We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was great, the service was below standard.”
Review of Queenscliffe Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingscote
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Queenscliffe Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Kingscote B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Treated a friend to dinner and we each enjoyed the Tuesday night special of schnitzel. We also ordered two extra bread rolls for our table.
Always remember to make a prior booking because the bistro does get busy for the snitty special night.
Things didn't get off to a good start with the serving waitress, who is rude. We line up to order and are instead told our table number but not asked if we would like to order our food then. So had to join the end of the line for another ten minutes. We never saw the waitress smile once the whole time we were there.
The snitty's were very nice, served with the usual salad and chip fare and they arrived quickly. I'm not sure why the salad arrives in a separate bowl on your plate instead of on the side, but it does.
There was no sharp knife however, so we used the only knife provided which also served as butter knife but that didn't matter because our bread rolls didn't arrive in any case.
After asking the waitress, who was busy sending texts on her phone, if she could find our bread rolls, she returned and plonked the basket on the table, no apology. Didn't seem to matter.
We did enjoy our evening out and would recommend dining here, but a little customer service would suit the bistro dining experience better.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank KITravelGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

I asked for something to eat at 10pm. They told me all was close but another guy got a ice cream. Cannot speak with them, they are easy to upset when you ask why.

Bad experience. Waitress arent helpfull at all. You can go to the pub/bistrot near ozone restaurant... thats a much better one with nice people, pool and darts !

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Caledoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We went there for lunch and had two salads, 1 Thai prawn salad and 1 Chicken and Haloumi salad, both were the perfect size, tasty and good value for money and FRESH. I would recommend this place to everyone, especially over their main competitor Aurora Ozone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madison-Llewellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is a very nice pub which serves nice food at a very reasonable price.
The dining room is spacious but you also have front bar dining available.
The sports bar has gaming and Tab plus Keno if you fancy a punt and if you like 8 Ball, the cues are well kept and the table runs true ($2 for a game).
There is an outdoor smoking area which is undercover.
Take away bottle shop service has a wide range of all products.
Apparently this pub is where the locals prefer to visit.
Overall, a very friendly atmosphere and being a 'family hotel' kids are welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KITravelGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Ex Islanders hoping to enjoy a night out in a familiar pub (with KI local family)

Despite the lack lustre service of 2 of the bar staff ( who clearly don't enjoy working in hospitality) we had a good night out. Food was great ... Which made up for rude service in the front bar!!!

great way to promote the pub ..... Not!! You girls were so rude !!!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Adelaide2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Attended the 'Queenies' as it us known in Kingscote, Kangaroo Island as a family of four. Excellent quality food, just the best value in town. Very nice surroundings and lovely hosts. Most recommended..!!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

As a family of 5 just arrived on KI we had a great lunch at the Queenscliffe. Mum had tasty salad, kids had excellent schnitzel. Service was relatively quick. Obviously also popular with the locals. Only downside in middle of winter was the dining room was a bit cold and we had to keep our coats on.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussiegirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
0.1 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
869 reviews
17.3 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.0 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
11.4 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
428 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queenscliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queenscliffe Hotel

Address: 57 Dauncey St, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kingscote
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Queenscliffe Hotel Kangaroo Island/Kingscote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing