We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
On the Beach Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best place ever”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Just returned to the UK after the best four weeks ever, great apartments, very comfortable and everything you need to make your stay there relaxing. The position of the apartments are perfect, we stayed in a one bedroom and spent most of our time on the balcony enjoying the view with a nice glass of wine. Melissa and all the staff were very friendly and booked excursions for you and advised which would be the best ones to do. We would not hesitate to come back again as we love the laid back way of life everyone seems to have.We booked with Mercury Direct and would certainly go with them again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tully_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
It is always great to hear we treated you well and helped make your holiday one of the best ever. This is just one thing we think we excel at. We may not have the best apartments in Australia (we are 4 Star) however we do try to offer the best service and make up where other issues may let you down. We rarely receive complaints however enjoy a 60% Repeat customer base - looks like you will be added to this list in future years.

See you soon, and thank you for taking the time to write this Review.

Kind regards Melissa - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    88
    28
    6
    3
See reviews for
87
141
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was an excellent holiday experience we arrived in Cairns Airport and shuttled straight to the accommodation which was very clean and tidy. there was a slight problem with the fridge but this was quickly seen to by the Hotel manager. it had a barbecue area that was free to use by all the guests. and was located on the beach front. there was easy access to a variety of restaurants, cafes and bars. the accommodation also had use of tennis courts.

Room Tip: The rooms at the far left hand side as viewed from the front of the complex have the best sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for this Review and for the hint on which rooms have the best view. If Guests would like to request specific features they are looking for, we are always prepared to note these and do our best to make it possible. It always helps if you contact us direct in this instance.
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay (and that the fridge could be fixed when needed). Regards, Melissa - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Bookings were handled well, and we were upgraded to a larger apartment on checking in. Apartment was clean, and had everything we needed. We hardly saw any other guests the whole time we were there, and had the pool to ourselves everyday. BBQ for guests to use is great. Loved sitting on the deck in the evening with a wine and watching the waves and the bats!

Close to coffee, food, children's playground and across the road from the beach. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeeJay316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
It is always great if we can offer a Free Upgrade and we often do (when available). Thank you for your Review and glad you loved your stay. If you have any additional feedback, please do not hesitate to contact myself direct. See you again soon.
Melissa - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Regarded this as our 'week's' holiday during our tour of Australia after several city hotel breaks and the Red Centre. It did not disappoint and actually felt sad to leave for our onward trip to Sydney! We arrived out of hours but instructions and key to our room were left easily and safely for us. Loved being on the 3rd floor and enjoyed many an evening glass of wine just taking in the great sea view. Room was spacious, although kitchen prep area a bit small but fine for us as we only used it for breakfast. It was very clean and bed really comfie. Useful, well presented information folder (staying in so many hotels, it is a gripe with me when hotels leave tatty, 'well thumbed' or out of date info in rooms as these days, it's so easy to print fresh updated copies). Wifi free (appreciated as had to pay in most hotels). Loved the pool and barbecue area - had fun cooking a few steaks and really felt it was how we imagined Australia to be. Staff really helpful and friendly. Good eating places nearby - you can even get a lean good takeaway at the Grill on the corner, or enjoy a good breakfast overlooking the beach. Enjoyed the pub further up and a nice Italian restaurant too. Shopping centre about a 15 minute walk. We preferred it to the shop up the road which was more expensive and had less choice. Hired a car locally for a couple of days and was easy to get to Cairns, Kuranda, Barron Falls and Port Douglas - a lovely ocean road trip with lots of twists and turns, so glad we did it in daylight! Also visited Palm Cove - it was a toss between there and Trinity Beach when we first booked our holiday and we decided we actually preferred Trinity so it was the right choice for us. Felt very refreshed and relaxed when we left - just what a holiday should be!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank goodhotelsonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
It is always pleasing to hear a Guest has been happy not only with our Property but with their choice in destination. We think Trinity Beach is the 'best beach in Cairns' and we hope you now do also. It seems you enjoyed every bit of your holiday and thank you for sharing this with other travellers. We would love to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards - Melissa, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My review would mirror the same as the one from Jan 15, 2014 “Giant room, great beach location!” We were 2 people in the Oceanview, 2 bedroom apartment (#34). The blinds being old and not blocking the early morning sun out were an issue for my travelling partner, but not for me as I was happy to see the morning sun. She put up blankets on her windows. My additional comments are; staff was great and very helpful with our tours! The room was clean but not spotless as the cutlery drawer was dirty (we washed it). The cushions on the couch were old and not very appealing to sit on. I put a towel on them before sitting down. There was a burnt out light bulb, the clock in the kitchen didnt work. Little things but annoying. I reported these things the first day and they were never fixed while we were there (6 nights). Over all though I loved staying there. I am a new traveller and didnt really know what to expect but was happy. I would go back for sure!

Room Tip: Be aware that this is an apartment/flat. Basics are included but you do need to bring things such as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JrSrTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your Review and great, honest feedback.

Since reading this I have been into the apartment you mention and have issued a detailed report to the Owner. Of course the cleaning issues are not his doing and I have addressed these with staff. Thank you for being so understanding and forgiving of these.

As for maintenance issues not being fixed during your stay, I was the one who took the maintenance report (bulb and clock) from you and thought you mentioned you didn't want it done whilst you were in house. These were attended to on the day of your departure. I am sorry about this misunderstanding. Normally we attend to Guest issues immediately they are reported - unless advised otherwise.

As a new traveller, you have done really well to put up with these things. As you mention, they are only little, but shouldn't happen. Thank you for your feedback. Honesty leads to improvement and we are always looking to improve in such a competitive market. Little things need to get done and we have again made changes to the way we do things as a result of this Review. If you ever do get back to stay with us again, I can assure you they won't happen again.

Regards
Melissa Speer - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

just back from 4 fab weeks at these apartments, we stayed in a 1 bed room (no 14)nice room, all the cleaning staff were brill Melissa and kevin were very helpful , could not fault the apartments or staff .go their you,ll love it . also thanks to mercury direct for making it possible

Room Tip: room 14 3rd floor corner best position
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baggieken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Sounds like you had a ball. Thank you for letting us and others know. I know the UK is a long way, but I'm sure we will see you again :)

Kind regards - Melissa (Kevin says thank you too!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Three of us spent 8 nights here just before Christmas in the middle of a fairly hectic month's trip to Australia. As a "mid-holiday holiday" it was perfect. Our apartment on the the third floor was clean & spacious with excellent facilities throughout. The views from the lovely balcony over the ocean were spectacular. The apartment was close to the amenities of Trinity Beach - 5/10 minute walk only. Trinity Beach itself is small and fairly limited but perfectly adequate for a quiet, peaceful and relaxing stay with some good bars and restaurants all within walking distance.
Staff in the hotel were most helpful and obliging throughout our stay - booking trips for us and even helping with the luggage up the stairs when we arrived in the dark and were unable to find our apartment!

Overall, we had a thoroughly relaxing week in this lovely part of the country and would recommend Beachfront Apartments without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Welcome back anytime!
Kind regards, Melissa - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trinity Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Trinity Beach
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#6 of 21 in Trinity Beach
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachfront Apartments on Trinity Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roydon Beachfront Apartments
Roydon Beachfront Apartments
#3 of 21 in Trinity Beach
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trinity Beach Club Holiday Apartments
Trinity Beach Club Holiday Apart...
#10 of 21 in Trinity Beach
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort
#5 of 21 in Trinity Beach
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Beach Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Beach Holiday Apartments

Property: On the Beach Holiday Apartments
Address: 49 - 51 Vasey Esp, Trinity Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Trinity Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Trinity Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — On the Beach Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly opposite the patrolled swimming area of beautiful Trinity Beach and within a two minute walk to local shops and restaurants. On The Beach Holiday Apartments offers 35 self-contained apartments. We have 1, 2 or 3 bedroom apartments each with its own private ocean facing balcony to capture the cool sea breezes and wonder at the amazing sunrise. Apartment types include Beachfront and 2 bedroom Ocean View - something for everyone. Stay for a night (one bedroom), a week or a month. WELCOME TO TRINTY BEACH, CAIRNS FAVOURITE BEACH. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your On the Beach Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Beach Holiday Apartments Hotel Trinity Beach
On The Beach Holiday Apartments Trinity Beach, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing