We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful old house with all modern comforts”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of Smith Street Villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Smith Street Villa
Kitchen and dining area Living room with combustion heater
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Front of Smith Street Villa
Kitchen and dining area
Living room with combustion heater
Main bathroom with bath, shower, vanity and WC
Kitchen
Living room with TV and DVD player
Twin bedroom with two single beds
Second of the two double bedrooms
Back verandah and outdoor setting
Back verandah and garden view
First of the two double bedrooms
Second bathroom with shower over half-bath
View of living room
Back porch with laundry facilities including clothesdryer
Queen bedroom (one of two queens) at front of house
Queen bedroom (one of two queens) in centre of house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Naracoorte, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen V
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful old house with all modern comforts”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This house was absolutely perfect for a short stay in Naracoorte. As well as being a beautiful old home with a lovely backyard, it had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable, including a dishwasher, washing machine and clothes dryer. The breakfast provisions were very generous, including a huge package of bacon and a couple of dozen eggs. A couple of very minor issues we had - eg, the frypan and tongs needed replacing - were dealt with immediately.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2017
Thank you very much for your positive review. It was a pleasure to host these guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawesty
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for a family Christmas”
Reviewed 29 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

This is a lovely turn of the (20th) century villa, which is ideally situated within close walking distance of the town. It is also a good place for our family to meet half way between our homes in Vic & SA. We previously stayed at Pinkerton Hill (Jan 2015) and found the same high standards at the Smith St Villa. We (2 couples and 2 teenagers) stayed for 5 days over Christmas. The air conditioning kept us cool on one of the hottest Xmas days on record and the breakfast supplies did not leave us wanting!!!
Three generations all satisfied - wi-fi, large back verandah, dishwasher!!!, comfy beds. Not to mention the great swimming lake nearby.
On Xmas Eve at around 7pm we were cooking a barbie when the gas ran out and we found the spare bottle was also empty. We rang the weekend housekeeper (Tanya) and she came round in under 10 mins with a full bottle and also changed a light globe (which I only mentioned in passing) - nothing was too much trouble. We were very impressed.
The only thing we couldn't get to work was Austar/Foxtel but as we weren't there to watch TV it wasn't an issue for us.
Richard & Judy really 'get' tourism and hospitality and they along with their staff do their best to make sure guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay without having to provide a long list of do's and don'ts.
We will be back!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2016
Thank you for the generous review, we really appreciate you taking the time to write about Smith Street Villa. Regarding Austar/Foxtel, that is an oversight: a long-term guest recently had it installed for his own use (and paid for it himself) but we haven't yet removed the Foxtel box and dish, which we'll now undertake. As well as the TV and DVD player, we provide a range of children's and family DVDs, with kind regards Richard Peake, Naracoorte Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluedogdd...
Port Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Smith Street Villa in Naracoorte South Australia”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Smith Street Villa made our short stay in Naracoorte perfect. Our children loved unpacking their clothes into the drawers and hangers in the little old wardrobe and using the antique dressing tables.
The yard was wonderful to explore and play in and we enjoyed cooking marshmallows in the fire. We were left heaps of wood for this and the fireplace indoors - what a treat! Even though Naracoorte was cold, the villa was warm and the beds comfy. Everything we needed we found in the villa and this meant we just needed to grab some BBQ food supplies from the local shops which are open from early to late. We were left great breakfast supplies and a bottle of local wine. The villa is homely and cosy and big enough to all have your own space. It is an old home typical of the area and for us that made the visit even more authentic. Great place to stay and visit the amazing caves and buy some Mini Jumbuck ugg boots!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for your positive review of Smith Street Villa. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Naracoorte and that you were willing to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holiday_t...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Gem in Naracoorte.”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We all couldn't believe our luck with getting this cottage as a place to stay. The owners left us plenty of eggs & bacon for breakfast (enough to feed an army) as well as a lovely bottle of the local wine. The amenities are excellent and the service is above and beyond. We have all said that we'd recommend it to other friends as well as try and plan a trip back to enjoy more of the local wineries and sites.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The level of space and comfort.
Liked least: Can't find a fualt.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for your positive review. We're very glad that you enjoyed Smith Street Villa. We'd be pleased to welcome you back or welcome anyone you recommend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Management cares about your stay”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015

In my 2 night stay, the telephone & wifi was cut during the second morning apparently because of work carried out on the street by SAWATER. We've informed the management about this after the stay and received apologies which are well accepted. Many weeks later the management sent me a cheque as compensation for the inconvenience after chasing this up with SAWATER.

This demonstrates that the management cares about the enjoyment of your stay - and indeed the stay was enjoyable abeit the slight convenience which is out of control of the management.

We are a small family of 3 but there are many more rooms available in the house which should suit much larger groups.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thank you. It was so unfortunate that a plumber, working for SA Water, cut the telephone line in front of Smith Street Villa, which meant that we lost the landline and the free wifi during a stay by guests. While it was beyond our control, we made sure to claim some money for the damage so that we could partly reimburse our guests. with kind regards Richard Peake
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo C
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than staying a motel”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed in the cottage with a couple of work colleagues while in Naracoorte for a workshop. Much nicer than staying a motel. Two bathrooms and large bedrooms allowed for privacy. Large modern kitchen, complete with family sized kitchen table, and fully equipped laundry would make this cottage very suitable to extended family holidays. Decor is a little tired, but the cottage is clean and tidy and everything works. Fridge was filled with a comprehensive breakfast pack and complementary wine.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Nice warm bed
Liked least: Decor
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Smith Street Villa and for your recommending it for groups and family holidays. I have also noted your comment about the decor being a little tired: I will certainly work on that as Naracoorte Cottages prides itself on continuously improving the furniture, furnishings and amenities. Only this month we replaced all 8 kitchen/dining chairs with more substantial and comfortable chairs; and repainted the front 2 bedrooms. With kind regards, Richard Peake
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Made our getaway all the more enjoyable”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Good location close to main shopping street. Large rooms, comfortable beds and most importantly for our mid winter getaway, WARM. All beds had electric blankets plus ducted heating.
House very clean and well presented.
Management were very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Big and roomy. Warm in winter
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2015
Thank you very much. We're glad you enjoyed the warmth of Smith Street Villa in winter. With air conditioners in the living rooms, ducted AC in the bedrooms, combustion heater in the living room and electric blankets, we aim to ensure the house is cosy. regards Richard Peake
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing