We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Accommodation for very reasonable cost!”
other travellers have booked this property
Front view with roses
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view with roses
Main bathroom with two person spa, double shower, double vanity and WC Kitchen and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Front view with roses
Main bathroom with two person spa, double shower, double vanity and WC
Kitchen and dining area
One of three queen bedrooms
Queen bedroom (one of three queens) with ensuite bathroom
Third bathroom with shower, vanity and WC
Rear garden view
Side garden view
Outside deck with shelter, shadecloth, table and chairs for eight guests
View of rear garden and outside deck with shelter and shadecloth
View of front garden
Living room with TV/DVD
View of king bedroom
One of three queen bedrooms
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Naracoorte, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue M
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“Excellent Accommodation for very reasonable cost!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

MacDonnell House Bed & breakfast has everything you need for a very comfortable holiday! All bedrooms were of a generous size as were the kitchen, dining, lounge and 3 bathrooms! Breakfast staples provided were more than ample or a full cooked or continental breakfast! Care has been taken to ensure all needs are met and the house was well presented and clean! I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to anyone venturing to Naracoorte for business or pleasure.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melissa k
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything we wanted and more!”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had 2 families with young children sharing the house. There was plently of room for everyone, and it was great to be able to allow the children to run around in the secured yard. The house itself was fantasic with all the modern facilities, and all the neccessites included. We were all very impressed, and would come back again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmapay
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well appointed, comfortable & relaxing stay”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed over the Christmas period with 2 of our teenagers but had extended family and our other older children hanging out at different times. The place was beautifully presented, clean with classic decor. The beds were very comfortable and the house had all the creature comforts one would expect including air conditioning, multiple TV's and a DVD player. The spa bath was a greatly appreciated extra as were the ipod docks in all the rooms. The coffee drinkers appreciated the percolator and the coffee provided and as a tea drinker I appreciated the teacups and saucers. It was a great spot to entertain others with plenty of chairs, room and crockery. We were able to enjoy a great Christmas morning breakfast with all of our children congregating at the house and could sit at the table to enjoy the meal. Very convenient to the town centre being less than a 5 minute walk. It backed onto the creek walk which we enjoyed utilising and only a 10 min walk to the swimming lake. Would definitely recommend and will definitely use this accommodation again. Great for families with either young children or teenagers like ourselves and would work great for a group of people also. Thanks for a fantastic stay Richard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moira T
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stopover and great service”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stopover on the way to Adelaide from Melb with 3 young children. Everything we needed including cot all ready to go and v clean. A much appreciated bottle of wine on arrival - a necessity when driving with a 6, 4, 2yo!
My eldest left her new runners behind and I didn't even know where we'd left them until a lovely email from the owner asking where to send to return. They arrived a few days later and he even paid for the postage! We have recommended to other friends who often travel between Adelaide and Melb. Would def recommend.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob G
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very comfortable and well appointed 'home-away-from-home'”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

This was the second occasion I have stayed in this accomodation. The property has everything that could be required for stay of a small or large group. The facilities are modern and clean. It is an easy walk to the main street for dining out, but everything is supplied in the kitchen that you would need to cook your own and eat in. As a business traveller It is good value for money and better than a motel room. I would also consider it a good base for a trip with the family to explore the South East when the opportunity arises. The only fault I could find was a blown light globe in the bathroom. I will be back.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul T
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“Well restored old Australian House in Naracoorte”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We rented this house for a 4 day stay in the Naracoorte area as part of a family holiday. The house has been excellently renovated and modernised without losing the charm of an old-style Australian country house. Beds were comfortable, bathrooms good, kitchen modern. A five minute walk to the shopping street.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter V
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We can not recommend this property highly enough - a fabulous peaceful location within walking distance of shops, heaps of space, great facilities, and a host that went out of their way to assist us. Plus it was wonderful to arrive late after a long drive and find such generous provisions - no need to rush out to the supermarket on the first night!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Nothing - can not fault this stay at all.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing