We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing tour ever!”

Kangaroo Island Odysseys
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Kingscote
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kangaroo Island Odysseys offer the ultimate in first-class eco-touring with multilingual driver/guides. We tour daily in English, with regular French,Italian & German tours and Spanish and Japanese on request. Discover why our tours have received a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellent 3 years running! Experience personalized travel in comfort in luxury four-wheel drive vehicles and discover Australian wildlife as it's meant to be seen - roaming free! Tours range from 1-5 days and offer guests high quality wildlife and nature based experiences of Kangaroo Island. Private charters and tailored tours are also a specialty. Discover the best personalised tours of Kangaroo Island
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We spent 2 days with Odysseys. Gaylene (both days) and Nikki (first day) did a wonderful job! In the wild we saw an echidna digging near the road, koalas in trees above us several places and times, kangaroos grazing close and unconcerned (again several places and times), wallabies in a wooded area, a goanna (large lizard) in a field, many fur seals on the rocks and in the surf, and sea lions on the beach and dunes. And the lunches and accompanying wines were excellent! If we had to pick a single highlight from our 6 weeks in NZ and Australia, this would be it!

1  Thank pactrip09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaLink_Travel, Catrina - Marketing Coordinator at Kangaroo Island Odysseys, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear pactrip09

Thank you for your glowing review of our Kangaroo Island Odysseys tour. We are so glad you picked it as one of the highlights of your holiday to Australia and NZ.

I will certainly pass on your comments about Nikki and Gaylene, two of our fantastic tour guides! All of our tour guides are so passionate about not only Kangaroo Island but the wildlife and nature that KI is so well known for. They all know the best spots to 'get off the beaten track' to find every native animal possible!

Kangaroo Island is fast becoming known for its amazing local produce and quality wines – which we are proud to offer to our guests on tour. We do hope that you will travel with us again one day.

Cheers
Catrina, Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 179 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

Visiting Australia for the first time we heard that Kangaroo Island was a "must" to see. My husband, my daughter (19 years) and myself chose the Odysseys 2 day tour to see this great island - and this became THE tour! Our guide, Rosemarie, met us with a comfortable 4w Toyota land cruiser and gave us our best tour experience ever. She told us all about the island, the animals, flowers, history - all of it with extreme enthusiasm and high competence. The respect she showed to the animals and nature was impressing. Since we were a very small group we could stop wherever, take photos and have a closer look. Rosemarie knew where to find the kangaroos, wallabies and the koalas and gave us all the time we wanted to study them and admire them. The lunches we got were very good, and nicely prepared in the middle of the "bush" - as exotic as it could possibly be. We became very close to the guide during these two days and will never forget the care Rosemarie showed for us, especially for our daughter who is going to study in Melbourne. Thank you, Rosemarie!

1  Thank AMKielland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaLink_Travel, Catrina - Marketing Coordinator at Kangaroo Island Odysseys, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Hello AMKielland

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Kangaroo Island Odysseys, we’re thrilled that you have wonderful memories of the KI Odysseys tour and of Kangaroo Island.

Rosemarie is such a fantastic and professional guide, with a wealth of knowledge about Kangaroo Island and the wildlife and environment. All our guides are so passionate about what they do and it really shows when they take our groups around the island.

The advantage of small group touring is the option to “get off the beaten track” and have a really special and unique experience on the island.

Thanks again for your wonderful review – I’ll be sure to pass on your great feedback to Rosemarie.

Cheers
Catrina, Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My husband and I had no idea what to expect when we got off the ferry ride. From the moment we saw our guides Gaylene & Paul we knew we were gonna be looked after. We had the fortunate to have Gaylene for 2 days and sad we only had Paul for one. The wealth of knowledge they shared from the attention to every detail to making sure you had enough water to drink, time to take all the pictures you wanted to so much more. Impressed by the dedication towards safety during pre trip over view. As for what we saw in the natural environment it was more than expected. We had many opportunities to see so many different animals as well as plants. AND then .... You get a wonderful meal set out under a tented area. Such a great two day experience. We will highly recommend to all our friends who decide to travel to Australia.

Thank Traveling428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaLink_Travel, OMC at Kangaroo Island Odysseys, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Traveling428,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback and for recommending us to all of your friends travelling to Australia.
Kangaroo Island is such an incredible place and we are honoured to be able to show our guests around the island. The great thing about touring in small groups with Kangaroo Island Odysseys is that we are able to provide that personalized service that really ensures each experience is unique and all of our guests are looked after. We have such passionate and professional guides who pride themselves on their service.
We will certainly pass your lovely comments on to Gaylene and Paul.
Thanks Again, Monique - Online Marketing Coordinator, KI Odysseys (SeaLink Travel Group)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My daughter and I booked a tour and had Mark as our guide. We went in March 2013 and had a fantastic time. The trip over to the island was a bit rough on the ferry, so Mark let me ride in the front seat for the whole trip so I wouldn't get motion sickness. We talked throughout the tour and I learned a lot. He even gave me some ginger before I left (the seas were calm that day).

It was both relaxing and exciting at the same time. We enjoyed the company in our van (very interesting people) and Mark was knowledgeable and a great host. The meals were terrific.

We loved seeing the kangaroos, koalas, and sea lions. The natural beauty was also amazing.

When we went back to our bed and breakfast, we had the opportunity to look for wallabies at night. It gets very dark, so bring a flashlight!

Thank you, Mark (it took much too long for me to write this) for everything!
Nancy and Jill

Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaLink_Travel, OMC at Kangaroo Island Odysseys, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Nancy and Jill,
Thank you for your lovely and informative comments. We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with KI Odysseys so much! Kangaroo Island is a magical place and we are thrilled to be able to enhance that experience through our personalised tours and passionate and knowledgable guides (not to mention the delicious gourmet lunches!). We hope you’ll come back and visit us again some day.
Cheers, Monique - Online Marketing Coordinator, KI Odysseys (SeaLink Travel Group)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

3-day Eco Tour, Nov, 2013 led by Nikki Redman of Kangaroo Island Odysseys tour company. to Summarize: an absolutely outstanding experience: extremely well-organized, never rushed, same guide each day with outstanding knowledge of wildlife, flora, and regional history. Would highly recommend this company.

Thank rand h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaLink_Travel, Online Marketing Coordinator at Kangaroo Island Odysseys, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Rand H, Thank you so much for your fantastic review.

We’re thrilled that you had an absolutely outstanding experience. KI Odysseys Tours really are unique in that we pride ourselves on that small group, extremely personalised service where you can really get to experience the island with our passionate and knowledgeable guides.

We thank you for taking the time to recommend KI Odysseys so highly, it is wonderful to receive such lovely feedback. We will be sure to pass your comments on to Nicky too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kangaroo Island Odysseys also viewed

Kangaroo Island, South Australia
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 

Been to Kangaroo Island Odysseys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing