We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views”
Review of Aurora Ozone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingscote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Excellent hotel with nice views. Free wifi in the bedroom which is a bonus. Comfy beds and good breakfast. We were only on the island one night but this was a perfect place to stay. Friendly staff and speedy check in

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orlandoSunseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Hello Orlando Sunseekers Great to see you enjoyed your stay with us on KI. We appreciate your
comments and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Ozone Hotel.

Regards,
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

394 - 400 of 869 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Just stopped in for dinner at the pub for a counter meal. Shared a chicken snitzel and calamari. Was delicious apart from the watery mushroom sauce. The restaurant on the other side of pub was more expensive and had kangaroo on the menu so its for more adventurous people. I was happy just to have simple and tasty food that I know and like. Wished I had opportunity to have another counter meal there but ran out of time. I cant comment about accomodation as I didnt stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Hi Lisa P
We are pleased you stop in for a counter meal at our Pub. Those dishes are from our new Sports bar Menu and Bistro Lunch menu and are great value. We do have a larger menu in the Bistro which is more for Evening meals and does have some dishes catering for the more adventurous diner.
Thank you for stopping for lunch

Regards

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I have stayed here a number of times over the years and there is one point that stays true - be clear about where you book . There seem to be three sections to the hotel - the new section across the road, the original section by the pub and a newly renovated section of two stories along side the pub. I always ask for the new section across the road as it is consistently quieter and larger. The other sections get more road and foot traffic noise.

The rooms are large and well appointed , maybe starting to look a little dated but plenty of room and all the amenities needed are there including tea and coffee.

The hotel is also the local pub so there are good meals on tap and with plenty of local wine.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Helen C

Yes you are correct with three sections although we at the Hotel only class two sections
House 1 original Hotel Section and House 2 apartments across the road. As you state you prefer the Apartments (House 2) across the road and other guests prefer the Original section (house 2 ). so each person has a different assessment preference. Yes we have our Bistro which has great Sea views and good food on tap. We incorporate Kangaroo island produce where possible on both the Menu and wine lists.
Regards,
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

When we were booking online it wasn't very clear which section we were going to get, we ended up in the original pub side section, which was nice enough a clean small room facing the water. The info provided in room could be more helpful, ie hotel menu, room service, local take away and restaurant menus would be good. Overall average, but could easily be better. I definately recommend the local Bella Pizza place - fantastic pizzas

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandymac78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear SandyMac78. We are please you enjoyed you stay with us. Unfortunately when booking rooms they are in room types for example Seaview Executive room are in both sections so when you book you can be allocated to either Original Hotel section ( heritage refurbished) or House two section the building across the street. We are currently updating our in room information so we are sorry that there was limited information during your stay.

regards,

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed at the Aurora Ozone for 3 nights in December, from the 24th to the 27th. We were a family group of five – two couples and a 5-year-old. We stayed in a 2-bedroom/2-bathroom penthouse apartment.

One thing that should be understood is that the apartments are in a more modern building across the street from the hotel itself. They are privately-owned condos and it seems that the hotel acts as a managing agent, renting them out when the owners are not using them. (Our unit was for sale at the time of our stay; we saw the listing posted in the window of a real estate office).

When we arrived at the main hotel, the woman at the reception desk was in the middle of telling a couple that absolutely nothing on Kangaroo Island would be open the next day. I couldn’t help myself; for the sake of this poor couple, I interrupted and told them the two places that I knew would be open, plus gave them a few other ideas for Christmas Day. (I’d done research in advance). This woman at Aurora reception works in the tourism industry on a small island; for her to be so uninformed and unhelpful was pretty appalling.

OK, so we checked in (pretty straightforward) and were taken across the street to our condo. The apartment was clean and spacious, not luxurious, but it was what we expected for the price. It had a nice ocean view and a small terrace.

It also had a bad smell. Mainly the problem was a mildew smell in the apartment, but one day there was an even worse smell coming in from the hallway. (Worst diaper/nappy ever? Something died? We’re not quite sure). Luckily it wasn’t hot, so we kept the terrace doors and windows open most of the time.

We paid an extra $30 a night to have the condo serviced, but they didn’t tell us that no one would clean on Christmas Day. A woman did clean on Boxing Day, and then we checked out the next morning. So we paid $90 for one clean.

The wifi didn’t work in the condo at all. It didn’t work from the hotel lobby across the street, either, unless you stood right by the reception desk.

We had breakfast in our apartment each morning and lunches out on the go. We ate at the Aurora Ozone restaurant on Christmas evening; the food was fine and the service was cheerful, but this is not a truly upscale or gourmet place.

I do highly recommend Bella Pizza in Kingscote, though – we loved their pizza!

We spent two full days on Kangaroo Island. On Christmas Day we went on the Hanson Bay koala walk, visited the Parndana Wildlife Park, and then spent some time at Stokes Bay. The shallow water there was perfect for our little nephew. On Boxing Day we went on a dolphin cruise (KI Marine Adventures) and then visited Paul’s Place Wildlife Sanctuary. Had a lovely time overall on Kangaroo Island!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank frangipani7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Frangipani7
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry we did not met all your expectations whilst staying at the Aurora Ozone Hotel over the Xmas period. The Hotel had researched prior what amenities and food services were open on Xmas Day on the Island, so I am a little disappointed that you overheard our reception advising guests incorrect information. There were certainly very limited services open on the Island for that day. Our restaurant was open for Breakfast, pre booked Xmas lunch and open for Dinner. We are sorry that a smell had penetrated your apartments floor. There was a Letter handed to all guests on arrival that did advise there would be no Housekeeping services on Xmas day, but any items required would be available from Reception. Unfortunately on check in you may not have been handed this letter for which were are very sorry. WIFI on KI can be interrupted frequently and we are always working to improve this service with our WIFI provider.
Thank you again for your comments
Regards GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Booked a few nights accomodation here as part of our honeymoon. We booked an "executive spa room" thinking we could enjoy some time relaxing in our room and on our "private balcony" with "magnificant beach front view" - just like images we saw online when we booked. Instead we were given a smal, dark, outdated room on the ground floor where you could barely see across the road - this was before we drew the curtains to see the "private balcony" - a small triangle shaped tile area barely big enough for one person to stand on let alone have 2 chairs! Thanksfully the receptionist offered us another room. However upon checkout we were still charged the same - expensive - fee although we had to share a balcony with other guests, had no spa bath and minor tasks such as replacing soaps or tea bags were not done during room service. Terrible way to end out honeymoon - best off renting out a holiday house!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jcull86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear JCull,

We are very sorry that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations especially on your honeymoon. At the Ozone we have two sections. The original Hotel and the apartment Hotel. We have Seaview executive rooms in both sections and on the web sites they are classed as one room type Executive Seaview room. Some Seaview executive rooms have private balconies of various sizes in the Apartment section and the Executive Seaview rooms in the Original hotel have a common balcony shared. The original Hotel Seaview rooms unfortunately do not have spa baths but are extremely well presented as they have just been refurbished. All our Hotel rooms (except Apartments) are serviced daily including replenish amenities. We are sorry that your room was not serviced during your time with us. We will review our web site to see if we can communicate to our guests our room types. Thank you for your comments.

Regards,

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Updated facilities in the old hotel and modern chic in the new section. Food at the bistro was lovely. The reception staff went out of their way to find us a room when our other accommodation fell through.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Exkiwi50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Ex kiwi50.

Thank you for your comments during your recent stay with us at Aurora Ozone Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Aurora Ozone in the near future.

Regards,

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
11.3 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
428 reviews
17.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
399 reviews
52.1 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
11.2 mi away
Casuarina Coastal Units
Casuarina Coastal Units
#2 of 2 in American River
36 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Ozone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Ozone Hotel

Address: The Foreshore Kingscote | PO Box 96, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingscote
Price Range: £81 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurora Ozone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Kangaroo Island Hotel, Aurora Ozone, is located on the beautiful foreshore at Kingscote. The original section of the hotel has a Victorian façade and has amenities that blend with the refined atmosphere of old world charm. Coupled with the vibrant & attractive new accommodation section, Aurora Ozone Hotel in Kangaroo Island has been developed to international standards and has become a flagship in hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aurora Ozone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aurora Ozone
Aurora Ozone Hotel Kangaroo Island/Kingscote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing