We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, Unfriendly, Not dog friendly and Pretty Ordinary.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ceduna Shelly Beach Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expensive, Unfriendly, Not dog friendly and Pretty Ordinary.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We spent a night in a cabin at this caravan park and based our choice on other reviews, the fact it was listed as a dog friendly park and we wanted a cabin with an ensuite. This was going to be the last stop on a road trip that my husband and our 2 year old toddler did across the nullarbor before heading back home to Adelaide. The cabin cost $133 which we had assumed at payment included linen but then found out later, it didn't. When we arrived and checked in, we were told briefly about the cabin and where it was situated in the park. We had also enquired about the patio area where our dog could stay as the website stated "Dog friendly cottage accommodation so you can travel with your pet and they have a comfortable stay in the enclosed patio area." However we were quite rudely told that if our dog fouled the area, we would be charged a $30 cleaning fee. As a result, we elected to leave our dog outside the cabin for the evening due to the threat about the cleaning fee. We even took photos of the patio area on departure in case the charge came off our credit card.

On arrival at the cabin it was pretty dark as we fumbled around to open up and find some lighting. Once we opened up the cabin we then realised the ensuite was separated by the patio so to get to it we had to walk outside into a cold, unheated bathroom. Not great in winter when you have a 2 year old. Probably the only good thing about this place is that it was clean.

In our view the cabin was pretty basic, the park was not dog friendly and the service we received was unfriendly and definitely not worth the $133. Needless to say we won't be back here and won't be recommending this park to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SA_Traveller41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownie-ceduna, Owner at Ceduna Shelly Beach Caravan Park, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
I am deeply concerned that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We go out of our way to make dogs and there owners welcome. There are some obligations that need to be explained and I apologize if you have taken offence at this. We have never charged any one for their dogs fouling the courtyard area and if we found it necessary to do that we would certainly discuss it with them first.
Your en-suite had recently been renovated with all new fittings and tiled from floor to ceiling.The cabin is rated at 3.5 star by AAA Tourim which has a full kitchen stand alone stove and full size fridge with all utensils and every thing you should need to cook your own meal. The new digital flat screen has an inbuilt DVD player and 35 Foxtel channels which can be viewed from your dining table or the bedroom because of its special swivel bracket.

Regards
Lynton Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    76
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
98
172
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dubbo, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked for two nights and wished we could have stayed longer.
The staff were very friendly and accomodated in getting our big van into a large drive through site.
The amenities were very clean and the grounds were well kept. Loved the big Wood fired Pizza Oven.
If you are lucky enough to secure a site on the foreshore you will be delighted at the view and also the fishing, but regardless of what site you are on , I am sure you will want to extend your stay also.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownie-ceduna, Owner at Ceduna Shelly Beach Caravan Park, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hi Pam and Nat,

Glad you had a great experience at the park, hope to see you soon.

Regards
Anna Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked into a drive thru site for 3 nights, but were so happy and relaxed that we extended our stay to a week. Linda was very welcoming and provided a map with some invaluable tips on making the most of our visit to the Ceduna area. Our site #6 was situated on flat ground well protected behind a HUGE sand dune and the ambiance was very peaceful. Sites in this area are divided by greenery and timber screens, sullage is discharged around trees. There are a number of very clean, small uni-sex amenity blocks around the park. A large screened building includes: Games room, separate 'large screen' TV room, very clean Laundry, and two larger bathroom/toilet rooms. There is also a screened camp kitchen, with BBQs, and a separate bricked open fire place. Cabins/villas are available, and it is very quiet with lots of birdsong, and friendly flies. Just a short walk up the dune leads to other van sites and several villas sitting high on the dunes overlooking Decres Bay, and there is also a swimming beach which we admired from afar while watching people walking their dogs. Magic! We would definitely return to this park and thoroughly recommend it for a feel good experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownie-ceduna, Owner at Ceduna Shelly Beach Caravan Park, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi Paulie,

Thank you for your feedback and happy to hear
that you had a wonderful experience while staying at the park.

Regards
Anna Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daylesford
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed a night here rather than right in town - great little tent site walled for protection and right opposite the substantial camp kitchen setup. Best camp kitchen so far on my trip. Huge open fire area with wood supplied and seating and table to catch up with other travellers. Superb amenities just near by. Surf beach just a short walk on well marked tracks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownie-ceduna, Owner at Ceduna Shelly Beach Caravan Park, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Glad you enjoyed the facilities of the park and shared stories with other travellers around the open fire place. That's what travelling is about experiencing places and meeting new people
Regards
Anna Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a cabin for 3 nights. Very clean.comfortable an affordable. Clean tidy caravan park. Excellent amenities and very friendly helpful staff. Great fishing spots we will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalwallinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownie-ceduna, Owner at Ceduna Shelly Beach Caravan Park, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your positive comments and look forward to your next visit :)
Regards
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

I booked a villa for our drive across Australia simply because we had a dog and this caravan park is pet friendly! I didn't have great expectations and was blown away with how friendly the owners are and how clean and well laid out the villa was. Took the dog for a walk to the beach the caravan park is on in the morning and just fell in love with the place. Was sadly disappointed that we had to hit the road and could not stay longer!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simone R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownie-ceduna, Owner at Ceduna Shelly Beach Caravan Park, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Hi Simone,
Thanks for your feedback. Hopefully you can stay longer in our pet friendly cottages and make it a holiday destination next time you visit the park.
Kind Regards
Anna Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koondrook, Australia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

How good is this place? Fantastic friendly owners get you booked in and explain all the facilities available to campers. Realistically priced and the use of a free crab cooker and fish cleaning facilities for the abundant seafood easily caught on the beach at the back of the caravan park or from the jetty in town. Amenities are everywhere and very well thought out. Separate en-suite bathrooms for everyone and all within a building with proper fly screen doors, always spotlessly clean. Free grapes and figs were offered to us on arrival which could be picked fresh from the covered orchard out the back. Good sized sites with established trees and shrubs between each site for privacy. A lovely place to stay so we stayed for a week.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownie-ceduna, Owner at Ceduna Shelly Beach Caravan Park, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Hi John, glad that you enjoyed your stay. See you next time.
Cheers
Anna Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ceduna hotels
1.9 mi away
Ceduna Foreshore Hotel Motel
1.8 mi away
A1 Cabins
A1 Cabins
#4 of 5 in Ceduna
8 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ceduna Motor Inn
Ceduna Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Ceduna
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ceduna Motel East West
2.6 mi away
Highway One Motel
Highway One Motel
#3 of 4 in Ceduna
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceduna Shelly Beach Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceduna Shelly Beach Caravan Park

Property: Ceduna Shelly Beach Caravan Park
Address: 244 Decres Bay Rd, Ceduna, South Australia 5690, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Ceduna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Ceduna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ceduna Shelly Beach Caravan Park offers a selection of accommodation ranging from secluded camping sites to Luxury beachfront spa villas and our new Eco Friendly Beach Shacks. Indulge yourself in the luxury 2 and 3 bedroom beachfront spa villa accommodation set on a living sand dune with magnificent views of bird and sea life from your balcony. The villa accommodation is spacious with therapeutic spa, lock up garage, 42" screen TV, Foxtel and heated floors. Enjoy your complimentary bottle of wine or beer as the spectacular sunsets appear over Bosanquet Bay. The park is well laid out with spacious shaded sites close to the en-suite style amenities that are serviced daily. Stay in our pet friendly cottages accommodation with private patios and walk your dog over to the dog friendly beach. You can enjoy the TV & games room with the family, hire the go karts or enjoy an afternoon on the beach. Ceduna is the Oyster capital of Australia. Local fresh Oysters are delivered daily and are available in the kiosk along with all your essential fishing supplies, free crab net hire and experienced local knowledge of all the best fishing spots and attractions in the area. We have a world class whale watching event at the Head of Bight where you can see the Southern Right Whales meters away from the viewing platforms. Swim with the sea lions at Bairds Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ceduna Shelly Beach Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing