We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely local produce”

Clifford's Honey Farm
Book In Advance
More Info
US$153.91*
and up
Small Group Half Day Kangaroo Island 4WD Tour
Ranked #4 of 16 things to do in Kingscote
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely local produce”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

A warm friendly greeting kicked off our visit to this lovely little KI icon. We were able to learn about the honey making process & view bees working in a glass hive. Plenty for young children to do. We were able to taste a range of different products & they were all delicious. The honey is absolutely delicious and the honey icecream is a must before you leave.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    110
    55
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
156 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“don't miss the honey ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

It's interesting to learn about the bees and the island's honey industry. There is free honey tasting in the shop. For a fee, you can also taste some mead and get some ice cream. The ice cream is good with a mild honey flavor, would definitely recommend for the honey enthusiast. My husband, who enjoys honey, thought the honey tastes were distinct from other honey he's tried in California possibly due to the different plants the pollen came from in making it. Definitely worth a stop while in the area if you're a foodie.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LoveTheSunshine82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montville, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Honey Icecream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

It was a very pleasant drive to Cliffords Honey Farm. We watched the interesting video, read many interesting facts hung around the walls & watched the Ligurian bees create their honeycomb. But, the treat of our visit was the home made honey ice cream - subtle in flavour but a lasting honey after taste. Staff were very friendly & helpful & a well appointed gift shop.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank smix4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The icecream was great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

It was a significant trek off the sealed road in order to get here, once you do, there is a short 7 min video about how they produce the honey. There is a small viewing box of bees. You get to taste 3 types of honey, but the highlight is the $3.50 honey icecream which was so delicious. It's not much to look at, but the icecream is good and the people there are lovely :)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank truenorth27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mixed bag..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Their produce is delicious and of high quality, but they are hard to get to - definitely off the beaten path at 13kms off the main road, but thankfully you pass KI Spirits and the Emu Farm on the way, so you can make the trip worthwhile. There's not exactly a lot to do once you arrive except Taste test and shop, but I did appreciate the kids corner and sandpit for our 2yo to play in. He actually loved seeing the bees, so it was great for him!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mommaofon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clifford's Honey Farm also viewed

Kangaroo Island, South Australia
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 

Been to Clifford's Honey Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing