We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and calm stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kingscote
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Had a lovely stay during off season. Stayed one night with 3 people. Room was a bit cold, it was the coldest night of the year, but the extra blankets kept us warm. All in all very satisfied for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hippiepiraten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Hi,

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and agree it has been very cold the last few weeks.

We provide extra blankets and all rooms have a reverse cycle air conditioning to keep the rooms at a comfortable temperatures in all weather conditions.

Hope you choose to stay with us again next time you visit KI hopefully in warmer weather.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed over in Seaside Inn for 1 night on our trip to Kangaroo Island.
We arrived late after an entire day of visiting the sights to the south of KI.
But the owner was left us a note stuck to the reception window to inform us of our room locations.
The rooms were generous in size and clean with working heaters.
The spa in the executive rooms were great!
It was about 10 mins walk to town but nearby is a good restaurant Fresh Seafoods at Telegraph road, inside the Caltex station that does justice to the freshness of the local seafood.
The internet worked well and the beds were comfortable.
We were not quite certain if the water was drinkable as it came out brownish when we tried to fill the spa bath. But the other taps were clear.
Hence we bought bottled water.
All in all, a wonderful stay. We will come back again when we next visit.


  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EPVIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Front Office Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us.

The rooms at our hotel are all reasonably large and all have an view of the ocean. The executive style rooms are fitted with a Spa bath.

The walk in to the town centre and Island Seafood is a pleasant walk and as the name suggests Island Seafood buy their fish directly from the local fisherman where possible, unfortunately they no longer operate the restaurant and sell fresh fish only.

We hope to see you again next time you visit Kangaroo Island

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The building is getting a bit old and the decor may be a bit dated, but this place is comfortable, and all the rooms do really have decent sea views. The Seaside Inn is a short way out of the centre of Kingscote, but it's a pleasant stroll into town for dinner, coffee or shopping if you don't want to drive everywhere. The dining room puts on a good dinner and breakfast, and all the staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly. This was a good base at a reasonable price for a week on Kangaroo Island.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Front Office Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments on your stay with us.

Our wonderful sea views are pretty hard to beat and as you say can be viewed from all of the rooms and the dining room.

The stroll into the town centre takes about 10 minutes and offers a few cafes, hotels and a couple of restaurants.

We hope you stay with us again when you next visit Kangaroo Island

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Seaside Inn is across the street from the sea, with nice views through big windows and comfy chairs to sit it facing the sea. There's a sailing club down on the beach, and the members were doing some manuevers between buoys until the sun set. The hotel has a restaurant where we ate dinner one night. After that a busload of guests came, so we decided it would be easier to look elswhere in town. The breakfasts (Continental) were good, with lots of fresh fruit, cereals and yogurt. My husband, however, said that the coffee was really bad. The dinner was good, and it's a good idea to get there by 7:30 - it's a smallish restaurant and mainly used by guests.

The rooms are nice-looking, with brick walls, a pretty hard bed and a refrigerator plus glasses. We wondered why, if there is usually a shortage of water, the bathroom sink faucets would be separate hot and cold, causing the use of a lot of water to make it handleable.

There are washers and dryers down near the office, and there is a nominal charge for washing, but drying is free! It was a little too far for us to walk into town, so we drove.

The hotel was comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stillhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Hi,

Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Seaside Inn.

We have a wonderful location which is forever changing with the seasons and it seems you stayed with us during our summer months when the sailing club is active and is very relaxing to watch the sailing boats from the balconies at the motel, the beach or the yacht club lawns.

Our restaurant has a great local reputation as well as with overseas and interstate visitors though as we are a small business we can often be fully booked.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your visit to Kangaroo Island.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Rooms very well-equipped and clean, quiet, wonderful water views with upper level rooms the best and ramps as well as steps to these rooms. Best motel of the bunch. Very friendly service. Restaurant was excellent as well - best steak I have ever had - wonderful cook, well stocked bar with local wines, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st floor have better water view than ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our stay with us.

We have a wonderful location with sea views from all of the rooms and receive much positive feedback on the cleanliness, location and service.

Our restaurant is open from Wednesday to Saturday and we are very popular with the local community as well who love our Friday Steak Night and receive many comments like yours "This is the best steak I have ever had" and use local produce where ever possible including local wines.

We hope to see you again next time your visit KI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Was very quiet location, located not far from main street of kingscote walk to pub on the water front
Room has water views, rooms were clean, had coffie & tea, beds were very hard to sleep on not much sleep

Room Tip: Quiet location, good value compared to rest island Not much sleep due to hard bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Aussie-traveller666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay with us.

We do receive many positive comments regarding the cleanliness of our rooms and the wonderful views from the rooms.

I am sorry to hear you did not sleep well as our beds have all been recently replaced.

I hope you enjoyed your trip to Kangaroo Island.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed here earlier this week to participate in a local conference. We arrived Sunday evening when the Inn does not provide dinner but the owner drove us into town and dropped us off where we could find something to eat. It was a lovely 10 minute walk back afterwards.
Breakfast greeted us next morning - a lovely buffet of local produce. Really tempting. Far more than I needed
The rooms were not fancy but really clean, tidy and comfortable.
Can not speak highly enough of Carl who helped in sorts of small ways ( a cup of tea in the afternoon after I had checked out) Thank you for a very comfortable stay.
And the view of the bay from my room was pretty good too!
Thank you!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Josie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Hi,

Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us while you were working on KI.

We try to use as much local and home grown produce as possible when preparing our meals and are glad to enjoyed the continental breakfast.

All of our rooms have excellent views and we get many comments on the size and cleanliness of the rooms.

I hope your conference went well and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Kangaroo Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
11.5 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
420 reviews
51.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
0.6 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
391 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
0.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn

Address: 7 Cygnet Rd, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kingscote
Price Range: £78 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Inn is a family run business with 20 ocean view rooms. It has a great reputation for exceptional service and value. Located 1km from the main town of Kingscote it offers a great location for your Kangaroo Island holiday. Here you will get a true 'Kangaroo Island' experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Kingscote
Kingscote Comfort Inn
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn Kingscote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing