We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kingscote
Geeveston, Australia
Level Contributor
295 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Top Stay”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Thank you for a great time in a very nice motel. All good, my brother and his wife on holidays from Switzerland and my wife and I loved it. Not sure if we will be lucky enough to come back to Kangaroo Island but I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Top location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bojangles1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    43
    25
    10
    0
See reviews for
19
48
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cronulla, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012 via mobile

Whilst this hotel could do with a makeover, the rooms are adequate, clean & not in disrepair. The included breakfast is nice. Cereals, juice, tea, coffee & toast. Basic but complimentary & enough to get you going in the morning.
The location is fantastic. 2 blocks from the centre of Kingscote, where you can find the basics of what you need. Pub, restaurants, cafes, supermarket, chemist, souveniers.
The Penguin tours are not far. A tidal pool is across the road. There are penguins that come in at night around the pool also.
You can base yourself in Kingscote for your stay on KI, but you will have a bit of driving to do if you want to explore the whole island. If staying longer than a few days, stay in a few different places so yor daily driving is reduced.
Would stay in this accommodation again.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lana2230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This motel has seen better days. Out room was clean but very dated and a bit sad. The staff at reception were very nice and the location was good but I wouldn't stay again unless I had to.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leelou28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Arrived to warm welcome, room somewhat of a shock, had to clean the kitchen out prior to use however then decided to eat out for the rest of our stay (4nights), decor definately needs updating, we stayed in the Matthew flinders suite which had great viewsand location but situated on top of owner's living space who are smokers, so if you don't mind the smell will be fine, cosy but old fashioned look, with a better clean would be worth the money, eg. We chose not to sit on the leather sofas, took one baby wet wipe which was black after wiping! In our opinion the room was well over priced, for where we stayed would suggest half the rate... On a positve Bedrooms ok, at least bedding clean, also another positive staff were friendly and helpful... But definately wouldn't stay there again :(

Room Tip: Might be better to stay in motel rooms on floor as opposed to Matthew flinders unit as they may be m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kingscote hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We stayed in the Matthew Flinders Family Suite (a 2 bedroom apartment upstairs with a balcony with great views across the water) for about a week. Although it has its own kitchen, you still get the included continental breakfast. You also get daily servicing (beds and bathroom, but not the kitchen) which surprised me as I thought being more of an apartment than a motel room, we would only get servicing once or twice a week at most.

Positive. The location is hard to beat. Kingscote is the largest town on the island and has the most facilities (hotels, restaurants, supermarket, bank, post office, etc) and all of these things are literally within a two block walk from the motel and most other things a tourist would desire in Kingscote are within walking distance (e.g. the Penguin encounter, etc). Also for getting out and about to other parts of the island, Kingscote is well-situated for getting onto all the major roads on the island. For the other main towns, Penneshaw is very much at the far end of the island (handy for ferry access, but further for most other things and generally has fewer services than Kingscote). Parndana is very centrally located but has almost no tourist services and isn't that interesting a place (by all means visit its local attractions, but I could not imagine staying there).

Positive. Good views out across the water to the jetty and beyond to the mainland (NE direction). Also, from the balcony and main bedroom, views across more to the SE.

Positive. The hosts were very friendly but, being fairly well organised, we really didn't call on their help much during our stay.

Mostly positive. Our apartment was mostly roomy and well-equipped and generally comfortable. The bedrooms were a bit cramped with the beds taking up most of the room, so there was no wardrobe in either of them (the wardrobe was in the vanity half of the bathroom). The beds in the 2nd bedroom were not so comfortable (the main bedroom was fine). The decor is a little dated, but nothing that bothered us. The positioning of the door into the inner part of the bathroom (toilet and shower area) is a bit awkward; a sliding door might work better here?

Mostly positive. The included continental breakfast is very convenient and served in a delightfully authentic old dining room in the 1920s building, but the breakfast itself is a little basic (as others have mentioned) and doesn't vary from day to day (not good for a longer stay). If you crave expresso, the bakery just around the corner in Dauncey Street does take-away expressos and is often from 6am on weekdays (later on weekends); their pies and cakes are rather good too!

Negative. The water tasted pretty awful and there was often a brown colour that took a lot time before the water ran clear (when the taste improved a bit, but still pretty awful). Even in instant coffee and after I'd thoroughly cleaned the inside of the jug, the unpleasant water taste was still apparent. I don't know if this problem was island-wide, just this motel, or just our apartment. Another excuse to go out for expressos from the bakery though!

Negative. We noticed that people tended to smoke under our balcony and the smell drifted up onto our balcony area (but generally didn't permeate the apartment).

Overall, would we stay there again? Or recommend it to friends? Yes, to both, although I think I might buy bottled water next time for drinking. I think as long as your expectations of the place are realistic (and I think the photos and info provided by the motel are pretty accurate in this regard), then I think it's reasonable value for money for a very convenient and relatively comfortable stay. However, our apartment is the only one offered by the motel; I cannot say anything about the experience of staying in the various other forms of accommodation offered by the motel from first hand experience, but from what I could see, I think similar comments would apply.

Room Tip: I think our 2-bedroom apartment is the best option. For a standard motel room, I'd probably go f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kr_afol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Seaside units had good sea views and facilities in rooms quite OK. Breakfasts were basic but disappointing in that only instant coffee (unbelievable!) and muesli essentially just rolled oats. Hosts were helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrahamWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
464 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 633 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

This is a great place to stay for your last night before catching an early flight out. Be sure to see the penguins. I would not recommend staying here longer, since the area isn't that interesting and it's a ways away from many of the other sights on the island. We stayed 2 nights at Kangaroo Island Wilderness Resort, and our last night here. That worked out great.

I also recommend seeing the sheep dairy, and visit the beach at Stokes Bay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim_and_Barbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
0.2 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
817 reviews
51.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
17.3 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
409 reviews
11.3 mi away
Casuarina Coastal Units
Casuarina Coastal Units
#2 of 2 in American River
36 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel

Property: Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
Address: 51 Chapman Tce | P.O. Box 37, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kingscote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kangaroo Island Seaview Hotel
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel Kingscote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing