We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So hospitable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kingscote
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed here earlier this week to participate in a local conference. We arrived Sunday evening when the Inn does not provide dinner but the owner drove us into town and dropped us off where we could find something to eat. It was a lovely 10 minute walk back afterwards.
Breakfast greeted us next morning - a lovely buffet of local produce. Really tempting. Far more than I needed
The rooms were not fancy but really clean, tidy and comfortable.
Can not speak highly enough of Carl who helped in sorts of small ways ( a cup of tea in the afternoon after I had checked out) Thank you for a very comfortable stay.
And the view of the bay from my room was pretty good too!
Thank you!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Josie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Hi,

Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us while you were working on KI.

We try to use as much local and home grown produce as possible when preparing our meals and are glad to enjoyed the continental breakfast.

All of our rooms have excellent views and we get many comments on the size and cleanliness of the rooms.

I hope your conference went well and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Kangaroo Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
There are newer reviews for Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

We only had one night here, but the location is nice with views over the bay and in a quiet street. Breakfast was nice, the rooms clean and nice, the service was nice... all round nice :-). We would happily stay here next time we are on KI.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Hi,

Glad you to hear you enjoyed your trip to KI!

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. The location of our motel is in a great location with ocean view from all of the rooms and quiet.

We include as much local and home grown produce in the meals we serve and all of the staff pride themselves in the quality of service they provide to our guests.

Would love to see you again next time you visit KI.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Looks good, overall very good, the rooms are great design sense, but the bed was too hard ... can not easily fall asleep, others are good.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dola林
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

hI,

Thanks for staying with us whilst on Kangaroo Island.

Our location is very quiet and the rooms all have a sea view. I am sorry to hear you did not sleep very well as our beds have all recently been replaced.

Thank you for taking your time to comment it is much appreciated.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Decent hotel with great cleanliness and location. 45mins drive from the ferry terminal and a few minutes drive away from places like the lavender and honey farm. Great fish and chips nearby too. The room also came with a beautiful seafront. I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a decent 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Hi,

Appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay.

The views from all of our rooms have that great sea view and the location is central to local attractions.

We pass all comments on to staff who appreciate the positive feedback.

Hope you enjoyed your time on Kangaroo Island

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Location and staff were very nice and all rooms were clean! Fast and FREE Wlan - worked perfectly! From Kingscote it's not far to a lot of attractions on KI. The KI distillery is very close and worth a visit - excellent gin!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Impala_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay with us.

Our motel is located in a great position with great views and a short stroll into town. We receive many positive comments regarding the cleanliness of our rooms and the free WI FI.

All of the rooms have an outside area and an ocean view. Our restaurant is open from Wednesday to Saturday for dinner and every day for breakfast where we serve local and home grown produce. As the restaurant is popular with locals and visitors we do have evenings when we are fully booked though we do attempt to seat house guests whenever possible.

We hope you enjoyed your stay on Kangaroo Island.

Kind regards

Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

There are few options on KI but I don't think you can go wrong with the Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn given that you are in a relatively remote place. Our room was clean, the beds were comfortable, and we really appreciated the free Wi-Fi. We know there were guests next door but unless people are partying on their balconies, it is pretty quiet. The restaurant was closed to us for a special event but we had a good meal in town at the Ozone.

Room Tip: Any upper room facing the sea is good.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carry-on-Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay with us and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We receive many comments about the location and views from the rooms. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and personalised service.

We hope you enjoyed your visit to Kangaroo Island and the wonderful sites and unspoiled landscape.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Was it worth $152 a night, no it wasn't. for that sort of money you would expect a pool or a games room or perhaps even a free breakfast but nope there was nothing. The bed was lumpy and uncomfortable. It was $17 for a continental breakfast which was served in a marquee, so we passed on that, too expensive and too cold. The restaurant was advertised as open 7 days but was not open when we arrived on the Tuesday. We were told if we wanted to book the Restaurant on Wednesday we would have to be seated by 7.30pm.We stayed at Victor Harbor at a country club that had a bar, restaurant, golf course, gym, etc etc and paid the same price. On the upside the room did have a nice view and free wifi.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilovemeerkats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and we appreciate all feedback.

We are a small family owned hotel and depending on the time of year the prices do fluctuate due to demand.

The continental breakfast is served daily in the restaurant as the marquee is used for functions and overflow for dinner bookings when required. Restaurant hours are from 6.00pm to 8.00pm so our apologies for the inaccurate information.

Is it possible to advise where the advertisement for the restaurant opening hours refer to 7 days as we open from Wednesday to Saturday and we would like to ensure all our information is correct.

We hope you enjoyed your visit to Kangaroo Island and hope you visit again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
11.5 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
416 reviews
51.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
0.6 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
388 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
0.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn

Address: 7 Cygnet Rd, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kingscote
Price Range: £78 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Inn is a family run business with 20 ocean view rooms. It has a great reputation for exceptional service and value. Located 1km from the main town of Kingscote it offers a great location for your Kangaroo Island holiday. Here you will get a true 'Kangaroo Island' experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Kingscote
Kingscote Comfort Inn
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn Kingscote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing