We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the beach is opposite the beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
On the Beach Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed in a fab apartment in Trinity Beach-its about 20 mins from downtown Cairns but its a tiny place with a road of hotels and a fab beach. You can get buses into Cairns-a lot cheaper than a taxi which costs $60 AUD.
Its also not far from Kuranda.
The flat was large and very comfortable-there is free WiFi -which works on the balcony!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the sea is best
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cliff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Thank you for your kind review. Not quite a top score in all areas and we would welcome further feedback from you, especially where sleep quality is concerned. If we can know what apartments people stay in, then we can attend to areas which require attention. Overall, it sounds like you enjoyed your holiday, which is what we aim for on every occasion. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Melissa - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
There are newer reviews for On the Beach Holiday Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

Awesome start to the new year thanks to On the beach holiday apartments. Melissa was extremely helpful for organising all our tours and recommending things to see and places to go. So much done but still so much more to do when me & my partner do return. The apartments were clean, well kept and up to date and we wouldn't stay any where else. Would highly recommen.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adzz93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Was great to have you stay with us. So many new visitors come to our Property after being referred by family and friends. This is the best way for us to let as many people as possible learn about what we have to offer. Trinity Beach is a great destination and being so close to the patrolled beach, you couldn't be staying in a better Property. Thanks for your kind words. We are so pleased you loved it here.
Regards, Melissa Speer - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My partner and I stayed in a one bedroom apartment right outside to pool and BBQ area for the first week of January 2014. We could not have asked for a better apartment, location or service. This is my 3rd stay at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, Trinity Beach and I would honestly not stay anywhere else. Apartments were clean, fully self contained with all we needed for a weeks stay, nice dark room for sleeping and quiet, air conditioned, modern audio visual (not that it's needed as there's so much to do) and furnishings. The beach is literally across the road with lifeguards and stinger nets so you can safely swim in the balmy, warm ocean if you feel like a break from the beautiful pool and spa. Gorgeous, safe place to walk around, plenty of amazing restaurants/eateries/bars, particularly the Blue Moon Grill, all in walking distance. Melissa organised all our trips and tours which were all amazing, still need to go back to see more! Can't recommend it highly enough. Thanks to all for another perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KylieE71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Thank you so much for your review. Great to hear you loved the place. See you again for your 4th visit, next year.
Cheers for now, Melissa - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at the On-the-beach Holiday Apartments for three nights in January. We are a family of four (including two teenagers) on a three week vacation in Australia. We booked the two bedroom, “Ocean View” suite on-line and pre-paid C$228 (about the same in $Aus) per night (all in, including taxes, etc.) per night.

Having read the reviews where people complained about not being in the “main” building, I was prepared for what might be a “winner-loser” situation where we either got a “good” building or we didn’t. However, our building seemed very much like the others (at least from the outside), so it is difficult to understand the complaints. I suppose if you didn’t have a car and had to carry your bags up a path and down the street a few hundred metres/yards, it might be inconvenient, but hardly a reason to complain.

In any event, we ended up in the building behind the main office building. Our third-floor room had multiple sliding glass doors on to a balcony that ran the width of the building, with excellent views of the beach and ocean. At one point we stood there trying to remember if we had ever had accommodation with a better beach/ocean view.

One word of caution is that our third floor apartment was a walk-up (i.e., no elevator/lift). Not a problem for me to carry a number of 20kg/45lb suitcases, but could be a struggle for someone less physically capable.

The location is across the street from the only part of the beach in town that is swimmable during the stinger season. I had assumed from the property photos that the “fenced-in” (i.e., netted) swimming area belonged to the hotel, but it is actually the public beach, so it was perfect that we could simply walk across the rarely-travelled street, and have the benefit of the netted swimming area and also be in the care of a public lifeguard.

The room was extremely (and I mean “extremely”!) spacious with two bathrooms, two bedrooms, a full kitchen and very large living/sitting area. It also had full laundry facilities. The décor was basic and certainly nothing special, but it was functional and clean. The apartment also had three separate air conditioning units (each with a remote control) as well as a number of ceiling fans.

We cooked two nights using the pool-side barbecue facilities, which were more than adequate for our needs. Our only problem with meals was that the entire apartment only seemed to have four place settings of utensils, meaning, for example, that we potentially were using the same fork for dinner and dessert. The pool itself is small, but there is a separate pool for each building, which in our case meant only six units potentially sharing it at any time. And I have to say that the pool looks much better in person than in the photos. The earth-toned rock aggregate surface of the pool and deck tend to give it a “dirty” look in photos.

The complaints I do have are that the ”free” wi-fi was extremely intermittent. I don’t know if it was low bandwidth or simply poor signal strength. Downloading simple web pages could easily take 30 seconds to a minute, if they downloaded at all. The connection would regularly drop. It took about 40 minutes to download an iPad app that would have loaded in 3-4 minutes at home.

My second complaint is the lack of any sort of black-out curtains in the master bedroom. Facing east, our room got the sunrise early. The vertical blinds were thin and really provided nothing more than privacy. We ended up taking spare blankets and other things we found in the apartment and rigged them up to block out the light in the morning.

I think it is highly unlikely that I will be back in Cairns / Trinity Beach any time in the next five years, but if I was, I would likely look first to On the Beach and might not bother checking for alternatives.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdvisorKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you so much for this extensive Review. This certainly provides us with some really good feedback which we can use to make improvements to our Property. Such improvements we can look at include:

Wi-Fi Connection: I have emailed our Provider the feedback and will be following up on how the signal can be improved. The repeater is at the rear of the main building so the building I think you were in should have had great service. This may have been an isolated period, but certainly worth while checking.

Bedroom 1 Blinds: I have emailed the owner of the apartment this feedback and the blinds will be changed within the next 6 months. They are quite old now so the block out factor may have worn (not sure if this happens, but certainly something to consider).

Kitchen Supplies: We have already sought quotes to have all cutlery, crockery and glassware upgraded throughout the entire Property. This is a huge job and will be completed by the end of the Low Season (June 2014). All 2 Bedroom apartments will have settings of 8 and all 3 Bedroom apartments settings of 12. Item numbers have diminished this Season with either theft or breakages and this task will now be attended to sooner rather than later.

We are so pleased your overall holiday was great and that you would return in the future if the opportunity presented itself. We are always making improvements of some degree and these suggestions will certainly help everyone's overall holiday enjoyment.

Thank you again for this Review. I'm sure other travelers got a lot out of it, as I did.

Kind regards
Melissa Speer - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Only there for two nights but we were impressed with the location, size and cleaniness of the apartment. Great sea views and well located for shops and restaurants. The staff at reception were very helpful, friendly and pleasant. People like these add to the enjoyment of your holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

It sounds as though you had a short but sweet holiday with us. Thank you for taking the time to let us know and I will be sure to pass your comments onto our team.

Many thanks
Melissa Speer - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Our group stayed in two 1BR units for one week and found it to be a very comfortable home base. It's a couple buildings down from the main area in Trinity Beach (to be read as 3 minute walk) and directly across from the stinger nets in the ocean so you can walk straight across for a swim, or use their pool. There is a communal BBQ area which we shared twice with other guests but it's large enough that there were no issues even though we were grilling for 4 and so were the others.
The front building is just 1BR units and the rear buildings have the 2BR and 3BR, but the rear buildings aren't blocked by the front building since there is a slight incline in the land. We stayed on the third/top floor and loved it since we had a great view. There aren't elevators, so factor that in if needed.
I would definitely stay here again!!!
Rooms are cleaned every 3-4 days (ours was done once in the week, but no issues at all with this since we knew it was self-contained and helped with costs).

Room Tip: Higher floors have better ocean view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RachelU178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you for your review and for sharing your comments with many others. We would love to have you return and are pleased to read that you may in the future. See you then!
Kind regards, Melissa - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

One of the better value stays. The two bedroom apartment was large, very clean and well equipped. The location is right in front of the beach with the designated swimming area with nets directly in front of the main building. The staff was tremendous and went out of their way to help us enjoy our stay. If this is in your price range I think you will find it a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa S, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

We are so pleased to read you appreciated the Value of your stay with us. The location, the rooms, cleanliness and the staff all rate a mention in your Review which is greatly appreciated.

We are proud of the Product we offer and although at times it may seem we just don't get it right, it is Reviews such as this that remind us that this is the minority - most times we get it just right and our Guests have a great time.

Thank you for taking the time to place your Review on Tripadvisor and to help us spread the word about our little piece of Paradise here at Trinity Beach.

Kind regards
Melissa - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trinity Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Trinity Beach
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#6 of 21 in Trinity Beach
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachfront Apartments on Trinity Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roydon Beachfront Apartments
Roydon Beachfront Apartments
#3 of 21 in Trinity Beach
509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trinity Beach Club Holiday Apartments
Trinity Beach Club Holiday Apart...
#11 of 21 in Trinity Beach
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Change Beachfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Beach Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Beach Holiday Apartments

Address: 49-51 Vasey Esplanade, Trinity Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Trinity Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Trinity Beach
Price Range: £85 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — On the Beach Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly opposite the patrolled swimming area of beautiful Trinity Beach and within a two minute walk to local shops and restaurants. On The Beach Holiday Apartments offers 35 self-contained apartments. We have 1, 2 or 3 bedroom apartments each with its own private ocean facing balcony to capture the cool sea breezes and wonder at the amazing sunrise. Apartment types include Beachfront and 2 bedroom Ocean View - something for everyone. Stay for a night (one bedroom), a week or a month. WELCOME TO TRINTY BEACH, CAIRNS FAVOURITE BEACH. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your On the Beach Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Beach Holiday Apartments Hotel Trinity Beach
On The Beach Holiday Apartments Trinity Beach, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing