We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Ocean Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn(Kingscote)(Great Value!)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments(Kingscote)(Great Value!)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge(American River)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Links Lady Bay Resort(Normanville)(Great Value!)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casuarina Coastal Units(American River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (678)
Filter reviews
678 results
Traveller rating
612
40
17
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
612
40
17
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat roomwine cellarthe cliffsea lionsincluded toursremarkable suitefood and wineevery mealkangaroo islandevery aspectbucket listhigh expectationsfloor to ceiling windowsstunning locationclassic menuother guestsremarkable rocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
585 - 590 of 678 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Southern Ocean Lodge exceeded our expectations in all ways, from the moment we entered. The ambience, furnishings, staff, food, wine, excursions, you name it, everything! It was a truly memorable experience and its on our list to go back to.

The food, oh my - divine, you never went hungry. You could have a 3 course breakfast, morning tea, 3 course lunch with matched wine, afternoon tea, canapes & cocktails, and then a 4 course dinner with matched wine. It was all sourced locally and served as amazingly tasty dishes. They even cater for special dietary requirements, with no fuss.

The lodge is so clean and made so by invisible cleaning staff.

Great excursion included that really allow you to experience the island and its attractions without hassel.

We couldnt pick fault with Southern Ocean Lodge. We loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FussyVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Southern Ocean Lodge certainly is one of the best places I have seen. Rooms, food, service. Everything was great and close to or even percect. We loved the personal approach, the invisible housekeeping staff, the great cusine and the wonderful bar. I can only refer to all the wonderful comments on TA. The only slight criticism I would like to mention is the spa which was to my believe not en par with the rest of the resort. Being used to great Asian places this place was more like a "medical spa" in Europe and neither the spa staff nor the design of the rooms did offer a real "experience". However, this littles "minus" could not spoil our vacation. One more aspect: We did not book this place directly but via a German tour operator. This was about 15% cheaper than a direct booking.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raweimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

As fellow participants in the first "Expedition Kangaroo Island" we would like to endorse Susie Davison's review of the experience. The generosity and attention to detail of the Lodge's owners is as impressive as the stunning location and building. Adrian required intensive rest and recouperation, and this was provided with the utmost discretion and courtesy. Sue was able to enjoy all the activities on offer, provided by the Island's most interesting, knowledgeable and creative people. Having visited the Island in 2009 as self-guided wilderness seekers, we believe that there is no comparison to the all-inclusive experience provided by Southern Ocean Lodge.

Sue and Adrian Lewis

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aandslewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Rare indeed can you find a holiday destination so remotely stunning and so utterly luxurious with uber friendly attentive service.Lou and Ben, the managers have a great reputation. We experienced this at "Spicer's" in Queensland and knew that it would be an even better experience on Kangaroo Island.It's a young happy team, eager to please and always with a smile.Whatever the weather(and we had a combination of wild and woolly, wet, cool, rainy and sunny) the views from the Great Room and the suites are dramatic and stunning.You are guaranteed to have a memorable stay, enjoying the delectable meals, amazing cocktails, terrific wildlife and fun excursions.I promise you a getaway to SOL will be etched in your brain forever. Totally spoil yourself and go..................

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mirike123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

If you want a memory of a lifetime go to Southern Ocean Lodge in winter. The Lodge provides a very special week called "Kangaroo Island Expedition" - it is a magical place in winter. Be pampered, wined and dined, meet really nice people, be busy or do nothing. Experience what luxury really is, see the sights, take the photos, paint the pictures, learn new things - you will never forget it...............

Susie Davison

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yellowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews