We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queenscliffe Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingscote
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Queenscliffe Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Kingscote B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We went there for lunch and had two salads, 1 Thai prawn salad and 1 Chicken and Haloumi salad, both were the perfect size, tasty and good value for money and FRESH. I would recommend this place to everyone, especially over their main competitor Aurora Ozone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madison-Llewellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    11
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kangaroo Island, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is a very nice pub which serves nice food at a very reasonable price.
The dining room is spacious but you also have front bar dining available.
The sports bar has gaming and Tab plus Keno if you fancy a punt and if you like 8 Ball, the cues are well kept and the table runs true ($2 for a game).
There is an outdoor smoking area which is undercover.
Take away bottle shop service has a wide range of all products.
Apparently this pub is where the locals prefer to visit.
Overall, a very friendly atmosphere and being a 'family hotel' kids are welcome.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KITravelGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Ex Islanders hoping to enjoy a night out in a familiar pub (with KI local family)

Despite the lack lustre service of 2 of the bar staff ( who clearly don't enjoy working in hospitality) we had a good night out. Food was great ... Which made up for rude service in the front bar!!!

great way to promote the pub ..... Not!! You girls were so rude !!!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adelaide2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Attended the 'Queenies' as it us known in Kingscote, Kangaroo Island as a family of four. Excellent quality food, just the best value in town. Very nice surroundings and lovely hosts. Most recommended..!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
351 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

As a family of 5 just arrived on KI we had a great lunch at the Queenscliffe. Mum had tasty salad, kids had excellent schnitzel. Service was relatively quick. Obviously also popular with the locals. Only downside in middle of winter was the dining room was a bit cold and we had to keep our coats on.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiegirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kangaroo Island
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Went out for dinner with 8 international guests, the food was amazing, shark, squid, prawns all beautiful my guests had tried Kangaroo in other places in Australia and didn't like it, but I recommended they tried it here they loved it, highly recommend, you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niktourguideki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

I was driven nuts by the volume of fried food on the island, I needed a place to sit and eat that wasn't a mass of meat. So this place offered a few items that we felt were ideal for us to get off the oil filled diet of the island. They don't veer off the menu so know that before walking in, you can buy everything which isn't cheap and then pick what you want. They don't offer table service given it is a pub. The drinks are standard pub style as is the food. The location is easily placed and the bathrooms are clean. MANGIA!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JANENARELLE_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
0.1 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
11.4 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
17.3 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.1 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
0.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
0.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queenscliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queenscliffe Hotel

Property: Queenscliffe Hotel
Address: 57 Dauncey St, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kingscote
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Queenscliffe Hotel Kangaroo Island/Kingscote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing