We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to see animals in their natural habitat!”

Kangaroo Island Odysseys
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Kingscote
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kangaroo Island Odysseys offer the ultimate in first-class eco-touring with multilingual driver/guides. We tour daily in English, with regular French,Italian & German tours and Spanish and Japanese on request. Discover why our tours have received a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellent 3 years running! Experience personalized travel in comfort in luxury four-wheel drive vehicles and discover Australian wildlife as it's meant to be seen - roaming free! Tours range from 1-5 days and offer guests high quality wildlife and nature based experiences of Kangaroo Island. Private charters and tailored tours are also a specialty. Discover the best personalised tours of Kangaroo Island
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great way to see animals in their natural habitat!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was our first trip to Australia and we started with a day trip to Kangaroo Island. The tour was well-organized with clear instructions throughout the transitions. Catching the bus at 5:30 am was a chore, but the bus driver was entertaining throughout the drive. The ferry was quite rough and we were both queasy at the end of the trip across to the island. I'd suggest taking the flight if possible. Once on the island, Paul and Gaylene were excellent guides. They took us to see the 'roos in their natural habitat, and Paul was a fountain of information. We had a great lunch under a tent in the wooded areas after finding a few koalas (who were predictably snoozing in the trees). Afterwards, we were able to head over to the beach to see the seals. The ferry back was much better and smoother, and we fell asleep on the bus ride back to the hotel. Overall it was a well-run excursion. In retrospect, given the length of the day (5:30 am until 10:30 pm) I would have likely just headed to one of the local conservatories in Adelaide to see the koala up close and see the kangaroos, but if you want to see these unique animals in the wild, then Kangaroo Island Odysseys is the way to go!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaLink_Travel, Marketing Coordinator at Kangaroo Island Odysseys, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Hi Johnn T

Thanks for your review on our Kangaroo Island Odyssey 4x4 personalised tour. Paul and Gaylene are excellent guides and so passionate about the conservation of the island and its wildlife and there is nothing like seeing Australian wildlife in its natural environment. They also prepare a mean lunch too!

We realise it can be a long day when you have an early start to catch the ferry. There are other options of doing a ferry/fly which would get you back into Adelaide about 7.30pm. This gives you a taste of both methods of transport to the island and is quite popular.

Hopefully if you get back to South Australia and Kangaroo Island you will be able to spend longer. Being Australia’s third largest island there is really so much more to see!

Thanks again
Catrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    19
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect day out in kangaroo island!!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

It has been a very well organized tour. We visited the best spots of the island and we got close to the cute animals living in the island (koala, kangaroo, pelicans, seal lion, etc.). Highly recommended! They are also very friendly and knowledgeable. Thanks Nikki and Terry. Andrea&Daniela

Helpful?
2 Thank Tatottolini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paul for president...of K.I.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Amazing start of our honey moon in Australia. Those 4 days with our guide Paul ("too much traaaaffic....!") are impossible to forget: excellent food, fantastic places and, above all, the relaxing atmosphere we were looking for... THANK YOU PAUL

Bertrand + Roberta

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bertcapra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaLink_Travel, Catrina - Marketing Coordinator at Kangaroo Island Odysseys, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi Bertrand and Roberta

Thank you for your lovely comments about our wonderful driver/guide Paul. We are so glad you had an amazing start to your honeymoon – and what better place than on Kangaroo Island!

We pride ourselves on our personalised, small group tours and love to hear that you have had such a wonderful time.

We will be sure to pass your comments on to Paul. Thanks again for the glowing review.

Catrina – KI Adventurer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“incredible tours”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

recommend this tour, very friendly and they teach you a lot about the island and the animals, the food very good lunch and you sirevena your liking, especially highlighting the snack in the afternoon surrounded by kangaroos, thank you for making us spend two rossmarie very special days
regards
finiy elisabeth
from sevilla

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank FINIFUNK F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Absolutely Our Best Experience in Australia!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Odysseys Tour of Kangaroo Island was absolutely our favorite part of our entire tour of Australia. Nikki is the best tour guide we have ever had. We started our 2 day adventure with Nikki picking us up from the ferry terminal in the big 4x4 bus. She was right there waiting for us, smiling, and ready to show us the time of our lives! She loaded up our extraordinary amount of luggage with no problem. We were the only ones on the tour that day and greatly enjoyed our private tour with Nikki! She started by taking us to the most amazing beach we have ever seen. As we stood there on the top of the cliff, we sighed, and said "Here we are. This is the reason we came to Australia." After we explored the beach and the rocks for a bit, when we came back Nikki had tea and coffee and cake waiting for us. We continued our adventure through Kangaroo Island looking for kangaroos, and plenty of Kangaroos we found. At the lunch stop, Nikki dropped us off and told us to follow the fence line back to camp looking for koalas as she prepared our lunch. We found plenty of koalas and a few snakes! When we made it back to camp, we were expecting a sandwich picnic lunch. Oh no. Oh no no no. Nikki had whipped up a 5 star meal out of the back of a truck in a tent with nothing but a grill. I mean, table cloth, decoratively folded napkins, wine galore, amazing corn chowder, great feta salad, garlic bread, grilled chicken, tsaziki, and potato salad. It was not only the best camp side meal I have ever had, it was one of the best meals I have ever had. We continued our day looking for more wildlife and made our way to the beach with hundreds of sea lions! It was a fabulous day! Day 2 was perfect as well. Went hiking through the forest visiting kangaroos, wallabies, and lots of birds. Had another amazing lunch, pumpkin soup, salad, rice, steak, garlic bread, and again, lots of wine. Visited the famous Admiral's arch and Remarkable rocks. Saw lots of New Zealand Fur seals. Beautiful wildlife, beaches, and history of the Island. Truly the best time we had in Australia, the best tour we have ever been on, the best tour guide Nikki, ever! Highly highly recommended! Cannot recommend this 2 day Odysseys Tour of Kangaroo Island with Nikki enough!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dancingbelle47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaLink_Travel, Marketing Coordinator at Kangaroo Island Odysseys, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hello dancingbelle

Thank you for your glowing review of our Kangaroo Island Odysseys tour. It’s wonderful to receive such lovely feedback.

We are so pleased you thought Kangaroo Island was the best part of your trip to Australia! It is such a magical and unique place and we pride ourselves on our ability to enhance that experience through our personalised tours and enthusiastic guides.

Nikki (and all of our tour guides) are so passionate about not only Kangaroo Island but the wildlife and nature that the island is famous for. Our guides know the best spots to 'get off the beaten track' and give our guests the best experience possible.

Our guides love to surprise our guests with the wonderful gourmet lunches! It is certainly a highlight to many. Thank you for your comment about it being one of the best meals you’ve ever had! Our catering staff will also be very happy to hear this!

We will certainly pass on your lovely comments to Nikki. We hope to see you again one day on beautiful KI!

Cheers
Catrina – KI Adventurer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kangaroo Island Odysseys also viewed

Kangaroo Island, South Australia
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 

Been to Kangaroo Island Odysseys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing