We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
On the Beach Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Had a great 3 nights at On the Beach while visiting Australia. Enjoyed the accommodation and the local restaurants and trips were wonderful. Thanks for a most enjoyable stay, we would love to come back...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaSpeer, Manager at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for your Review. We would love to have you back and so pleased you loved Trinity Beach. Cheers, Melissa - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    88
    28
    6
    3
See reviews for
87
141
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed in their The Blue Marlin property which is a small complex of 6 units, two doors down from On The Beach and reception. We were not overly impressed with the first apartment we were offered as it was quite dated with well worn appliances and not particularly clean (the glass surfaces and kitchen benchtops were sticky, glass marks etc which I cleaned). We asked to see other 2 bedroom apartments but initially none were available. The following day the Manager advised that another apartment in the same building would be free that day and we ended up taking that as the decor was more modern and the appliances were newer (although the cooktop exhaust fan did not work). We were also disappointed that the pools were not solar heated (the water was definitely not warm enough for swimming during the cooler months) and if you wanted a spa you had to go to the main resort, but the spas are not heated either apparently.

The location and views are great with the beach just across the road and plenty of restaurants to choose from just walking distance along the Esplanade.

Check the website details before booking as they manage a number of properties along Vasey Esplanade and you could end up in any one depending on your room requirements.

We have stayed at Trinity Beach before and had a better experience, so will look elsewhere for our next visit.

Room Tip: Before you book ask which property you are being quoted for, especially if travelling with another g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chakra120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaSpeer, Manager at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your Review and your honest feedback. We are glad you love the location. Trinity Beach is beautiful. We are just sorry your stay with us didn't make as good an impression.

As all readers will notice, during July, we openly admit we have had issues with our Housekeeping Team and unfortunately this has led to some 'less than positive' Reviews. After follow up we have found that too much cleaning product has been used with the dilution making surfaces tacky to touch. This has been addressed and we are back to our best.

We make no secret that On The Beach is comprised of 7 buildings, allowing us to offer 5 different Apartment types - 1, 2 and 3 Bedroom - Garden view, Ocean view and Beachfront. This is advertised on all Web Listings and more so on our own Web site. When booking with other parties, simply let us know and we guarantee you are in the same building. This is never an issue. Having the 7 buildings actually allows us to offer less crowded facilities per Guest, greater security and a more peaceful, enjoyable holiday. If you are after heated facilities, a 5 Star Resort would be a better option (be prepared to pay for this luxury), however I am not aware of any Property in Cairns offering this facility given our average daytime Winter temperature is 25-28 degrees.

As all of our apartments are individually owned, I will share your Review with the Owner. Although it is 4 Star Rated, we have identified some areas which can be addressed and thank you again for your honest feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday and the outcome after providing us with feedback during your stay.

Regards
Melissa - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights, great location, well appointed, good amenities, the photos of the apartment though don't match up to the reality and must be of a newly renovated and modernized . Our Apartment, although perfect, was furnished 10+ years ago. Service from management team is great.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarkBishop_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaSpeer, Manager at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Each of our apartments are individually owned and all 2 and 3 Bedroom ones are furnished to the owner's specifications. Most are displayed on our website (the one in question is displayed) and although the furniture may be a little dated, the condition is good and it is maintained to AAA 4 Star Rating. We appreciate your honesty and will be passing this feedback to the apartment owner.
Kind regards
Melissa Speer - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My family stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment facing the beach. Rooms were quiet,clean, spacious with great views and roomy balcony. Having a patrolled beach just over the road was a bonus, and places to eat were lovely. My only problem was we didn't stay there long enough! Much better location and value than Port Douglas. Close to everything with friendly and helpful staff. Happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Beach fronted rooms a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra3782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Sounds like you had a lovely time. Great beach, lovely restaurants and we think we have a lovely place too! Perfect for a great beach holiday as you say.
Thank you for your Review and for sharing our Property with other travellers.
Kind regards, Melissa - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Very disappointed when we arrived. Found it hard to find our room because it was not in their building. They had put us up in a room in the building a few doors down the road that they managed. Room was a good layout and might have been a nice apartment years ago but it was like it had not been cleaned - mould in shower, kitchen bench filthy, floor dirty. I suppose I shouldnt complain as I did make a late booking 10 days before our trip and this was the only place left in Trinity beach. I can see why. I complained about the dirt but they didnt get it cleaned. I also asked for more bedding as the cheap queensland thing of only having sheets on bed wasnt warm enough but didnt get any. It was unexpectedly cold at about 11 degrees. I had to go and buy antibacterial wipes, disinfectant, dish clothes (none suplied), face cloths (none supplied), laundry powder. Fridge setting was not cold enough and had to throw out $100 worth of food after realising it was not kept cold. Turned on the rangehood and bits fell off onto the stove.
Apartment allowed for 4 adults but one bed was a double. As we had 4 single adults for one night we had to pay extra for an old pull out bed. Given the cleaning I had to do I would have thought they could throw this in.

Our 3 nights came to an end and we shifted to the Seachange down the road. What a blessing the move was. Both apartments cost the same but there was absolutely no comparison. Aspire was overpriced for a tired and dirty apartment.

Room Tip: Read through their terms very carefully. Book somewhere else if you have a choice.They can put you i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaSpeer, Manager at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your Review. It is a difficult one to respond to as nothing was shared with us during your stay - it is a Policy that all Complaints are treated with utmost urgency and this has always been the case. I have discussed your Review with ALL staff and no-one can recall being advised of such issues during your stay.

In saying that,there are a few things I can respond to, and I am happy to provide tips to you and other travelers in order to avoid a repeat of such incidences:

1. We manage 7 buildings and this is widely published. We have Beachfront, Ocean view and Garden View and obviously these are housed separately.

TIP: Always check any Property you stay in so you are aware of what you are booking. Our website has photos and wording which show exactly how the layout is. This is also noted on all Web Listings.

2. Without being told about the apartment being dirty, we can offer no solution. During July we have had issues with our Housekeeping team not diluting their cleaning products enough, causing surfaces to be sticky/tacky to touch. This was identified after a Guest spoke to us on Arrival and was immediately attended to. This has caused some other Reviews here to be less than our 'average' 4 1/2 to 5 grading, and to all Guests who found this, I apologise.

3. We have Bed Runners and matching Valances on our beds, this being the current trend in Hospitality throughout Australia and Worldwide. During your stay it was particularly cold in Cairns which is why we purchased new blankets. Six (6) were issued to Guests who requested such. Unfortunately we didn't hear from you during your stay, therefore could not know that you were cold.

TIP: If there is anything you need during your stay and it is not available in the Apartment, ASK. Most properties have items in store (as we do) and/or can make it readily available.

4. It would appear we didn't place a Dishcloth in your apartment. I apologise for this as it was an oversight when the Apartment was prepared. Being self-contained, we don't supply Laundry Powder however have it readily available, and on display at Reception.

5. We have had no complaints about the fridge since your stay. I can only assume you had the settings too low. We have examined this apartment since reading your Review here, and found no issue. Again, if we had of been notified during your stay, this could have been addressed at the time and we would have been only too happy to reimburse you for spoiled food - if the fridge was indeed faulty. We also found no issue with the Rangehood.

6. Bedding configurations are advertised on all sites and usually requested at the time of booking. We cannot accommodate 4 singles in any of our apartments as all of them have at least one (1) queen bed. If we had of been advised that this was your party, we would have let you know this was the case.

TIP: Always let the Property where you are staying know the make-up of your party. Stating 4 Adults doesn't guarantee 4 Single beds. Place this as a request at the time of your booking and/or contact the Property to discuss your preferences.

Again, thank you for your Review albeit not one we are proud of. I also thank TripAdvisor for the opportunity to Respond.

Regards
Melissa - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We booked a 3 bedroom self catering apartment for 5 adults using an Expedia hotel and flight combined package. We thought it was very reasonably priced. The bed configuration was flexible. The apartment was huge and very clean. There was a secure under cover garage. It was only metres from the life guard patrolled section of the beach. Trinity beach is a magnificent coastal area just north of Cairns on the road to Port Douglas, Mossman and the Daintree. Much less built up than Palm Cove. We had the sound of waves to put us to sleep. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Muscadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review On The Beach. Voted 'Cairns Best Beach' by the locals, we think Trinity Beach is the nicest of all Cairns Beaches - as you mention, close to everything. We appreciate your recommendation and hope you bring your family/friends back again in the future. Kind regards, Melissa - Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment at On the Beach Apartments and it was great. Great big sliding doors in every room and a balcony big enough for breakfast for 5.
We were in the top floor right at the front, and the sunrise was glorious - as was the full moon over the sea. The beach is across a tiny road, and the netted, patrolled area is immediately across from the apartment. We also liked walking to the headlands at either end of the beach for an explore.
I liked that Trinity Beach it's self is small. Just enough restaurants - some cheap, some moderate - for variety, but not so many shops and cafes that you spend your whole holiday spending money. A little supermarket / bottle shop was close enough to grab basics.
The apartment was big, clean and well stocked with what we needed - from the usual, like a good range of cutlery, crockery and pots, to really useful extras, like supplying washing powder for the in-room laundry.
Service was friendly and timely, and even the Trinity Beach airport transfer guy was a joy to deal with.
We had a great time, and would go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you for letting us know what a great time you had...and what a lovely photo of the children enjoying the beach. This is what a great beach holiday is all about.
We have had amazing moons recently and it would seem you were with us for the recent 'Super Moon' - was amazing viewing over the Coral Sea from all of our ocean facing balconies.
We hope you can visit again in the future - perhaps staying in one of our 1 bedroom apartments when the kids are grown up :)
Thank you again. Kind regards
Melissa - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trinity Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Trinity Beach
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#7 of 21 in Trinity Beach
418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachfront Apartments on Trinity Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roydon Beachfront Apartments
Roydon Beachfront Apartments
#3 of 21 in Trinity Beach
497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trinity Beach Club Holiday Apartments
Trinity Beach Club Holiday Apart...
#11 of 21 in Trinity Beach
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amaroo at Trinity
Amaroo at Trinity
#10 of 21 in Trinity Beach
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Beach Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Beach Holiday Apartments

Property: On the Beach Holiday Apartments
Address: 49 - 51 Vasey Esp, Trinity Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Trinity Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Trinity Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — On the Beach Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly opposite the patrolled swimming area of beautiful Trinity Beach and within a two minute walk to local shops and restaurants. On The Beach Holiday Apartments offers 35 self-contained apartments. We have 1, 2 or 3 bedroom apartments each with its own private ocean facing balcony to capture the cool sea breezes and wonder at the amazing sunrise. Apartment types include Beachfront and 2 bedroom Ocean View - something for everyone. Stay for a night (one bedroom), a week or a month. WELCOME TO TRINTY BEACH, CAIRNS FAVOURITE BEACH. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your On the Beach Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Beach Holiday Apartments Hotel Trinity Beach
On The Beach Holiday Apartments Trinity Beach, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing