We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments(Kingscote)(Great Value!)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge(American River)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$101
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$167
US$117
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Links Lady Bay Resort(Normanville)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casuarina Coastal Units(American River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveller rating
167
187
50
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
187
50
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskangaroo islandbig roomfree wifiwalking distance to townfrittatashort stayroom was cleancontinental breakfastcomfortable stayupstairs roomgreat view of the baysingle bedacross the roadgood sizefirst flooryogurtstayed one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 414 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed one night as part of a tour (with Exceptional Kangaroo Island) and couldn't fault the service or room. We had a large corner room, with a small seating area and a jacuzzi bath. The view looking out over the sea was lovely.

As part of the tour the hotel booked us dinner at a restaurant called Bella (which was delicious) - the hotel manager dropped us off and offered to pick us up in his car!

We would stay at the hotel again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank chaela104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Hi,

Glad to enjoy you enjoyed your stay and found your room comfortable. The rooms have an excellent view with an ever changing panorama.

As our restaurant is open from Wednesday to Saturday we are always happy to assist guests who do not have their own transport when we cannot offer dinner.

We hope you choose to stay with us again next time you visit Kangaroo Island.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed for four nights in June 2014.Despite a check in time of 2pm, we were early and were able to check in at 11am.Lovely.We had a car,so the walk to the town centre was no problem.Chef was on holiday,but Karl had some good suggestions for dinner.Breakfast was mostly continental with the addition of fresh pancakes or croissants.Very fresh and plentiful choices.Our room as spacious and spotless,on the ground floor.Sadly it was too cold to sit on the patio and enjoy the view.Bed was firm,and perfect for us.The room was very quiet-it was always a surprise to see how many other guests there were because we didn't hear any noise at all.Our welcome was genuine and Karl made time to chat which made us feel at home.Would visit again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rearingtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Hi,

Thanks for your wonderful feedback and taking the time to comment on your stay with us.

We serve continental breakfast daily and use as much local produce as possible. Our restaurant is open from Wednesday to Saturdays each week but we do close for a 3-4 week period to enable staff to take annual leave but there are some good options in town.

The views from all of our rooms are excellent though the weather does not always permit a sit on the balcony or a walk on the beach and all seasons offer a different view.

We look forward to seeing you again when you next visit Kangaroo Island

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Have a short stay at this inn.

It is just across the road from a small beach, and about 10-20 min walk to Kingscote main street (depending on how fast/slow you walk).

When we were there, the chef was on holidays and so there was no dinner (only breakfast) and we had to go to town for our meals. Chris (one of the staff there) was kind enough to drive us to town on the first night (we arrived around 6pm) so that we can have a decent dinner. The walk back was a bit scary as there was hardly any street lights (we are used to big city with plenty of street lights) and no one around (though Chris assured us that it is completely safe).

We stayed in a comfortable 2+1 room (1 queen size and 1 single) and all the basic amenities (electric flask, bar fridge, warm and cold water) are there. Wifi was abit patchy after office hours for ground floor room but the air con/heater is definitely working well enough for us :)

Room Tip: The building only has two storeys and there is a ramp (wheelchair access) to the 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurlyMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay with us.

We close our restaurant for dinner each year for about 3-4 weeks in the quiet season to enable staff to take annual leave and it is unfortunate that you did not get to sample the menu as we receive many compliments. We are more than happy to take guests into town and pick up at an arranged time when the restaurant is closed.

Happy to hear that you found your room comfortable and you enjoyed your stay on Kangaroo Island.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Had a lovely stay during off season. Stayed one night with 3 people. Room was a bit cold, it was the coldest night of the year, but the extra blankets kept us warm. All in all very satisfied for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hippiepiraten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Hi,

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and agree it has been very cold the last few weeks.

We provide extra blankets and all rooms have a reverse cycle air conditioning to keep the rooms at a comfortable temperatures in all weather conditions.

Hope you choose to stay with us again next time you visit KI hopefully in warmer weather.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed over in Seaside Inn for 1 night on our trip to Kangaroo Island.
We arrived late after an entire day of visiting the sights to the south of KI.
But the owner was left us a note stuck to the reception window to inform us of our room locations.
The rooms were generous in size and clean with working heaters.
The spa in the executive rooms were great!
It was about 10 mins walk to town but nearby is a good restaurant Fresh Seafoods at Telegraph road, inside the Caltex station that does justice to the freshness of the local seafood.
The internet worked well and the beds were comfortable.
We were not quite certain if the water was drinkable as it came out brownish when we tried to fill the spa bath. But the other taps were clear.
Hence we bought bottled water.
All in all, a wonderful stay. We will come back again when we next visit.


  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EPVIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Front Office Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us.

The rooms at our hotel are all reasonably large and all have an view of the ocean. The executive style rooms are fitted with a Spa bath.

The walk in to the town centre and Island Seafood is a pleasant walk and as the name suggests Island Seafood buy their fish directly from the local fisherman where possible, unfortunately they no longer operate the restaurant and sell fresh fish only.

We hope to see you again next time you visit Kangaroo Island

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews