We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Seaview from the room at reasonable rates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kingscote
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Greeted by a friendly host (the owner himself in the KI magazine) at the reception when we checked in. We stayed one night at the KI Seaside Inn and enjoyed with the beautiful sea view in front of us. The bed was comfortable. What more can we ask for?

The only issue we had was inconsiderate guest staying next door who smoked in the balcony inspite of the non-smoking sign. We had to close the balcony door. There goes our enjoyment of the sea breeze. Perhaps a penalty that hurts the pocket for offenders may help resolve the problem.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank SusanKublick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Owner at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments about the "famous" owner. We are very lucky to have a beautiful location with excellent sea views and happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us.

All of our rooms are non smoking and if we are aware of guests smoking in rooms we apply a penalty for extra cleaning.

Kind Regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

Well-presented, well-run hotel with attractive, clean rooms and very helpful staff. About 15 minutes walk from the centre of town and directly opposite a very pretty and safe beach. Ask for an upstairs room for a lovely view. Don't miss the pelican feeding at 5pm every day at the Kingscote jetty

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Zebracrossingfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience on our motel. I am happy you enjoyed the location and the great views. We are a small family owned business and enjoy providing a positive experience for our customers. The pelican feeding is great activity for all ages and a fun experience.

Hope you choose to stay with you if you visit Kangaroo Island again.

Karl Hughes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We used this a a base for a too short stay on KI. The room was on the first floor and had a very nice view with a balcony.
The room although not ultra modern was not out dated and was very clean and in good condition.
The beds were good, not the best ever, but I am a very big guy and they were ok.
The bathroom was spotless and well presented, not new but very clean and well maintained (so many aren't), my partner is very fussy and she was happy.
There was plenty of information left in the rooms, extra pillows and blankets in a cupboard and tea, coffee etc.
The air conditioning worked well, as did the TV and other appliances in the room. The lighting was perhaps a little dull with the wall lights not very bright.
We did not eat there so cannot comment on that.
The staff we very courteous, the room was cleaned and tidied daily and the facilities at the Inn all looked good.
A good stay was had.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank steakmeatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for taking time to comment and I am pleased to hear you liked the room, view and your stay and experience on Kangaroo Island. Our location offers wonderful ocean views and is ideally located for walks on the beach. We pass on all compliments to the House cleaning staff which is much appreciated.

Hope to see you again when you next visit Kangaroo Island

Kind Regards
Karl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The room with a spar was spacious, clean and well equipped. The view over the bay is excellent. The motel is well situated from a convenience standpoint, being near the town's services and shops. Staff were friendly, courteous and helpful.We have stayed here before this holiday and will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper rooms have excellent views and each has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to comment and are very pleased to hear that you liked your room and enjoyed the views. Many of our guests enjoy long leisurely walks along the foreshore and our location allows for a walk into the town centre. We ensure all staff are advised of the positive feedback they receive and we agree that they do a great job in providing excellent customer service.

We look forward to seeing you next time you stay.
Regards
Chris and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We didn't have any expectations when we arrived but after the checkin we were made to feel so welcome that it wa the beginning of a great stay. They had heaps of info for touring the island and answered all our questions. Once we opened the door the amazing views are breathtaking. A good size a spotless but its the view that you are paying for. We had 1 day that the wether wasn't great which was a shame but the other 2 nights we enjoyed sitting on the balcony. Would recommend as a great base to tour the island.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Owner at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you Debbie for taking the time to do a review for us. Being a small family run business, providing that personalised service is a priority of ours and when people notice and mention it, it makes it all worthwhile. It is important to get the local knowledge for touring and we always help our guests with that so they can get the best out of their time on Kangaroo Island.
Glad you enjoyed your Kangaroo Island experience and that we played our part.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Booked to stay here based on some of the reviews- not impressed. Yes the view is nice, but there are many other places that have a great view. Arrived after 4.30 pm, when finally got someone to come to front desk was told room not cleaned to come back in about half an hour. Told reason was they had lots of checkouts that day-this would have been known in advance and should have been planned for especially as arrived 2.5hours after you can check in. Rooms basic, very dated decor

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Karebear B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Owner at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Hi,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment. I am very sorry that we could not have your room ready when you arrived. I recall that the room was ready well before 4pm but as I said at the time it was going to be only 20 minutes before the room would be ready after you arrived, as we had already done the beds and dusted and vacuumed. You were worried that the room wouldn't be clean if it took only 20 minutes to clean, but as I said and explained at the time we had already done a lot of the cleaning for that room. As far as planning for this , all I can say is that we attempt to have the rooms ready on time but on this occasion it was not possible and impossible to anticipate. As is evidenced by nearly all our reviews our rooms are spotlessly clean and when we have a full house and rooms are not vacated on time we can't rush the job at the expense of quality.
We pride our selves on the personalised service and are disappointed you were inconvenienced by the room not being ready. We certainly hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay.
Regards,
Chris and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The room was very spacious and with a great view and a nice little bit to sit outside. There was also a little beach just across the road, which was not so good for swimming or sunbathing, but was excellent for a short walk at sunset/sunrise. Bathroom was very clean, as was the rest of the room. They also followed the convention of not replacing towels that were hung up, unlike many, many other places I've been to where this is ignored (despite the signs). Only slight downside was that the price of breakfast was a bit steep and the service and food in the restaurant was good but not excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank MMOx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Owner at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Hi,
We are very pleased to hear that you liked your room and enjoyed the views. Many of our guests enjoy long leisurely walks along the foreshore in both directions from the rooms and it is a very shallow beach which is great for kids.
We think it is important to allow people the option of saving water and using less chemicals by having their towels changed when they want. We are happy to change all towels, but as the sign in the bathroom says, we ask that those towels be left in the shower alcove.
Regards,
Alex and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
11.5 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
435 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
879 reviews
17.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
1 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
11.4 mi away
Casuarina Coastal Units
Casuarina Coastal Units
#2 of 2 in American River
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn

Address: 7 Cygnet Rd, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kingscote
Price Range: £74 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Inn is a family run business with 20 ocean view rooms. It has a great reputation for exceptional service and value. Located 1km from the main town of Kingscote it offers a great location for your Kangaroo Island holiday. Here you will get a true 'Kangaroo Island' experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Kingscote
Kingscote Comfort Inn
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn Kingscote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing