We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Accommodation, not good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Accommodation, not good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed at Coral Sands for six days in a three bedroom apartment. It was clean, well looked after, with a view out over Trinity Beach to the sea and a gate through which we could walk out into the swimming pool. The apartment itself was one of the best places we have ever stayed in.

So why not five stars. Two reasons: first, it's self catering, which we like, but a long way from any decent shops. There's a small shopping centre about 15 minutes up the road, but it's overpriced, or the Smithfield shopping centre, which is good but a twenty five minute bus ride away. (we took one look at some of the ridiculous prices in the small shop over the road and decided that the 15 minute walk was manageable!)

The other reason was that after about 7 o clock a group of teenagers came in each night and used the pool in a way which, whilst not actually obnoxious, made our kids feel uncomfortable. We didn't think they were residents, as there's little to stop anyone coming in and using the pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yrddraigllwglyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clearsky261642, Manager at Coral Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank you for the lovely review of the apartment you stayed in on your holiday, we are so pleased you found the apartment ‘one of the best places you have ever stayed in’. Graeme and I work very hard at maintaining a high standard at the complex.
You have mentioned the high prices for items being charged at the local shops but unfortunately these prices are out of our control. These shops are very good ‘convenience’ shops and often involve the shop owner travelling some distance to purchase only a couple of items from another supermarket so that they can be made available. The appeal of Trinity Beach as a popular holiday destination for holiday makers is that we are not over developed or crowded as so many other holiday destinations.
We are disappointed that you did not mention your concerns to us about the behaviour of some teenagers while you were inhouse or when you checked out. If we were aware this was happening we would have checked if the teenagers were staying in the resort. The only open entry into the resort is through the reception area as a key is required for all other gates. The reception area is monitored by CCTV and no unusual activity was observed. There is also a telephone at the reception area which connects to our afterhour’s service for the reporting of any incidents such as you observed.
As with many complexes, other guests can sometimes be a problem on occasion and we are sorry you and your family have had this experience. Please accept our apology for their behaviour and we hope we can welcome you back to Coral Sands Resort another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    133
    14
    9
    10
See reviews for
277
133
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Our visit to the barrier reef was greatly enhanced by the service afforded to us by Graeme & Merilyn at Coral Sands. Apartment was clean and tidy and self sufficient and coupled with local amenities made our stay most enjoyable and is well recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

When we booked our two weeks accommodation at Coral Sands we thought that we had done all our home work, ticked all the boxes in what we required in accommodation. We are travelling around Australia staying in 4 - 5 star accom so are well used to what we require. We had actually called into Coral Sands and spoke to a really helpful and friendly receptionist and told her what we were looking for, a must sea views, twin bed if a king was not available, yes all was agreed to along with the price. When we arrived the following week to check in much to our anger when we were shown into a unit at the back of the resort with glimpses of a sea view. The twin beds were small single beds in the small second bedroom, main bedroom locked along with second bathroom and second TV with crusty old blankets on the beds.
I approached the woman Manager some days after we had checked in and said if we stayed a third week, would she 1, give us a reduced rate as quoted by the nice receptionist, 2 open the second bedroom. No was her immediate reply not interested. We were a bit amazed by this as this was their quite season with their standby rate sign at the front. Well as it turned out we did extend our stay at Trinity Beach for another three weeks at a fabulous property at the Bellevue at Trinity Beach.

Room Tip: Make sure you get and demand a unit at the front with the sea views. Their are no lifts so if you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clearsky261642, Manager at Coral Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review although your recollection of events is different to our booking information and record of events.
You requested a ground floor apartment as your husband had recently undergone knee surgery and had difficulty with stairs. Secondly, you requested twin beds and an ocean view. You mention you asked for a king bed but we have no record of such a request on your booking details. Furthermore, on checkin you were reminded that you had requested twin beds although we did tell you we could easily provide a queen bed if required.
On arrival you were told that you had a ground floor apartment as requested which did enjoy a lovely view of the ocean from the lounge room deck. As manager I explained to you that the ocean views were much better on a higher floor and you in fact told me the ground floor was a better option. I also told you that if you were not happy with the apartment to call me once you were in the room and we would find an alternative apartment which may have been more to your liking. I also told you at checkin that if you were not happy we would refund your money in full.
Within 10 minutes of checking into the apartment you rang and you told me that the apartment was quite suitable and that you did not require any refunds.
You mention in your review there were ‘crusty old blankets’ on the beds. We do not have blankets on beds, as this is the tropics and only very light cotton summer covers are required and available. This is a particularly strange remark when you graded us 100% for cleanliness.
After two weeks in the apartment you asked could you extend your booking for one more week. This we were happy to do at the existing rate you were already paying, but we could not offer you two bedrooms and two bathrooms for the same rate as a one bedroom one bathroom apartment. We then quoted you the walkin rate for a two bedroom, two bathroom apartment.
I am dismayed that if the apartment was as you state ‘at the back of the resort’ why you requested a further week on top of the two weeks you had already stayed. Perhaps the review is more about your ‘anger’ at not being given a two bedroom two bathroom apartment for the price of a one bedroom, one bathroom apartment.
Furthermore, we waived the extra cleaning charge which should have been charged because of the condition the apartment was left in when you departed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

My wife and I stayed for 6 nights in November in a delightful two bedroomed apartment on the first floor overlooking the pool and ocean and can honestly say that it was the best equipped and furnished apartment we have ever stayed in over the years. The resort was also first rate ideally located just across from the beach with a lovely pool area ideal for relaxing after a days exploring. There are several restaurants close by and all amenities within walking distance.
We found the people behind the front desk to be very helpful and they arranged tours/airport transfers etc for us.
For anyone looking for high quality accommodation in a quiet relaxing environment adjacent to a beautiful beach I can highly recommend the Coral Sands.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbYorkEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

If you are looking for a 5 star RESORT this in probably not the place for you but if you are looking for clean, quite on the beach timeshare type living with full kitchen at a resonable price. This is it. We were traveling with a car and found the secure underground parking a plus. Most of the Cairns downtown hotels have no sandy beach.This has a large pool and a gate gets you to Ocean Front beaches which are almost vacant most the time. We went to Smithfield and bought food and supplies.The cooking facilities are most complete. We are touring for a month and are quite tried of restaurant food. We were in unit 56. The front office closes at 7 pm so make sure you buy your interent code before they leave. There are restuarants within walking distance. This is a good place to base but don't expect someone to entertain you. You are the guide here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Idglm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

we were told we were going to.get a beach front view and we didnt.we were told there was a gym and there isnt.we are really pissed of we were mislead.it has ruined our holiday.honestly.it sounds petty but we paid for something we didnt get.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clearsky261642, Manager at Coral Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
I am disappointed that your holiday was ruined but I am mistified by your comments. The resort is beachfront. All apartments enjoy wonderful views of our 2 acres of tropical gardens, lagoon style swimming pool and a large number enjoy ocean views from either within the apartments or from the balconies.

Additionally, all our advertising states we have available an off site gymnasium which we pay for our guests to use at their convenience. Many, many guests have used this facility to their enjoyment. In fact this gym is better than most inhouse gymnasiums because it is full size gym with all the equipment and trainers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here in a three bedroom unit, it was ground floor just metres from the pool which has shade cloths over it which was great for the kids.
A bonus was the secure parking outside our front door.
The property is located literally across the road from the beach, which has inflatable aqua sports activities for hire.
There is also a range of restaurants right across the road from hotel which is great for beach picnics.
The unit was well stocked with equipment and the shopping centre en route from airport was great to stop off at on the way. For anything else you can go to the convenience store at Trinity Beach.
The RSL down the road (walking distance) has kid meal specials which is handy. The beach also has bbqs

Room Tip: ask for ground floor unit if with kids easy access for them to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarebear007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinity Beach
1.3 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#7 of 21 in Trinity Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachfront Apartments on Trinity Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bellevue at Trinity Beach
Bellevue at Trinity Beach
#1 of 21 in Trinity Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Change Beachfront Apartments
0.1 mi away
Roydon Beachfront Apartments
Roydon Beachfront Apartments
#3 of 21 in Trinity Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sands Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sands Beachfront Resort

Property: Coral Sands Beachfront Resort
Address: Cnr Trinity Beach Road & Vasey Esplanade, Trinity Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Trinity Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Trinity Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Coral Sands Beachfront Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests at Coral Sands Beachfront Resort enjoy the best of everything. There's the resorts fantastic location opposite the beach and beside the beachfront restaurants and local bus stop - as well as the very large, child friendly, lagoon-style swimming pool and the extra spacious guest rooms with their private balconies and ensuites. Here, you have a choice of 1,2 or 3 bedroom stylishly furnished, fully equipped apartments - all with lovely aspects of the beautiful resort gardens, the Esplanade right outside, and the lovely swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Sands Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sands Beachfront Hotel Trinity Beach
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort Trinity Beach, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing