We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced and grubby”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingston SE
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kingston Caravan Park
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Over priced and grubby”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Very very disappointing and 'tired' park. One friendly staff member; beautiful location. Well over priced compared to other parks in more popular locations. Very basic amenities, no soap in toilet. Recommend if traveling on this part of the coast, free camp in town or, if heading south, go to Robe.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris0173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    15
    12
    10
    7
See reviews for
11
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

During a recent road trip where I stayed in nine different cabins this was the only one to disappoint. & it wasn't the cheapest. The standard ensuite cabin (number 4) was old and past it's best. Uncomfortable beds, main bed had a broken mattress protector with someone else's stains on it to greet me when I made up the beds on arrival.

Broken screen provided as curtain between main bed area and living area missing, cracked bathroom basin, other peoples splashes on the mirror, rusty shower curtain pole, bathroom door hard to slide. No beside light for main bed, hardly any power points. Air con doesn't heat so oil-column heater provided but that didn't keep the place comfortable and the two blankets provided weren't enough so I did not get a good night's sleep. The linen looked like it was sourced from an op shop - all faded and non matching. The windows were dirty and the sills inside looked like they'd never been cleaned.

On the plus side the bathroom was a good size and shower good. Kitchen was well equipped. The staff were fine but the take away food very greasy and didn't taste nice at all.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank LMPAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kingston SE hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The park was busy over Easter but the pleasant grassed non-powered sites were fine for a four night stay. The BBQ areas were basic and if you only wanted a BBQ then OK but expect too many more facilities other than a sink.
The toilet block was adequate and relatively clean with hot showers.
The staff were variable but on the whole, friendly.
Very close to the National Trust, Cape Jaffa Lighthouse and the beach. Great sunsets.
Would recommend it as a good base for touting the area and the Coorong.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monarch010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Located right near the beach, and half an hour walk to town. Amenities basic. However we were shocked to find our mobile phone 'confiscated' from where we were charging it in the camp kitchen as this was banned, although there were no signs or previous indication of this. We had $4.00 deducted from our deposit because of charging the phone and the staff member was very unfriendly about it- very unusual.
We noticed two areas in town where caravans can camp for free, maybe that is a better option for some.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Else202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is a quiet park with good access and views of the beach.
However, I feel regular patrons here are given first preferrence to front ocean view sites while tourists such as us who are first timers to this area are put right at the back without a view at all.
The office staff were not very friendly, but amenities were reasonably clean.
No many trees so therefore not much shade for vans in summer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 16bev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Tucked away straight across from the water in a pretty, sleepy little town this caravan park served us well. Nice, clean, spacious cabin for 4 (2 ad, 2kids) at a good price. It was quiet, it had everything we needed. Friendly, welcoming reception.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathleen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Really enjoyed staying at Kingston Caravan Park. Overlooking the ocean with only a few metres walk to the water. Amenities were very good and clean. We had the added stunning views of a magnificient sunset from our caravan.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheryl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston SE
1.2 mi away
Kingston Lobster Motel
Kingston Lobster Motel
#2 of 2 in Kingston SE
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crown Inn Hotel
Crown Inn Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingston SE
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
23.0 mi away
Discovery Parks - Robe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lacepede Bay Motel
Lacepede Bay Motel
#1 of 2 in Kingston SE
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
23.1 mi away
Lakeside Tourist Park
23.0 mi away
Sea Vu Caravan Park
Sea Vu Caravan Park
#2 of 14 in Robe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingston Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston Caravan Park

Property: Kingston Caravan Park
Address: 34 Marine Pde | Kingston, Kingston SE, South Australia 5275, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kingston SE
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Kingston SE
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing