We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice apt. in a pretty little town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kingscote
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“nice apt. in a pretty little town”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

this place is a short walk from the main sites. the apt. itself was clean with a full kitchen. coin laundry was available on site. there was also a nice indoor pool tho the hot tub was not working. the owner is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank love2travel4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    26
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Very good standard accommodation by any standard - spacious, clean (tho somewhat dated given the price point) and with all facilities including an indoor heated pool. In balancing this view it needs to be observed that this accomm., (like all K.I. accomm. is ludicrously over-priced and over-rated). Rates are at least double that of equivalent accomm. on the mainland and the considerable ferry cost - $190 return for vehicle and 2 people - has to be added to these exorbitant costs. It seems that SeaLink ferries controls all aspects of the holiday $ on Kangaroo Island and it exploits the tourist $ to the maximum. This exploitation extends to giving clearly incorrect information about the availability of accommodation order to influence purchase and justify very high prices. SeaLink monopoly needs competition and exposure.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank methuselah41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

The room was large, clean and well appointed. Caught up with the laundry but missed out on a swim (our fault). Would have preferred an outlook but this accommodation is still above average. Quiet (in Oct). No issues

Room Tip: All rooms seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianW0061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We recently went to Acacia Apartments on a Travel Auction and couldn't fault it. The apartments were large, spacious, spotlessly clean, and had all the facilities you could possibly require.

But the highlight had to be the large indoor heated swimming pool - the kids loved it.

I can thoroughly recommend this property.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannum, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and were very comfortable. The rooms are very large, and were very clean with everything provided. Only negatives were that we had some workers staying in the next room to us on the first night, and they were quite noisy as they were outside talking and smoking. Also, the apartment smelt of vanilla, because they had one of those smelly things you plug into a power point. It was over-powering on entry and it took us awhile to work out where the smell was coming from. Once we discovered it, we unplugged it, and it was fine from then on. Very comfortable bed with electric blanket, digital TV and free wireless internet. Some of the decor is a little dated and needs replacing, but overall we were very happy with the accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shirlbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Very nice accomodation with everything you would need for a weekend away or longer the kitchen had everything you would need, all very clean and good standard too! Rooms we nice very quaint and clean. Had eletric blankets on bed if needed in cooler weather. All linen and towels supplied also.
All aspects we above average was very homely actually.
Would recommend to anyone and personally would stay there again.

Room Tip: All apartments would be the same I would think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colette287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed here for two nights in a two bedroom apartment.

The unit was a little dated, but it actually added to the 'charm' of the place. There was something very homely about staying at the Acacia. On arrival there was milk, bread and chilled water in the fridge and a package of some breakfast cereals and spreads in the cupboard - a very nice touch.

The apartments also have a very nice swimming pool - great for swimming lengths or for keeping the kids happy.

If you stay in Kingscote make sure you go the pelican feeding at the wharf at 5 pm, and the penguin tour later in the evening is also definately worthwhile.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete_Helen_Lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
52.3 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
17.4 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
381 reviews
11.7 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
827 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
0.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments

Property: Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
Address: 3-5 Rawson St, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kingscote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments Kingscote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing