We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite places”
Review of Kangaroo Island Penguin Centre - CLOSED

Kangaroo Island Penguin Centre
Attraction details
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

This was an amazing day and so peaceful. The tour guide I had was fantastic. The amazement of the sunset on the beach watching the penguins arriving was amazing.

I cannot wait to come back.

Helpful?
1 Thank misskaty44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennyKIsland, Owner at Kangaroo Island Penguin Centre, responded to this review, 28 October 2014
Hello C T,

Unfortunately you email has come to the Kingscote Penguin Centre (Kangaroo Island Penguin Centre) instead of the Penneshaw Penguin Centre which doesn't have a Trip Advisor account.

I am one of the owner/operators of the Kangaroo Island Penguin Centre in Kingscote and we closed our business in Kingscote on November 21st 2013, because of lack of Penguins so we weren't open in December when you did your tour.

We closed our business due to the lack of Penguins, and this is primarily caused by the rapid rise of the New Zealand Fur Seals since 2010 killing them when they come ashore to feed their chicks. Because we ran our business for 13 years, observing the Penguins each night for 364 nights a year, we believe we have a good understanding of why they have declined.

Its a sad situation all around.

Kind Regards, Jenny Clapson, Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    24
    33
    8
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Kangaroo Island Penguin Centre”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The place is well kept & the guide is friendly.

Unfortunately, it is deeply regretted to note that the penguins have really dwindled during our visit. We are only able to view only ONE penguin during our entire night outing. Apparently the New Zealand sea lions have been making penguins as their staple food which resulted in their shrinking population. During the earlier days, seal hunting was widely practiced by the early American settlers for their fur which resulted a drastic drop in the sea lions population. But today, the protection of these species had created a reversed with the NZ seal lions happily devouring the " poor little penguins".

As the animals are from the wild, please be aware of the disappointment should you have high hopes during nocturnal watch!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank YeeLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The decimation of the penguins”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The 'public story' of the seal lions and fur seals eating the penguins obscures the terrible truth that the penguins at Pennershaw at KI have largely been decimated by the massive expansion of the Sealink ferry terminal. There is a road to the ferry that goes straight through their breeding areas. They are either run over on the road or so stressed they regurgitate their stomach contents. This colony used to number in the 100s. Now it is a handful. Why was this disaster ever allowed to happen? Absolutely tragic.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Josie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennyKIsland, Owner at Kangaroo Island Penguin Centre, responded to this review, 28 October 2014
Hi Josie,
Your thoughts about the penguins have come to the Kangaroo Island Penguin Centre in Kingscote instead of the the Penneshaw Penguin Centre near the Sealink Ferry.
Unfortunately we have the same problem that the Penguin numbers have declined dramatically since around 2010 and we had to close our business last November 2013 as we were only seeing about 5 Penguins. The problem has been the seals as their numbers began to increase since 2010, and many people have witnessed the penguins being killed at night by the seals as they come ashore to feed their chicks. What happens then is the chicks die of starvation. I began the first Penguin Census in Kingscote in 2005, which has then continued every year in conjunction with the Department of Environment which then expanded the Census to around 7 colonies around Kangaroo Island for several years. Unfortunately, all of those colonies are declining too.
I wish it was different and a simple solution, but it isn't. Kind Regards, Jenny Clapson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Penguin tours”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We visited the centre on the first night of our stay only to discover that the penguin tours are closed until further notice due to the penguin numbers declining because of the New Zealand fur seals eating them! Bit disappointing.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Pauline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cikarang, Indonesia
1 review
“Kangaroo Island Penguin Centre”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Amazing,,,Fantastic,,,Beautiful,,,Cute,,,Specta,,,Paradise,,,Fun,,,Relax,,,Ga Nyesal Ke Kangaroo Island. Hehehehe

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ahmad_Fathony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kangaroo Island Penguin Centre also viewed

Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island
 
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing