We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best fish on kangaroo island”

Kangaroo Island Fresh Seafoods
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Kingscote
Price range: US$6 - US$38
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout
Description: We have a large range of seafood meals, fish can be battered, crumbed, or grilled. The fish is from the pristine waters around Kangaroo Island. We also have a retail option for seafood lovers to take home. Meal Times are Monday to Sunday 12.00 midday to 8.00 pm Fresh seafood available 9.00AM to 8.00PM 7 days a week.
Smithfield, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“best fish on kangaroo island”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It was sunny the day that I popped into the shop for takeaway fish lunch. We sat on the sea side with our fish and chips lunch. The fish is real, the staff know their stuff and the chips and pasta sailid were cooked well, so tasty. Thanks heaps guys, I will be back as soon as passable. Just sad you weren't open Saturday for lunch when I was going past again to say thanks heaps guys for my lunch earlier in the week. :-)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank pinkfrog2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    145
    29
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dandaragan, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Being attached to a service station was a bit strange but the restaurant came very well recommended.We gave it a try for lunch.There was a good selection of fresh fish to choose from.We chose the takeaway option.The fish batter was light and crisp.There was very little excess oil on the paper.The chips were fresh but limp,sadly.We enjoyed our selections very much.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rearingtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Fresh and great seafood”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We came by this restaurant during our research on Kingscote food places and marked it down as one of the must try place. It certainly lived up to its reputation for freshness !!
We had arrived a little after 630 pm after a fruitful day out exploring the south of KI. We were worried that the restaurant may have been closed but the team at Fresh Seafoods made us feel very welcome and helped us make a great selection for our dinner.
The whiting was succulent and fresh and the prawn and maroon tasted good.
It was truly a great way to end a pleasant sunny day in winter!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EPVIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
108 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice Little Restaurant”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

A nice friendly local restaurant, with both sit down and take out service.
The food was very good, but not overwhelming or special.
We enjoyed watching locals coming in and out picking up their orders.
The overall experience was refreshing, the food was good, and the price was very good....kind of not what you might expect in light of the fact that there are not a lot of restaurants to choose from and Kangaroo island has a captive audience.
Definitely worth a trip to try

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rod T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Yummy ...”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We chanced upon this little seafood restaurant from Tripadvisor and found it a really amazing place. The fish and chips were good and our children were asking for repeated visits. It is excellent value for money.

Tina and her staff were great - excellent customer service all the way. We had a good conversation and what impresses me was her passion for the business. Strongly recommend a visit here for people who enjoy fresh fish food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MLLok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tina k, Owner at Kangaroo Island Fresh Seafoods, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thankyou for your great review and I must say it was a pleasure to meet your family, so often we leave a lasting impression on our customers, and its lovely to have customers that leave a lasting impression on us. I will always remember the great conversations we had, and your beautiful girls, it makes all our hard work worthwhile with fondest regards Tina and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kangaroo Island Fresh Seafoods also viewed

Kingscote, Kangaroo Island
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 

Been to Kangaroo Island Fresh Seafoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing