We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bicheno Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bicheno Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Stayed here for one night on the 6th March.Arrived late,upon seeing our room was confussed to find we had been put into a cramed bunk dorm.I had asked for a room with three separate single beds!So we ended up using another bed in a injoining room off the shared bathroom that was empty.I was charged a extra $75 to my card without any phone call.The next day i phoned to sort it out,i offered to pay a additional charge of $33-what we payed per person originaly-to cover the changing of the sheets.The owner said no way it had to be $50 min,she was aggressive in her manner and tone of voice,it ened up taking to the 22nd March to get a $25 refund after numerous e-mails.Dealing with the owner was the worst experience i`ve ever had in customar service,she was unresonable and rude and i would never stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mongosemporium, Owner at Bicheno Backpackers, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
“Bad Customer”
In an amicable conversation following your unauthorised entry to our Ensuite room that retails at $90 per night, we both admitted misunderstanding over a long standing booking and came to an agreement without tone or aggression.
We discussed that if you were not happy with the room, a visit or phone call to reception would have avoided this situation. We are generally sympathetic to customers’ individual plights & do what we can to make our customers comfortable.
You chose to “help yourself” to our only vacant room and chose not to contact reception either that evening or the next morning, hence why the charge was applied. You would find that most accommodation business’ would not take too kindly to having one or their rooms broken into.
I admitted a clerical error that held up your refund, which you were lucky to get in the first place given the circumstances.
As for never staying here again – you would not be welcome anyway.
Suzanne
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    59
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
11
44
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

we stayed here one night and there were just 3 of us in a 6 bed room so think we were quite lucky. its a bit old but clean and with a big communal area. staff very friendly. only downside was that there was only one toilet in our part of the hostel which didn't seem enough. But otherwise it was all great.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindau, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

We had a twin room at The Shack, the new part away from the hostel itself. It was all new, super clean, big kitchen, big living room with large tv. We paid $ 65 (55 for the room for 1 person plus 1 person extra) and expected something really really small, and we were pleasantly surprised. Close to everything (there is not much in Bicheno...), near the coastal walk. No wifi, more or less no internet anywhere in town. The lady who checked us in, was far from friendly but we never saw her afterwards, so no bother

When you're in Bicheno, don't miss the East Coast Natureworld, what an awesome place!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrossThatBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

We were 3 friends and booked a 4bed dorm. Bicheno being a small town, it was easy to find the hostel. It is walking distance from the main market with many food options available (do try the takeaway place!!). We stayed in the new building down the road from the main backpackers building. I have to say it was like living in a hotel at a backpackers price! The rooms, bedding, kitchen and bathroom were very clean. Since this is a new block, all the fittings etc were new. The staff was very friendly and gave us a map of Bicheno with suggestions on must see places.

I highly recommend staying in this backpackers hostel when you visit Bicheno.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BhawnaAhlawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Great layout to the dorm rooms, with loads of storage space and curtained-off bunks, making it feel spacious. Good kitchen/lounge area, although the staff seemed to have the radio on all the time, even when people were watching TV, so it could be a little noisy. Some outside space to relax in too. Good stop-off point if you're travelling up or down the East Coast.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lightyearsfromhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

I initially booked two nights stay here, but liked it so much I stayed for over a week. The beds were the most comfortable and the curtains for each bed made it easy to have a good night sleep. Very clean, lovely kitchen/dining area and plenty of space. Great location, right by the beach, shops and places to eat. Had a great time and didnt want to leave.

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Husum, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

I stayed here for a longer time and it was amazing. The beds are so comfy and the curtains in the dormitory building give you a bit more privacy. The kitchen has everything you need for cooking. Because there is a big table where everybody is sitting you can get in chat with other travelers very easy. Everything is very clean - the staff is cleaning every day! If you have any problems the people there do their best to help you out. They also give you the feeling, when you stay there for longer, to be part of the family and make you feel like home. After my time there I really didn't want to leave - I had tears in my eyes.
I miss the time.
Thank you very much for everything.

Room Tip: Take a dorm room in the dormitory building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicheno
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Bicheno
1.5 mi away
Diamond Island Resort
Diamond Island Resort
#4 of 4 in Bicheno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bicheno by the Bay
Bicheno by the Bay
#3 of 12 in Bicheno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
0.2 mi away
Bicheno East Coast Holiday Park
20.7 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bicheno Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicheno Backpackers

Property: Bicheno Backpackers
Address: 11 Morrison Street | PO Box 177, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Bicheno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bicheno Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bicheno Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicheno Backpackers Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing