We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Blue Lagoon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Lagoon Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

The staff were very friendly and helpful with booking tours, the location was perfectly situated 10mins north of cairns and our 3rd story 2 room apt overlooked the lagoon, the pool and the mountains in the distance. Dining only 5min walk to restaurants on trinity beach or a convenient store up the road.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    139
    29
    7
    5
See reviews for
137
194
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helensvale, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is a great resort based just north of Cairns. Most of Cairn's attractions are to the north, so this worked out great, We were on the top floor and loved it. Nice and close to some great restaurants as well.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieDamien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Blue Lagoon Resort in a 1 bedded apartment overlooking one of the pools .The apartment was clean, spacious and had every you needed, washing machine, dryer, fully equipped kitchen. Stayed there for 14 nights. The beach is about five minutes walk away where you can also find a few restaurant/cafes; we ate a lot at The Trinity Beach Bar and Grill. If you look for a good value for money and a great location then these apartments were very good.
The staff at Reception were lovely nothing was too much trouble. In fact, when we were leaving a guest had left something in her room and it was a public holiday one of the reception staff came in especially for her and got the guest her items .It is a great location for anyone.

Room Tip: If you have a young family there are some apartment that access the poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julie4240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

After reading all the good reviews for this resort we were looking forward to our stay but sadly it left us disappointed. We had a 2 bedroom apartment for 1 week, the apartment was well appointed and beautifully furnished but they are not serviced daily unless you pay a supplement although we did get a change of linen and towels midweek due to the length of our stay. We had an issue with the air conditioning not working in the main bedroom and in fairness once this was reported they arranged for it to be fixed the same day/evening. A big minus is the lack of Wifi only available at the reception hotspot! We had been travelling round Australia for 4 weeks and had never had any issues with this previously and being such a long way from home (the UK) we relied on using our IPad for keeping in touch with home so this was a big inconvenience. The staff on reception are friendly and very helpful with trips etc but the reception is only open 8/6 and shorter hours at the weekend which could be an issue if any problems arise, also if you arrive late they leave the key in a safe box and won't be there to greet you. The weather was very poor whilst we were there with rain everyday bar one! apparently unusual for the time of year but there is little to do in the resort or surroundings when the weather is bad and the day trips are very expensive to keep going out on. Good choice of restaurants within 5 mins walk although some only open in the evenings with breakfast at weekends. There is a small shopping centre 10 mins walk up the road with a good small supermarket, post office, bottle shop, bakers and butchers. The apartments had full kitchen facilities with dishwasher and large fridge, there was a washing machine and tumble dryer which were great as we were away from home along time and had limited luggage allowance. With hindsight a week was too long and I wish we had stayed a shorter time and then moved on to see somewhere different. Would highly recommend the Magic Reef Barrier reef trip but not the Cape Tribulation rainforest tour which took 2 hours to get there for a croc cruise! and a 55 min walk round the forest! very expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonl8holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueLagoonTrinity, Manager at Blue Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thanks for staying at Blue Lagoon and taking the trouble to review our resort.
We are pleased that you liked the apartment and agree that they are well appointed and beautifully furnished and as you say “The apartments had full kitchen facilities with dishwasher and large fridge, there was a washing machine and tumble dryer which were great as we were away from home along time and had limited luggage allowance”. They are also self-catering apartments which are not serviced daily unless requested at the time of booking but are given a complimentary service mid stay if your stay is 7 days or longer.
We do offer a free WiFi hotspot at and around reception with seating inside and out (available 24/7) and a computer terminal connected to the internet free for our guests to use as well. WiFi is not available in rooms at present and we clearly advertise it is a “Free Hotspot” only. Check-in is available 24 hours but the reception is not open that long, as, once again these are self-catering apartments but if help is required it is only a phone call away as you saw when you reported a problem with your air-con which was fixed that same afternoon.
We at Blue Lagoon Resort love what we do and want all our guests to have wonderful time and do all we can to facilitate that, including advice on tours and trips but if guests don’t ask or book with us, then that, like the weather, is beyond our control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

On arrival our package inclusions were not handed to us, Blue Lagoon said they never received paperwork for them. We contacted our agent and were advised we should have been given them upon arrival. Receptionist accused our agents of being "Liars". Was not a great start to the holiday we had been looking forward to for 12 months! Had problems with the air conditioning, which did get fixed, but again the receptionist insisted we had the unit on the wrong setting after we had followed directions precisely. The unit outside was point blank not working no matter what setting it was on. The day before we left we needed to confirm our airport transfers, which it clearly states in their book of words that they can assist you with this, my husband went to reception to ask if they could call and confirm and was told that he needed to do this himself as often the wrong information was given and they didn't want to be liable. This was totally poor and very bad service! On another note, the apartment was clean, tidy and comfortable. The service let this place down big time!!!

Room Tip: Doesn't matter if you request a room or not, we did 3 months in advance, and was told the place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenys N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueLagoonTrinity, Manager at Blue Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thanks for staying at Blue Lagoon and taking the trouble to review our resort.
We apologise for the less than ideal start to your holiday but the paperwork we received from your agent did not mention the package inclusions so there was no way we could know that they should have been provided. Once we were made aware of the inclusions then of course these were provided.
We do book and confirm transfers to and from the airport, many hundreds, as well as thousands of trips to the reef and rainforest etc. In this case the transfer was not booked by us. If we do not book a transfer or trip then we do not confirm it (as it is a private arrangement between the guest and tour/transfer company) but do provide the means necessary to do so. There is a phone in the apartment, free WiFi in reception or as in this case we allow the guest to use free of charge, a phone in reception. These are self-catering apartments not a hotel.
Unfortunately your holiday got off to a bad start and perhaps coloured your perception of our resort. However, we would gladly welcome you back in the future and a tip, book with us direct to save any missing or “lost in translation” paperwork!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Blue Lagoon Resort in a Studio apartment overlooking one of the pools as well as the lagoon. The studio was clean, spacious and had every you need. Stayed there for 3 night. The beach is about 5 minutes walk away where you can also find a few restaurant/cafes.
If you look for a good value for money place to stay somewhere along the beaches outside Cairns I would recommend checking out the Blue Lagoon Resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JRN_192382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copacabana
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Great room right next to a pool (one of 3). Very close to beach with good restaurants nearby and on site. We had a studio apartment that was quite large.and well equipped. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillCopacabana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinity Beach
0.1 mi away
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Trinity Beach
170 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort
#4 of 21 in Trinity Beach
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beachfront Apartments on Trinity Beach
0.2 mi away
Roydon Beachfront Apartments
Roydon Beachfront Apartments
#3 of 21 in Trinity Beach
503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trinity Beach Club Holiday Apartments
Trinity Beach Club Holiday Apart...
#11 of 21 in Trinity Beach
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Resort

Property: Blue Lagoon Resort
Address: 22-26 Trinity Beach Rd, Trinity Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Trinity Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Trinity Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Lagoon Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Hotel Trinity Beach
Blue Lagoon Resort Trinity Beach, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing