We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dolphin experience”

Kangaroo Island Marine Adventures
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Kingscote
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kangaroo island marine adventures is truly a unique experience in marine nature tourism, we are the only marine operator fully eco certified on kangaroo island providing best practices for our clients and our marine animals , come aboard our purpose built vessels and discover the wonders that await you on your marine adventure tour (dolphin swim). We travel along the pristiene north coast which is very much protected from the swell and tides to visit sea eagles in the wild, seals in there colonys, and swim with wild dolphins, visit remote beaches, snorkell amoungst some of the 240 species of fish life, enjoy morning tea of home made biscuits, tea, coffee in some of the most secluded parts of the island , kangaroo island marine adventures is more than just a boat ride , we allow you the time to enjoy your experience giving you a true understanding of our marine animals in there natural environment , our purpose built vessels are large and spacious allowing plenty of room to walk around whilst onboard to maximise the wildlife experience and get the best pictures. Our vessels are also very dry and stable providing a very comfortable ride in any conditions, our skippers have a combined 40 years of local experience in kangaroo island waters. Your safety is our number 1 priority, and our years of experience will guarantee you the best marine nature experience kangaroo island has to offer. THIS IS THE MARINE TOUR TO PUT ON YOUR MUST DO LIST WHILST VISITING KANGAROO ISLAND , BUT DONT FORGET TO BOOK , YOU DONT WANT TO MISS THIS .....
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great dolphin experience”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

If you make it to KI try and do the swim with dolphins. Its very accessible - you don't have to travel far to see a pod and the boat is much more comfortable than it first appears! We were in a small friendly group of just five and that was perfect - very individual, Andrew consulted us about the program and was able to tailor the tour to what we all preferred.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Syd60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    6
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Unbeatable experience in water with wild dolphins!”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful 2-hour tour with Andrew, the owner/guide of the tour. Although it was a bit unlucky for us to caught on a day when the weather wasn't in the perfect condition to swim without too many waves and clear water, the dolphins surrounded the boat and their beautiful movements were just unbeatable and unforgettable. Enjoy your ride on the water for about 30 mins one way to the dolphin pods and the scenes you see will be unexpectedly amazing! Andrew would stop the boar near the dolphins where you can go into the water to swim with them. He also makes sure if everyone is enjoying their swim in the water since it might be a bit scary for inexperienced swimmers. Snorkeling goggles are provided, so bring your towels and an excited heart then you can happily hop on board. Andrew is a very nice and informative guy who is at the same time eco concerned so he makes sure our behaviors and the tour are 100% eco- and animal-friendly. If you are visiting KI in great weather condition and not too worried about the budget, you shall never miss the tour! Visited 26/03/2013, Sheila & Will.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShuSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Experience!”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

If you do nothing else when you are on KI, make sure you take the trip to swim with the wild dolphins. I was a wuss when it came to inflatable boats and was very nervous of getting in and out of the boat. I needn't have worried! Help was at hand for getting in and out of the boat, no matter how able you were. There was no sensation of 'bouncing the waves' even when the boat was at speed - and it was my first snorkelling experience - which was just amazing and is to be repeated! I was impressed by their knowledge of the dolphin's behaviour patterns and by the care taken to let the dolphins dictate the pace. My cousin had the best experience of her life (her words) as she circled with a dolphin - looking eye to eye and definitely acknowledging a connection with each other.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbs W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome experience”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Best 2 hours of our life's! Andrew is a great tour guide with so much knowledge and flexibility. My daughter wanted to swim with dolphins and this tour was recommend to us by her friend.... Wow what an experience we saw and learnt so much. Then we hit the dolphin area where we saw about 40 dolphins swimming around the boat incredible! Even though the dolphins didn't really fancy playing with us that day Andrew still managed to get our large group in and out of the water for a swim with them! It really was amazing.... A must do tour if you visit KI.
Thanks Andrew

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Experience of a life time!!”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

What an amazing adventure!! I was lucky enough to be the first to slip into the crystal clear, shallow water to swim with a wild dolphin. He was so curious and playful. I will never forget looking at him eye to eye while he twirled under me!! Simply sensational!

Andrew goes out of his way to ensure everyone has a fantastic time. He is very flexible with his tour and is even willing to stay out a little longer if he feels some need more time with the dolphins.

I've done other dolphin tours/swims before but nothing comes close to comparing with this. I will be doing this again some day.

Helpful?
1 Thank jules1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kangaroo Island Marine Adventures also viewed

 
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 

Been to Kangaroo Island Marine Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing