We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kingscote
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“pleasant stay at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I stayed with my family in seaside inn for 4 days in December 2013, the breakfast was yummy, the staff were friendly, and the room was spacious than I thought, I will stay again if I revisit Kingscote in the near future.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank yya2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Front Office Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Hi,

Thanks for your kind comments on your stay with us in December.

Four days is good length of time to relax and enjoy the peace and quite and enjoy the views.

Our continental breakfast offers a little more than average and we try to use as much homegrown and local produce as possible so very happy to hear you enjoyed it.

We look forward to seeing you again next time you visit Kangaroo Island.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    170
    44
    9
    1
See reviews for
77
194
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is on the old side, but the rooms have been renovated, are clean and the view is awesome. Its close to everything. We would have loved to eat here too, but it was very busy in the restaurant, even off peak! Seems the food reviews must be right!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NicoleRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Front Office Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Hi and thank you for taking time to comment on your stay with us.

Have to agree we are lucky to have views from all of our rooms and receive many comments on both the views and the cleanliness, so thank you again.

I am sorry to hear you did not get to experience the food in the restaurant and we are often fully booked. We use home grown produce when we can and use as much local produce as possible.

Hope you enjoyed your visit to Ki and hope you choose to stay with us again on future visits.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were looking for a one night place midway between Flinders Chase and the ferry at Penneshaw, and this did the job nicely.
Location was great.
View was beautiful.
Free continental breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choices. There was also an offer of waffles, which we declined, but I am sure would've been very nice.
Restaurant wasn't open, which was a pity as I suspect they would've been quite good.
King-size room is massive. Spa was excellent.
It was a cold night and we could have used more blankets.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hi,

Thanks for your wonderful feedback on your stay with us.

We are very fortunate to have a great location with sea views from all of our rooms which are all quite large.

You were very lucky to have free breakfast as we usually charge per person and I must say the pancakes are delicious.

We do provide spare blankets and have heating in all of the rooms so I am sorry to hear that you were cold though we have been experience extremely cold weather.

I hope you enjoyed your travels on Kangaroo Island

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisville
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel is only about a 10 minute walk to downtown. Beautiful location with all the rooms having ocean views. The hotel also has the best place to eat on the island. The restaurant food was much better than anywhere else we ate.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Chester M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hi,

Glad you got to eat at our restaurant which is often fully booked due to popularity with house guests and local customers.

We are fortunate to be in a great location with all of the rooms offering absolute sea views and as you say not too far to walk into town.

Thanks for your wonderful comments and hope you enjoyed your visit to Kangaroo Island.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night as part of a tour (with Exceptional Kangaroo Island) and couldn't fault the service or room. We had a large corner room, with a small seating area and a jacuzzi bath. The view looking out over the sea was lovely.

As part of the tour the hotel booked us dinner at a restaurant called Bella (which was delicious) - the hotel manager dropped us off and offered to pick us up in his car!

We would stay at the hotel again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank chaela104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hi,

Glad to enjoy you enjoyed your stay and found your room comfortable. The rooms have an excellent view with an ever changing panorama.

As our restaurant is open from Wednesday to Saturday we are always happy to assist guests who do not have their own transport when we cannot offer dinner.

We hope you choose to stay with us again next time you visit Kangaroo Island.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dandaragan, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed for four nights in June 2014.Despite a check in time of 2pm, we were early and were able to check in at 11am.Lovely.We had a car,so the walk to the town centre was no problem.Chef was on holiday,but Karl had some good suggestions for dinner.Breakfast was mostly continental with the addition of fresh pancakes or croissants.Very fresh and plentiful choices.Our room as spacious and spotless,on the ground floor.Sadly it was too cold to sit on the patio and enjoy the view.Bed was firm,and perfect for us.The room was very quiet-it was always a surprise to see how many other guests there were because we didn't hear any noise at all.Our welcome was genuine and Karl made time to chat which made us feel at home.Would visit again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rearingtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hi,

Thanks for your wonderful feedback and taking the time to comment on your stay with us.

We serve continental breakfast daily and use as much local produce as possible. Our restaurant is open from Wednesday to Saturdays each week but we do close for a 3-4 week period to enable staff to take annual leave but there are some good options in town.

The views from all of our rooms are excellent though the weather does not always permit a sit on the balcony or a walk on the beach and all seasons offer a different view.

We look forward to seeing you again when you next visit Kangaroo Island

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Have a short stay at this inn.

It is just across the road from a small beach, and about 10-20 min walk to Kingscote main street (depending on how fast/slow you walk).

When we were there, the chef was on holidays and so there was no dinner (only breakfast) and we had to go to town for our meals. Chris (one of the staff there) was kind enough to drive us to town on the first night (we arrived around 6pm) so that we can have a decent dinner. The walk back was a bit scary as there was hardly any street lights (we are used to big city with plenty of street lights) and no one around (though Chris assured us that it is completely safe).

We stayed in a comfortable 2+1 room (1 queen size and 1 single) and all the basic amenities (electric flask, bar fridge, warm and cold water) are there. Wifi was abit patchy after office hours for ground floor room but the air con/heater is definitely working well enough for us :)

Room Tip: The building only has two storeys and there is a ramp (wheelchair access) to the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurlyMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay with us.

We close our restaurant for dinner each year for about 3-4 weeks in the quiet season to enable staff to take annual leave and it is unfortunate that you did not get to sample the menu as we receive many compliments. We are more than happy to take guests into town and pick up at an arranged time when the restaurant is closed.

Happy to hear that you found your room comfortable and you enjoyed your stay on Kangaroo Island.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
51.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
17.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
381 reviews
11.5 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
827 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
11.4 mi away
Casuarina Coastal Units
Casuarina Coastal Units
#2 of 2 in American River
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn

Property: Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Address: 7 Cygnet Rd, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kingscote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Inn is a family run business with 20 ocean view rooms. It has a great reputation for exceptional service and value. Located 1km from the main town of Kingscote it offers a great location for your Kangaroo Island holiday. Here you will get a true 'Kangaroo Island' experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Kingscote
Kingscote Comfort Inn
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn Kingscote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing