We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and rooms but not great if you are a vegetarian.”
Review of Aurora Ozone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingscote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The most beautiful location and hotel. Very good on service but they really need to work with their chefs if they wish to encourage vegetarians coming to their hotel. We were a family of 5 (with a child). The reception was very good with their services and cant forget to mention their restaurant staff. We were their guests for 3 nights but sorry to say that didn't once enjoy our evening meals after a nice and rewarding day tours. Every evening we had to wait for over 50 mins for our veg courses to arrive at the table and that too without any taste. All the 3 meals we had were the same( no options available) Even with a hungry kiddo and requesting the Chef everyday to give us some other options it was the same story.

The hotel would be the best if they just worked with their menus and chef to be a little caring towards their vegetarian patrons

Room Tip: The sea facing rooms are the best( we were in the old building)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KuntalShah22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi KuntaShah22.
We are pleased you enjoyed our accommodation facilities and service during your recent stay at the Aurora Ozone Hotel. We are disappointed that we did not provide your family with more suitable options for Vegetarian dinning and that the service was a little slow. We will review our Menu options ensuring we have a substantial selection of vegetarian dishes for future guests.
Thank you
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (857)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

379 - 385 of 857 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed at the Aurora Ozone Hotel for a conference and could not fault any of it. I stayed in an Executive Sea View room in the original section of the hotel and it was beautiful. It was gorgeous to wake up to the sunrise over the water and the seal frolicking in the waters below. The bed was very comfortable, amazing pillows! The bathroom was lovely, with modern features and a great shower. The only thing I missed was a full length mirror and a bath (I'm used to those comforts at home, but it was not a major issue).

We had a buffet breakfast downstairs each morning, which was great and the meal for our conference dinner was beautiful.

Would definitely recommend travellers (work or leisure) to stay at this property.

Room Tip: Executive Sea View rooms are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TabbyTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi Tabby Tee
We are please you had a great experience at the Aurora Ozone Hotel during your recent stay attending a conference. The location of the Hotel is fantastic with sea views and nature (seals) frolicking in the ocean below. We are proud of our newly refurbished rooms. Some of our rooms in the Apartment section do have a bath so next time you visit please ask for a room with a bath. We look forward to seeing you back on Kangaroo Island in the near future.
Regards,

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed in a seaview room which was really lovely & we could hear the sea if we left the door open a little. But as we were out most of both days we were here we did not really get to use it a lot. The room was very clean & well appointed if plain.
Staff at the hotel were very helpful & I have to recommend the restaurant, the food is really awesome. The local wine made on the isalnd is really nice too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 369zsazsa23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Hello 369zsazsa23.

We appreciate all your great comments during your stay and look forward to welcoming you back as valued guests to the Aurora Ozone Hotel in the near future

Regards,

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and I stayed on 2 May 2014 in an Executive Seaview room. There is a newer section of the hotel across the road but we were in the original hotel which has recently been refurbished and updated about 3 months ago. Our room had a beautiful view of the bay, the décor was excellent and appealing including the bathroom which had the latest fittings. The hotel has been beautifully done up and the dining room also has great views of the bay, We were lucky to see some seals frolicking in the water from our bedroom window. The choice of breakfast and the service was excellent. Couldn't fault this hotel and was told by other guests who stayed in the newer building opposite, it was also great.

Room Tip: Ask for an Executive Room facing the water in the original hotel, we had the end room and did not h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jetlady2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Jetlady 2011

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Aurora Ozone Hotel. The original Hotel and the Executive Seaview rooms were refurbished September 2013 and have great ocean views. Our Bistro which also have views over the bay. We often have the seals playing on the beach in front of the hotel which is an added attraction for our guests. We hope you may return to Kangaroo Island soon and experience all our facilities again.

Thank you

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The accommodations on KI are limited to be sure but this hotel can safely be passed over. You're not missing anything. The room we had was last renovated at least twenty years ago, the bed was uncomfortable, the bathroom tiny. The free wifi was a joke. Minimally able to connect and when you did the speed was less than old dial up modems. Skip the bistro on premises and find another spot to eat. The food was nondescript.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BKbeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear BKBeachers

Thank you for your comments I am disappointed that you did not experience the true Aurora Ozone Hotel. As we have various room categories from Standard original Hotel Room to Executive Seaview room and individual pricing which does determine what room you booked and were allocated. The FREE WIFI is offered to all guests but sometimes due to our location and weather conditions can be poor signal. We operate a very busy Bistro and serve over 1200 meals a week with the majority of our guests being extremely satisfied. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
Regards,

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I booked online. Thought I was getting a nice room facing the water. I ended up with a very old and small room facing rooftops. I took my issue to the front desk, the receptionist was rude. She was obviously annoyed and made me feel unwelcome.After a while the manager come over. He and the other staff were extremely accommodating and friendly.I was upgraded to a pool side family room. The staff( besides the receptionist) are the reason I rated the service so highly.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anon0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Anon0m

As we have varied room types from Standard rooms to Executive Seaview rooms at the Ozone Hotel the room type booked is normally the room allocated to your booking. These room types are priced accordingly. We were happy to provide an alternative room type being a Standard pool side room. We are happy that we could resolve this issue quickly. We will be providing the staff member with additional training in customer service.
Regards,

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We had a 2 bedroom apartment overlooking the ocean and it was just wonderful. The staff were so accommodating and we really felt that island hospitality during our stay. I would recommend the apartments here to families travelling together.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Mogster82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Mogster82

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Aurora Ozone Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your 2 bedroom Apartment overlooking the ocean and you are correct the view is magnificent. We are also very proud of our staff and their commitment to customer service.

Regards,

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
11.3 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
421 reviews
17.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
392 reviews
52.1 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
0.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
0.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Ozone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Ozone Hotel

Address: The Foreshore Kingscote | PO Box 96, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingscote
Price Range: £86 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurora Ozone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Kangaroo Island Hotel, Aurora Ozone, is located on the beautiful foreshore at Kingscote. The original section of the hotel has a Victorian façade and has amenities that blend with the refined atmosphere of old world charm. Coupled with the vibrant & attractive new accommodation section, Aurora Ozone Hotel in Kangaroo Island has been developed to international standards and has become a flagship in hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aurora Ozone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aurora Ozone
Aurora Ozone Hotel Kangaroo Island/Kingscote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing