We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good price”
Review of Queenscliffe Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingscote
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Queenscliffe Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Kingscote B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Great food, good price”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

As a family of 5 just arrived on KI we had a great lunch at the Queenscliffe. Mum had tasty salad, kids had excellent schnitzel. Service was relatively quick. Obviously also popular with the locals. Only downside in middle of winter was the dining room was a bit cold and we had to keep our coats on.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiegirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    15
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kangaroo Island
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Went out for dinner with 8 international guests, the food was amazing, shark, squid, prawns all beautiful my guests had tried Kangaroo in other places in Australia and didn't like it, but I recommended they tried it here they loved it, highly recommend, you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niktourguideki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I was driven nuts by the volume of fried food on the island, I needed a place to sit and eat that wasn't a mass of meat. So this place offered a few items that we felt were ideal for us to get off the oil filled diet of the island. They don't veer off the menu so know that before walking in, you can buy everything which isn't cheap and then pick what you want. They don't offer table service given it is a pub. The drinks are standard pub style as is the food. The location is easily placed and the bathrooms are clean. MANGIA!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JANENARELLE_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannum, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We dined here whilst staying on KI. We were rather disappointed with the menu, and there was no table service, despite the high prices on the menu. We asked for a second drink whilst dining, and were told there was no table service. The food was okay but nothing to rave about, even though they advertise the fantastic quality of their seafood. There was only one staff member working behind the bar, and she was run off her feet because the dining room was quite busy. We ordered garlic bread, and I would have to say that it was the worst we've ever had. Garlic and cheese were oozing and dripping from the bread. Would have preferred more choice of meals and prices.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirlbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Eight of us had dinner there Sunday night.
Food was brilliant as was the service we had a nice peaceful meal we decided to stay on for drinks, 2 hours later at the dining table and no staff were trying to rush us out, The barman kept popping thru from time to time to keep us supplied with drinks {happy chappie with a big smile}
The hotel is full of old world charm with a warm homely feeling
This is the place for good old fashioned food and service.

Verdict = Good old fashioned hotel and service.

Recommendation = 9/10

Room Tip: Dinner & drinks only..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishofred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

While on KI we had car trouble and needed to stay in Kingscote an extra night. We happily checked out of the chain hotel we stayed at down the road, which was not good, and popped over to the Queenscliffe Family Hotel for the night. They were able to accommodate the three of us no problem. The owner is a really great guy who runs the hotel, the restaurant, and the beer garden. He and his whole staff were welcoming and friendly and we enjoyed being there. We were at a loss of things to do that weekday night as everything was closed outside of the hotel, so the owner gave us his personal dvd player and dvds to choose from in our room! The rooms are a little dated and in need of a little paint and a new style but they are clean and comfortable. The service is great and the food and drinks are spot on and local from KI. I would definitely stay here again as a base point for KI. Thank you Queenscliffe for making us feel so at home!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Verbena2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
0.1 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
836 reviews
17.3 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
384 reviews
52.1 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
0.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queenscliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queenscliffe Hotel

Property: Queenscliffe Hotel
Address: 57 Dauncey St, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kingscote
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Queenscliffe Hotel Kangaroo Island/Kingscote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing