment 9 is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claireisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    144
    15
    10
    10
See reviews for
290
146
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Reading the positive reviews and viewing the photos inspired us to book a two bedroom apartment here as we were after the "resort" experience as opposed to a generic hotel in Cairns. What we didn't expect was that these are all privately owned apartments and all decorated and maintained by the owners, so potentially you could get an old stinky apartment! Along with the fact that we couldn't access some of the drawers etc (not even the back balcony!), the apartments are NOT serviced and there is a charge of $40 if you stay less than a week and want it serviced. Therefore, we needed to purchase toilet paper, shower gel, shampoo, all the items you would expect from what we thought was a resort.
Another problem was the service. The older couple managing it are frankly quite grumpy and standing in the sun getting lectured about all the rules (don't leave air-con on when out, take out the rubbish when you leave, no swimming after 8:00pm, etc) while getting bitten by mozzies was not my idea of a welcoming arrival. We requested a room with a view of the pool or beach and instead got one tucked away in a corner next to reception with no view. When we questioned them about this, they replied that it was "very busy and all the rooms were full".
As for the room itself, ours was very spacious and modern (I think we were lucky). The location is on the beach, however don't expect many touristy restaurants or shops which of course is a good thing if that's what you're after.
This place would be great for families or people wanting a quiet getaway and are happy to be self-contained. If you want a real 'resort' experience, spend a little extra and head for the bigger resorts in Palm Cove or Port Douglas.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 9 which is a spacious two bedroom apartment. If you don't care for views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clearsky261642, Manager at Coral Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for providing the review as we appreciate all feedback to better improve our services.
As at the time of your checkin we saw that your only request was for two queen beds and this request was noted and provided. We always try our very best to provide what guests request when making a booking.
On checkin we did mention to you that you had not requested any particular apartment or view and that while we would have been quite happy to move you to another apartment with a better view of the pool or beach we were unable to do so as we were fully booked.
We apologise profusely if you felt you were being lectured on arrival as certainly this is not our intention. The majority of guests arriving from overseas or interstate appreciate any information that may assist them in enjoying their stay.
Your throwaway line to ‘any old stinky apartment’ is baffling and without basis as the resort is rated by AAA at 41/2 star standard.
It was unfortunate that we were unable to provide you with another apartment but as you state the apartment you were given was of a very high standard.
We appreciate your comments, which help us to continuously improve our products and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I saw the special deal on hotel.com.au website last night, Coral Sands is running a special rate for $99/night for a 1 bedroom apartment. But it doesn't give much details on it. So I rang Coral Sands today to find out more information.

The woman first picked up the phone told me they do have this special on, and it's still available. I then asked what type of room is it, she said of course it's Garden view, you can't get the ocean view room in this price. That's fair enough.

I looked at the reviews on this website, some people said the photos show on Coral Sands website are the only few rooms have been refurbished, all others are very old fashion and state. So I would like to make sure about this. When I asked if all the rooms have been refurbished recently, this woman started to getting impatient. She said the person who's putting the negative reviews on the website were telling lies. They want to pay 2 stars hotel price and get a 5 stars service. That's impossible.

I then asked if I would like the ocean view room, how much will it be? She's getting annoying and told me to check the price on their website. I told her I've already done so, but the description on the website is not very clear, it only shows the price for Garden View room and Beachfront Room, it doesn't say if the beachfront rooms are ocean views. That's why I need to ring up and find out. Then she told me NOT all the beachfront rooms have ocean views. Then the phone got cut off.

I wasn't sure if I got hang up, so I rang again, this time a guy picked up the call, and his customer servie was even WORSE.

When I told him I'm looking for a ocean view bedroom, and want him to tell me if he has any available and what the price is. He then gets very angry, asked me back that " Can't you see the property layout and the photos on the website? I can't tell you which one has the ocean view, they're just beachfront. If you're looking for the nice ocean view apartment, you should go the Hilton. Ok? Bye!" Then he hanged up without my response.

I'm so shocking that I will be treated like this as a customer. I even havn't paid yet, and they stopped me on the very beginning. Seems like they didn't welcome anyone going to live there AT ALL!

Share my VERY TERRIBLE EXP with all of you. Do not spend your holiday in this kind of place, because they're gonna to ruin your holiday completely.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MeMe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clearsky261642, Manager at Coral Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
We appreciate your comments and are disappointed to hear of the issues you encountered, which by no means reflect the experience we provide. Please accept our profuse apologies.
Your call was at 7.00am in the morning just as we had opened the reception area for the day. We did answer your many questions at length but we also explained that we had a number of people at the counter waiting to be served and asked could we ring you back when we were not so busy.

Unfortunately, you wanted your answers at the time you rang as you said it was not convenient for us to return your call.

Please know that we take all feedback seriously and regret that we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

When we arrived at Coral Sands we were gob smacked, it had a wonderful, peaceful and tropical feel and the staff were so friendly and helpful. Each morning we walked along Trinity Beach as the sun rose on the Coral Sea horizon; the locals made you feel most welcome as they ambled or jogged past. Our days were spent sightseeing the vast array of local attractions which were world class. Most evenings began with drinks around the barbecues which are adjacent to the magnificent pool, waterfall and manicured lawns. Our apartment was clean,very comfortable with bright coloured furniture and was well appointed for self catering. The view from the large balcony was to die for; where else could you enjoy a cold beer while looking through lush palm trees in exotic gardens with a shimmering pool and your beach just across the quiet street. We look forward to our return to this little piece of paradise in the future.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank trinitysands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clearsky261642, Manager at Coral Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for your very kind words and review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again for your next holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We (three adults) stayed for a week in October 2013 in Apartment 30 - two bedrooms and two bathrooms. It was wonderful to have the second bathroom available. The apartment was well presented, clean and modern with plenty of space. It was fitted with every appliance you could need - including a washing machine and tumble dryer. Although it was incredibly hot and humid even at 10pm the air con in the bedrooms and lounge area made the stay enjoyable when indoors and sleeping was never a problem. The grocery store is about a 10 - 15 minute walk up the road - which seems more like a 30 minute walk when you do it in the heat and humidity while carrying multiple shopping bags! Although other reviews have complained about the sounds of screaming children, we were lucky enough to not have this problem even though it was school holidays. Our apartment was set back from the pool and on the third floor which probably helped with this. One thing to note is that the Esplanade mentioned that is near Coral Sands is NOT the same one pictured on the Cairns tourist website with the pool and silver fish! There are a few cafes and restaurants along the Coral Sands Esplanade. We tried the tavern (unfortunately the chicken parma we had was presented with burnt cheese and dried out and we were not told we had to collect our drinks from the bar even though we ordered the food and drink there), the Italian restaurant near the resort was nice, and the Blue Moon was ok - you have to sit outside though and it seemed quite dark for eating outside - we had the steak which came with hard veggies. We had greater success with food in the city, some lovely Italian restaurants on the Esplanade we thought was the one by Coral Sands. The city was about 40 minutes by bus 111 City Mall (not Kewarra Beach bus 111) and can drop you off in the centre of the city for exploring for $4.70 one way. A lot cheaper than the $60 one way taxi ride from the city to Coral Sands. We did this taxi twice back home as it was too late to catch the bus at night. We went to the Great Barrier Reef and Green Island combined package. If we had more time we would have gone back to Green Island for the snorkeling. We only had 2 hours on Green Island before we had to board the boat to the reef. When we got there a massive line had formed outside the dive shop so there wasn't much time for snorkelling. There is a half day trip to Green Island for $85 which we would have done if there was time. We found a tourist information office in the city that was able to answer all our questions about the tours and make bookings for us - unfortunately the front desk didn't seem to know much about the tours we asked about. All in all a nice spot to stay but if you are looking for more active night life it would probably be better to stay closer to the city.

Room Tip: There was no room sevice unless you stay 7 nights - we were there for 6 nights. They will give you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingBird81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Loved this resort as we went with all of our children and grand children and what a geat palce for families.The pool and BBQ area was terrific and to sit our by the pool, on the lawn and have drinks and BBQ was so relaxing. The beach is across the roiad and many cafes and restaurants close by in walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed here for a week in September and loved it! The complex is very well looked after. The apartment was spacious, clean and with the added benefit of washer and drier. Plenty of room for a family! A lovely eating area outside overlooking the pool! A silly charge for pool towels is NOT necessary and rather spoils it as is the charge for wifi!
Close proximity to the beach!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bootsy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinity Beach
0.3 mi away
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Trinity Beach
170 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#7 of 21 in Trinity Beach
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vue Luxury Apartments Trinity Beach
0.2 mi away
Sea Change Beachfront Apartments
0.2 mi away
Bellevue at Trinity Beach
Bellevue at Trinity Beach
#5 of 21 in Trinity Beach
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sands Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sands Beachfront Resort

Property: Coral Sands Beachfront Resort
Address: Cnr Trinity Beach Road & Vasey Esplanade, Trinity Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Trinity Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Trinity Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Coral Sands Beachfront Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests at Coral Sands Beachfront Resort enjoy the best of everything. There's the resorts fantastic location opposite the beach and beside the beachfront restaurants and local bus stop - as well as the very large, child friendly, lagoon-style swimming pool and the extra spacious guest rooms with their private balconies and ensuites. Here, you have a choice of 1,2 or 3 bedroom stylishly furnished, fully equipped apartments - all with lovely aspects of the beautiful resort gardens, the Esplanade right outside, and the lovely swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coral Sands Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sands Beachfront Hotel Trinity Beach
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort Trinity Beach, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing